We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel within walking distance of Canterbury centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abbots Barton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    397
    113
    44
    29
See reviews for
161
557
36
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lydd, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Myself and 6 colleagues were privileged to stay overnight at Canterbury's prestige hotel. This delightful building sent in well manicured gardens boast magnificently appointed rooms. Although we were elsewhere for our seasonal fayre, the comfort we all enjoyed, the excellent service and splendid breakfast capped off a great weekend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveCatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thank for your delightful review, my team and I were pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Happy Christmas,

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stayed here for my Christmas party which was a 15 min walk away from the venue.

The beds were comfy, the breakfast was tasty and the staff were very pleasant/ friendly.

Location was perfect and I would definitely stay again

Room Tip: No Swimming pool or spa however could not fault any other factors so didn't want to pop a negati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for your comments with regard to your stay.

We are all very pleased you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and the location was perfect for your Christmas party in Canterbury.

We do have plans for a spa at the hotel, so watch this space.

Best regards

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

The abbots is a great hotel, perfect location and lovely rooms, friendly staff and yummy breakfast...would totally recommend this hotel... I stayed here last week for my xmas party which was in Canterbury I could walk to and from the town... Thank yuo for an great stay......

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raquel85_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for your review.

My team and are pleased you enjoyed your stay, hope you had a great time at your Christmas party and you will come back to see us soon.

Best regards

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We arrived to a friendly warm and GENUINE welcome to this hotel. Our room was in excellent condition - no scuffed walls and not a speck of dust, communal areas were the same - so unusual in a hotel, and this just shows the class of management at this hotel. All the staff we met were efficient, caring and enthusiastic about their jobs. So refreshing these days. Decor everywhere is bright, clean, cheerful and cared for. The place has an amazing lively and welcoming feel, so vibrant and alive, yet oldie worldy. The staff in all areas have their eye on the ball the whole time, nothing is missed and we could not find a single fault. Food was amazing, including the presentation. Breakfast a fantastic choice and would suit every choice and taste - and locally sourced too, as is the evening food.

Nothing is too much trouble here and this is a genuinely caring hotel that we can't wait to return to. A 10 minute stroll takes you right into the centre of Canterbury, so you don't need your car if you are sightseeing in town, theatre etc.

We stayed in room 215 which was very comfortable and roomy, and very comfy beds. Superb amount of storage space, and a lovely sized bathroom which had every touch.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review.

My team and I were pleased you enjoyed your experience at the hotel, we do look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We had booked a night away for some Christmas shopping, girlie gossip and relaxation. When the four of us arrived there had clearly been a problem with our booking. But this was sorted with little fuss - and we received an upgrade as a result. The hotel was excellent, the staff friendly and efficient. We had a wonderful meal - the food was superb and the service and attention second to none. A thoroughly enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DinalC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you girls for your review.

We are glad you all enjoyed your getaway and we do hope you will stay with us in the future for any girlie breaks you have planned.

Kind regards

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.7 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbots Barton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbots Barton Hotel

Property: Abbots Barton Hotel
Address: 36 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbots Barton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbots Barton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Canterbury
Canterbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing