We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midweek break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Good location, walking distance to the main town centre. Very friendly and welcoming staff, good quality rooms and very clean. Restaurant a little limited choice but well presented food and very, very tasty. Fantastic service, we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Executive rooms have a jacuzzi :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and gald you enjoyed your break.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

943 - 949 of 1,269 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

My friend and I wanted a twin room and got a family room with a large double and two singles! Clean, comfortable and well decorated with warm colours and quality carpet. Lovely staff and very good breakfast and only 15 walk to the Cathedral - would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for your review.

My team and I are pleased you had a great weekend and enjoyed our new breakfast menu.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind regards

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel with friends' on over night Saturday, the hotel is about 10 -15 minutes walk into the Town which is idea as there was not a problem in leaving our cars in the hotel .The staff where nice and helpful and the breakfast was very good .The room was clean but may be could do with a little updating ,the only complaint was we stayed on the ground floor and was woken by the cleaners quite early getting there cleaning equipment etc. Apart from that had a great time

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for your review and comments, I have passed these to my team who were pleased you had a great time.

We are currently re decorating some of our bedrooms and of course our new extension will be an added bonus when completed. I will mention the noise issue to the housekeepers, my aplogies if this disturbed you

Glad you enjoyed breakfast and the hotel was a perfect location for you.

Kind regards

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Great room, very friendly and helpful staff and good location to walk to all the sites. Restaurant menu a bit limited. We stayed for 3 nights and would not have found anything different on the menu for a 4th night. Quality of food and presentation was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for writing this review on your recent birthday weekend you had at the hotel, we are so pleased you had a memorable one.

Our Restaurant menu is seasonal and we are just about to change this, there is quite an extensive bar menu, which will offer you a complete change when staying multiple nights.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed for one night at the Abbots Barton Hotel. It was very clean and comfortable. The staff were very nice and helpful and the breakfast very good. We didn't have an evening meal there so can't comment on that. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbeale246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for your review.

My team and I are pleased your enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Having to work away from home can be a pain but my works had booked me into the Abbots Barton for one night to save me doing an 8 hour round trip. The hotel is clean and friendly, staff booked me in with no fuss and in a friendly manner. The very clean room was a double with all the usual stuff tea coffee (and shampoos to bring home for the wife!) ect. Bed was comfortable and i was able to control how warm the room was. Evening meal was a choice between the restaurant or the bar, I chose the bar menu and a reasonably priced burger chips and a drink filled me no problem. Breakfast was excellent and again the staff were very polite and willing to please. As with other Best Western hotels i have stayed in the hotel lives up to the chains reputation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigbelly1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your overnight stay and do look forward to seeing you again.I would also like to say thank you for being loyal to the Best Western brand.

Kind regards

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank 883janicec
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,224 reviews
0.7 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.9 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel

Address: 36 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £59 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbots Barton Hotel is situated in a quiet area of Canterbury and just a 10 minute walk to the City Centre. We have parking which is available free of charge for Hotel Residents. (Generally there is not an issue with parking but on exceptional busy days free street parking maybe necessary) The hotel offers traditional facilities with Bar, Restaurant, Bar Food and Room Service all available. Free HSIA via 'The Cloud' network is provided. Our staff will endeavour to entertain any special requests wherever possible. The Hotel is also pet friendly (for a small charge per day) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Canterbury
Canterbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing