We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Nearby Hotels
ABode Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$192
US$181
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$292
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Broome Park Hotel(Barham)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cathedral Gate Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$82
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pilgrims Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$163
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Canterbury Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$196
US$143
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$118
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$95
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,298)
Filter reviews
1,298 results
Traveller rating
602
469
142
50
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
602
469
142
50
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive roomcity centrebridal suitebar menulovely hotelbuilding workbuilding sitethird floorten minute walkrestaurant staffjacuzzi bathquiet locationreception staffplenty of parkingbuffet breakfastvisiting canterburywithin easy walking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,123 - 1,128 of 1,298 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We just walked in and asked for a twin bed room. No booking in advance. Staff made a few changes in existing booking and we soon had a room in this very irregularly shaped and interesting building. Slight level differences and references to rooms that we really couldn't find. It was something of "Through the mirror". Loved it.
Had a "Ploughman's" in the bar. Beef, ham, cheeses and more. Very good.
Room was cold and heat could not be turned on. We are used to cold locations, but this was a little too cold for our convenience.
Restaurant has posh ambitions, but doesn't quite live up to them. But food OK and no complaints from our side. Free parking just outside the hotel entrance. Like that.
Will stay here again if in Canterbury.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skogsgurra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2012

It was nice to know that your experience in the Abbots Barton hotel was to your liking and that the reception team were able to offer you your room type request.The building has many twists and turns with interesting quirky corners to get lost in, we love it too.

All our bedrooms have air conditioning units that also produce warm air, so even with the main central heating turned off, this unit would have warmed your room nicely.

The platters we serve from the bar menu are very popular, gald you enjoyed your choice.With regard to the Restaurant and the modern British Fayre with ethical produce sourced from local suppliers and farms where possible,we are dissapointed you feel this was too ambitious.
We have excellent feedback on our seasonal menus, proving this to be the right move forward for the hotel.

We look forward to your return visit when coming to Canterbury.

Best regards

Christine Cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

There are problems with this hotel. If you get past the great looks, the great food, and the great service, the condition of the hotel is problematic. The hotel is SO OLD that every step results in creaky floorboards, so you hear the people in the room above you and in the hallway. Plus, every word from every conversation in the next room is heard, and as guests come in drunk from partying (at 01:30), you can be assured that you'll be woken up as they take 1/2 hour to settle down. If you cannot get a good night's rest at a hotel, then the hotel is useless.

Room Tip: Get a top floor only. Every other room leaves you enduring the thoughtfulness (or lack thereof) of the people above you.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mattgrayca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2012

Thank you for your comments about the hotel, however I do feel this was a little harsh as the hotel has many good reasons for guests to experience with great food, service and looks as you have very kindly pointed out.

We do have a few bedrooms with creaky floorboards,this definatley gives the hotel even more character, however, we will be addressing this in the not too distant future.

I am sure if you had spoken to the reception team or a Duty Manager, they could have changed your bedroom to ensure you had a good nights sleep or spoken to the noisy guests who clearly had a good time in Canterbury.

Best regards

Christine Cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

My son and I spent 3 nights at the Best Western Abbotts Down while we were moving him into his room at the University of Kent in Canterbury, UK. The hotel is a charming manor house that has been converted into a hotel, and then added onto. We had a standard room (2 twin beds) which was comfortable and clean. It had free wireless internet access and a flat panel TV. Very nice. The hotel staff led by Ian was very helpful in suggesting places to see in Canterbury and how to navigate the train system and London Underground for some sightseeing. They really went out of their way to help us and make everything work out beautifully. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 121 is nice if you want a standard room with 2 twin beds.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2012

We are pleased your stay was an enjoyable one at the Best Western Abbots Barton hotel.

I do hope your son has settled into the University and when you visit Canterbury again, you will come and stay with us.

Best regards

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I arrived on the Friday afternoon to be greeted very warmly by the 2 young ladies on reception, within minutes I was checked in and set off up a small set of stairs to my room in the old part of the hotel. It brimmed with character! it was clean and had unexpected air con, a perfect room.

The staff were ALL very friendly and particularly Iain (the Assistant Manager) and Gary (in the bar) who both went beyond the call of duty to accommodate my somewhat merry group and myself, my only regret was that I didn’t get to thank them both properly and personally on my departure.

Our evening meal was in the function room and almost 40 of us sat down to eat, the service and food was first class, served with smiles and appropriate banter….. the staff were faultless.

Well done to all at the hotel, you should be proud of yourselves, keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the old part of the hotel, it has that little bit more character.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2012

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Abbots Barton, we are very pleased you enjoyed it. Ian and Gary send their regards and were delighted with your comments.

The bedrooms in the old part of the hotel are exceptional, we only have 5 of these of which 3 are suites and have bags of character.

I was away on annual leave during you weekend visit, I did however hear from Ian that all went very well.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Best regards

Christine Cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

We had the honeymoon suite, so I guess our review will be a little out of context. Was pretty impressive, really comfy bed, jacuzzi bath etc. they gave us a good reasonable deal for this too.
Staff were helpful, although didn't actually see many if them all that much...don't know why this was, maybe it was a quiet period?!
Breakfast was delicious.
All in all, a good experience with this hotel, but think this may be to do with the fact that we paid extra.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Burkeybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

It was a delight to read your review, thank you.

Indeed our Honeymoon Suite is a special room with lots of space and traditonal style 4 poster bed.
The hotel had a very very busy weekend prior to your arrival, so yes, we had a quieter week during your stay.

Even though your room was a deluxe bedroom, we pride oursleves on treating all our guests well and trust they have an enjoyable stay, glad you did.

Best regards

Christine Cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews