We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-Christmas Girlie Getaway in Canterbury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We had booked a night away for some Christmas shopping, girlie gossip and relaxation. When the four of us arrived there had clearly been a problem with our booking. But this was sorted with little fuss - and we received an upgrade as a result. The hotel was excellent, the staff friendly and efficient. We had a wonderful meal - the food was superb and the service and attention second to none. A thoroughly enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DinalC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you girls for your review.

We are glad you all enjoyed your getaway and we do hope you will stay with us in the future for any girlie breaks you have planned.

Kind regards

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,175)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

905 - 911 of 1,175 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Dilip S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed in room 225. It had a dressing room as well as the double bedroom and a small but adequate bathroom. Very warm and plenty of furniture for our clothes, cases etc. Views nothing to talk about. Bed reasonably comfortable. The whole of the hotel has a very cosy feel to it. The reception was always manned but the bar wasn't, still not a problem because the receptionist always sorted it. The food in the restaurant in the evenings was good but some dishes were a little bland. The breakfast was very good.
All historical sites are within 15 minutes walk.
We had a guided tour on our first morning which was very informative and i would suggest that everyone should do this at the start of their stay, i spoke to the landlord of the Old Buttermarket Inn who said he had also taken the tour when he first came to Canterbury and highly recommends it, so, good enough for the locals then good enough for me.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for your review.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you in the future, especially to explore our beautiful city of Canterbury.

Kind regards

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This hotel was very good! The moment we arrived we were greeted by a friendly and smiling receptionist who made us feel very welcome. The room was clean, well decorated and comfortable. The hotel seemed well-ordered and run on traditional standards of hospitality. The food was very good but the butternut squash dish was lacking in butternut squash. The bar prices were what one might expect in a hotel but the surroundings and furniture in the bar lounges more than offset any concerns. There were plenty of parking places.The hotel was a twelve minute walk from the cathedral. All in all we had a great time at Abbots Barton and we will definitely stay there again when we visit Canterbury.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay, we do look forward to welcoming you in the future.

I will speak to Chef on the Butternut squash dish that you have commented on.

Kind regards

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We planned a weekend trip to Canterbury for the Christmas markets and chose The Abbots Barton hotel. We were so pleased we did - the room was amazing - so spacious and the jacuzzi bath - what a treat! The hotel is olde worlde and the staff so very friendly and accommodating. We found the hotel to be excellently located and close to the city centre and walked into town (which took no more than 10 minutes) to do some shopping. We went out for dinner and on our return sat in the bar area which was very pleasant and a lovely young man welcomed us in.
In the morning after a very comfortable sleep we made our way down to breakfast where we were greeted by Pietro who has to have special mention. What a wonderful host! We had the full english breakfast and it was obvious it was all sourced locally and no pre packaged rubbish! The dining room has a lovely ambience and the entire hotel has a welcoming and homely feel.
We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, it has it all. We will be most definitely be returning again when we next visit Canterbury.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your delightful review.

My team and I are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. I will pass your comments to Pietro, who is a very valued member of the hotel team, I am sure he will be thrilled to know you were happy with his excellent customer service.

We all look forward to seeing you in the not too distant future for some more shopping. perhaps the "sales".

Kind regards

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed for two nights over last week end using Best Western points. Staff really friendly and helpful. Had two excellent bar lunches. Location is very good for visiting Canterbury, only a short walk into the old town. Hotel has a large garden facing the main road but asked for a quiet room facing over gardens and houses at the back. The executive room was very comfortable but unfortunately the walls are very thin and we could hear everything the people were saying next door.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review.

The hotel is in an ideal location for the city, glad you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This place has everything but no staff tending the bar. In our short time there, we noticed 2 or 3 couples walk away and into town to get a drink. We had one drink when we asked reception, and guess what...we were charged the grand total of £15.00p for 2 glasses of port for which we had to chase around to get served! Come on guys this is not acceptable! No wonder you have no customers in your bar! The amenities are all there but no staff! Other than that this is a nice place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased your stay was a pleasant one.

We do have a notice on the bar to come to reception if there is a no-one to serve at the bar, I do hope this did not inconvenience you. We do try our best to ensure staff are present at all times, sometimes this is not possible.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind regards

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
449 reviews
0.7 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,955 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
286 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
737 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel

Address: 36 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £65 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbots Barton Hotel is situated in a quiet area of Canterbury and just a 10 minute walk to the City Centre. We have parking which is available free of charge for Hotel Residents. (Generally there is not an issue with parking but on exceptional busy days free street parking maybe necessary) The hotel offers traditional facilities with Bar, Restaurant, Bar Food and Room Service all available. Free HSIA via 'The Cloud' network is provided. Our staff will endeavour to entertain any special requests wherever possible. The Hotel is also pet friendly (for a small charge per day) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Canterbury
Canterbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing