We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Having just spend 3 very enjoyable nights at this hotel, I'm somewhat puzzled by the low ratings offered by some of the reviewers. Admittedly we had no problems with noise ( despite our room being over the restaurant ) but noise can be a problem in any hotel at any time.
Our room was spacious, clean, warm, comfortable and well appointed, as was the bathroom.
We had the slightest of problems ( which turned out to be no problem at all !! ) regarding the cistern in the bathroom. Lawrence the maintenance man and the duty manager, both came back to the room twice and they couldn't have been more polite and helpful. Indeed, all of the staff we encountered, were friendly, helpful and efficient.
The only thing that stops me giving a 5 star rating for this hotel is that, for a mid range hotel, the price of £12.50 per person for breakfast, is a little steep. Otherwise, I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. My team and I are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and we do try to offer all of our guests a great experience. There is always a member of staff to assist in anyway should any problems arise during your stay.

I have noted your comment on the cost of breakfast, we do feel that we offer a competitive rate as per other hotels in the area, of course we do have a large variety from the menu to choose from, whether it be full english or continental.

We do hope you will come back to see us soon.

Best regards

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

843 - 849 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

Went in February when it was wet and cold - a warm welcome awaited and we were quickly settled in - it did take a while to actually find the room as there were several turning and twisty corridors to negotiate, not very well signed. However, the room was clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were good but you had to time it right as queues did form on one of the mornings. Plenty of choice and lots of tea/coffee refills. It is a walk into town but not too bad - it would be a lot more pleasant in Summer. All in all I would return

Room Tip: There was building work going on at the back and side of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased you had an enjoyable Winter stay, we like to think that our cosy lounge, bar and bedrooms give our guest that fuzzy warm feeling. It is quite different in the warmer months with the gardens and patio to walk around, to be able to sit out and relax in the peace and quiet with your favourite tipple.

We do hope you will come back to sample the Spring or Summer.

The new extension at the rear and side of the hotel will incorporate a large new function room, bar and eventually new bedrooms and a Spa.

We all are really looking forward to when this will be ready.

Best regards

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

What a amazing day we had having our wedding here it's a lovely venue very reasonable price to !! staff were great and food was amazing the guests loved it been recommending it to everyone that's looking for a wedding venue will be sure to return as I love it here it has great memories !

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Pkay32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for your review and congratulations on your recent wedding.

My team and I were delighted you chose our venue and had an amazing day, one to remember.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Daisygirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 April 2014

A friend and I enjoyed a break at this hotel. The staff were very friendly, especially in the dining room. The bedroom was quite small, a twin, and the shower room was compact too, but it was fine for a two night stay. The beds were comfortable and the food delicious with quite a good choice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Beverley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are gald to know you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our local cuisine.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Best regards

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Ideal location slightly out of town, but a ten minute walk and you are in the centre.The room we had was a standard but it was a good size and everything was spotlessly clean.The breakfast was of a good standard buffet with a good choice of cereals and cooked but perhaps lacking in a better range of fresh fruit which I feel is always a nice thing to have. The restaurant staff were friendly and looked happy which is always a good sign.We would stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanfoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for your review.

My team and I are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

I have passed your comments to the Chef with regard to the fresh fruit, we do currently have pineapple, two kinds of melon,grapes,strawberries, raspberrys and blueberies.We may bring in a few different varierties throughout the year.

We look forward to seeing again on your next visit.

Best regards

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Nice location, Lovely staff, the lady at reception was great, good food we had a nice time, we will go again. They had the builders in when we were there but there was no mess or noise. We walked into canterbury as it wasnt far, good selection of food at breakfast.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for your review.

It is nice to hear that from check in to check out your stay was an enjoyable one. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Best regards

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
455 reviews
0.7 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
1,974 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.9 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel

Address: 36 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £61 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbots Barton Hotel is situated in a quiet area of Canterbury and just a 10 minute walk to the City Centre. We have parking which is available free of charge for Hotel Residents. (Generally there is not an issue with parking but on exceptional busy days free street parking maybe necessary) The hotel offers traditional facilities with Bar, Restaurant, Bar Food and Room Service all available. Free HSIA via 'The Cloud' network is provided. Our staff will endeavour to entertain any special requests wherever possible. The Hotel is also pet friendly (for a small charge per day) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Canterbury
Canterbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing