We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 days, meeting former colleagues from many years ago. All of us felt this was a good hotel very well placed for a visit to the City.
Clean smart comfortable room.Good location, with an easy walk into the city.
Lovely grounds.
Food very good and staff excellent.
Must be the best in Canterbury
Don't bother to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. My team and I are very pleased you and your colleagues enjoyed your experience at the hotel. The gardens are lovely at the moment and very restful sitting on the patio with a glass of your favourite tipple.

With just a 10 minute walk into the beautiful city of Canterbury, we feel we have a very unique venue.

We trust that we will see you again.

Best regards

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,175)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

934 - 940 of 1,175 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed in this hotel 2 weeks ago. Can't rate this high enough. Absolutely beautiful hotel with stunning surroundings. We had a large room with a jacuzzi bath. Just what was needed after a leisurely stroll into Canterbury!! Staff extremely helpful and although we didn't have breakfast our evening meal in the restaurant was devine. Altogether an absolute 10/10 for everything.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Teljoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your delightful review. My team and I are so pleased you had a fabulous stay and sampled our local produce for your evening meal. I will pass your compliments to the Chef.

We look forward to your return visit to Canterbury and the hotel.

Thank you once again.

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Just spent 4 days here with a group. A quick check-in and welcome and up to our rooms.
My friend and l had a room near the entrance with an air con generator outside, which could be a bit noisy if the windows are open. The inside air con was also a bit noisy, which l needed on as the rooms were very warm.
Nice spacious room with an odd shaped wardrobe and cupboards. Comfy beds, a step up to visit the bathroom. Nice but could do with a shelf to put toiletries on, lighting in here is good, but the bedroom lights are not so good to read in bed.We had a 3 course dinner each night which we thought was very good. A good choice and nicely presented, considering we were a coachgroup. all waiter served by a young efficient staff. BF had a good choice of food, but served in small quantities, so it had to be topped up a lot. Coming down the staircase near our room, they could do with a few more signs directing you to reception and the bars. Enjoyed the stay and would go back again.

Room Tip: Choose a room near the back or high up.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendygp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thank you for your review for your group stay, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and the hotel.

All our rooms are air conditioned and we are currently having the units serviced, so they will run more efficiently. I will pass your comments to my staff with regards to your food service. We make sure the breakfast buffet is not overfilled which may cause food to loose heat, therefore it is best to serve little and often.

We would love to see you again should you re visit Canterbury.

Best regards

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We only stayed one night and missed breakfast but the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful, and the room was very comfortable, if a little hot. Good location – far enough out of town to have nice leafy grounds but only a ten minute walk in to Canterbury city centre.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay along with your dog. We are a dog friendly hotel and do not have a problem with offering you breakfast in our Garden room.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel over the August bank holiday with our dog. All the staff were friendly and extremely helpful. It was a great place to go with our dog everyone made us feel so welcome. The food was really good and in the morning the staff set up a special table for us to eat breakfast with our dog.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Thank you for your review. My staff and I are very pleased to hear you all enjoyed your stay, including your dog.

We do hope we will see you again.

Kind regards

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I came into Canterbury for the Half Marathon. Thought this hotel looked beautiful from photos. The hotel was lovely actually, the people at reception gracious and helpful. I had requested a special meal pre-race, and the kitchen staff prepared and presented a delicious dinner. The hotel is well within walking distance to the center of town and back to the train station. Overall, if one is looking for a restful getaway, this could be your place. There is no pool, but there is free WiFi, TV, a lovely library to sit and borrow a book or magazine and the grounds are what could have been a set from 'Masterpiece Theatre'.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bandaidslsJerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. My staff and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay, we do try our very best to go that extra mile for our guests and their requests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Best regards

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My brothers and I booked 5 single rooms for a cycling trip at August Bank Holiday. The single rooms were air conditioned, had a good amount of space that often is not found in single rooms and they had good bathrooms. The hotel is a little distance from the road and is quiet. Breakfasts were good. Service was friendly and efficient. Not a luxury hotel but a very good middle-priced hotel within an easy walk of the town centre. I recommend it without any reservations.

Room Tip: The hotel has eight very good single rooms, great for solo or business travel. The air conditioning...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Many thanks for your review, glad your stay was an enjoyable one.

We have many cyclists stay at the hotel, it is an ideal location not being too far from the city and a quiet place to rest your head at night.

I am pleased my staff looked after you and welcomed you with their warm and friendly personalities.

We do hope you will return and visit the hotel again.

Thank you

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
449 reviews
0.7 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,955 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
286 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
737 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel

Address: 36 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £65 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbots Barton Hotel is situated in a quiet area of Canterbury and just a 10 minute walk to the City Centre. We have parking which is available free of charge for Hotel Residents. (Generally there is not an issue with parking but on exceptional busy days free street parking maybe necessary) The hotel offers traditional facilities with Bar, Restaurant, Bar Food and Room Service all available. Free HSIA via 'The Cloud' network is provided. Our staff will endeavour to entertain any special requests wherever possible. The Hotel is also pet friendly (for a small charge per day) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Canterbury
Canterbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing