We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Weekend trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Very nice hotel with well trained staff. Comfortable bed. Nice clean room with good facilities. Breakfast very good. Used restaurant on one night and meal was very good. Nice that the staff knew who we were when we went to the bar for a pre dinner drink and they brought us the menu to choose in the comfort of the bar. They then came and escorted us to the restaurant when they were ready for us. Good location for city.

As the service was so good the only very small thing I could find fault with was that they sometimes cleared plates before everyone on the table had finished.

We have used the hotel before and will use it again.

Room Tip: Some rooms at the rear of the hotel can be a little way from the lift with small half landings and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your review.

My staff and I were very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are proud of the individual customer service we provide, although a small hiccup with plate clearing, I will speak to my restaurant manager to ensure he briefs any new staff.

With the hotel an ideal location for the city of Canterbury, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards

Christine Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    383
    111
    44
    29
See reviews for
156
542
34
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

My wife and i have stayed at Abbots Barton on four occassions over the last 3 to 4 years, each stay of 3 to 4 days duration, and have found the rooms, service and food to be excellent. The car park can be crowded if there is a special function on during the day but generally there is no problem. The only minor quibble is the computer provided for guests' use preferred to speak Russian and didn't have a full keyboard, just the touch screen type, which makes checking certain items extremely tedious.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and your return visits, it is so nice to welcome guests back to the hotel.

The computer in the foyer is very new, stylish and has up to date technology, but not quite sure why it is speaking to you in Russian. I would say with many of our foreign guest we have, the person that used it prior to you, may have been Russian.

I am sure my Duty Manager would have been able to adjust this for you, even reception should you have asked them.

It is a busy hotel with weddings and groups, so yes the car park does fill up. We are so very glad that we have a large free car park, as many hotels in Canterbury are not able to accommodate a large number of vehicles, if any.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Best regards

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

A little reunion in Canterbury with old girlfriends was made relaxing while staying at the Abbots Barton Hotel. The staff where really helpful at reception and our room was warm and cosy with a lovely modern bathroom. Breakfast was a real treat lots to choose from a perfect start to a shopping day. Highly recommend the hotel for all kinds of occasions ! N. Cavell

Room Tip: Plenty of space in a family room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCavell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear guest,

It was nice to read you had a great weekend catching up with old friends and enjoyed the cosiness of the hotel. It is an ideal place to stay as only a short walk from the lovely shops in town. Perfect, we do hope to see you again.

Best regards

Chistine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

A warm welcome and first rate accommodation at a sensible price.

Very well appointed rooms, with comfortable beds.

The buffet breakfast was excellent, with choices to meet everyone's taste.

Ideally placed to visit the city, within easy walking distance to the centre and rail links.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your review, it was our pleasure and so pleased you had an enjoyable stay.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future, perhaps a little Christmas shopping.....

Best regards

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

My Wife and I have just returned from a 3 night break at Abbots Barton and again what a great time we had (we last visited in August) we could not fault this Hotel, everything was just perfect from check in to check out.
On both of our recent visits we stayed in a standard room and found this to be of a very high standard, well done to the Housekeeping team.
The service and friendly staff should be the benchmark for other Hotels, and a special thankyou to Richard who gave us VIP treatment.

Thank you to all at Abbots Barton, we cannot wait to make a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review, it was a delight to read and I have passed your comments to all of my staff, in particular to Richard, who is pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We do hope you will have the opportunity to visit us once again.

Best regards

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I visited this hotel on a business trip with 10 other colleagues. The reception arrangements were excellent and Jennifer was very courteous and considerate. The room (102) was outstanding with a most comfortable bed, plenty of space and a super bathroom. We dined whilst there and the food was first class. The bar staff and restaurant manager could not have been more friendly and helpful. I am particularly grateful (again) to Jennifer for assisting me to have an important document printed off - she saved my skin. Finally, to the staff who came in early to ensure we had a cooked breakfast at 7.45am before our business meeting - many, many thanks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mummyhaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review with regard to your stay.

I am pleased the hotel met all of your requirements, with Jennifer in particular saving your bacon, I will pass your comments to her.

As I will with the rest of the team, who delivered excellent customer service, of which we are proud of. All of them work very hard to ensure our guests leave happy.

We hope you will visit us in the future.

Best regards

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 days, meeting former colleagues from many years ago. All of us felt this was a good hotel very well placed for a visit to the City.
Clean smart comfortable room.Good location, with an easy walk into the city.
Lovely grounds.
Food very good and staff excellent.
Must be the best in Canterbury
Don't bother to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. My team and I are very pleased you and your colleagues enjoyed your experience at the hotel. The gardens are lovely at the moment and very restful sitting on the patio with a glass of your favourite tipple.

With just a 10 minute walk into the beautiful city of Canterbury, we feel we have a very unique venue.

We trust that we will see you again.

Best regards

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.7 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
2.5 mi away
Howfield Manor Hotel
Howfield Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chartham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel

Property: Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Address: 36 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Canterbury
Canterbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing