We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but poor overall quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    414
    118
    47
    29
See reviews for
167
575
40
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My wife and I had a two night stay at this hotel over Easter and we took our one year old cockerpoo dog. The hotel staff were very friendly and very helpful in all our needs. Plenty of places to sit and enjoy a drink or have some food, so that the dog could crash out after long days walking about. It would have been nice if the dining room service would have been included in the bar and lounge areas, rather than just bar food, which we had to wait quite a while for.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Clifford A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your review, it was nice to know you all had an enjoyable stay over Easter.

The hotel was very busy over the holiday period with a wedding on the Saturday and many guests dining in our Fountain restaurant, hence possibly why you had to wait a while for bar food. However, we would have been quite happy to serve you from our restaurant menu in the Garden room if you had your dog with you when choosing to dine.

Any one of my Duty Managers would have been able to address this for you.

Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had stayed at this hotel a few years ago and liked it very much; we had especially liked the restaurant which had old fashioned waiters who were very knowledgeable about the food and wines being offered. So, this was a big let down. The room we had was nice enough, although the toilet didn't flush properly, but the service in the restaurant was very poor. It now seems to be staffed by young ineperienced Eastern Europeans whose English isn't great. There was a large party at another table who seemed to take precedence over all other guests - our starter arrived relatively promptly but we then waited more than an hour for our main course. It was nice enough when it arrived but we sat there while the 'big table' 'were served main coures and desserts - not good enough really and we were very disapppointed. We won't stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMN10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and it is nice to know that you have returned to the hotel. However, it appears that on this return visit you were disappointed with the serive you recieved whilst dining in the restaurant.

Please accept my sincere aplogies on the matter you have mentioned,if you feel you would like to discuss the service issues further, then please feel free to contact me on my personal email address: christine.cooper@abbotsbartonhotel.com.

Regards

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night using an Amazon deal voucher.
A lovely hotel with plenty of parking. The room was a good size with a really comfy bed.
Breakfast was great with an extensive menu & choice.
All the staff were very pleasant and helpful.
Ideal location- just a short stroll into town.
Would def stay here again if we were returning to Canterbury.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellinggal039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Best regards

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We are so pleased we booked Abbots Barton Hotel for a wedding stay. The wedding reception wasn't held at the hotel, but a group of us on the grooms side stayed at Abbots Barton. From the outset dealing with reservations (Joanne Woodward in particular) was handled so thoughtfully and thoroughly to get it right. All staff we came into contact with were more than pleasant and tried their best to cater for our needs. The rooms were much better than we expected, the food was excellent (we used the fountain restaurant for a table of around 15 people) and again the waiting staff made us very welcome. On the wedding day we were helped no end in all sorts of ways. Well done to everyone working there (including the happy maintenance man) you made our stay on such a special occasion so happy we can't thank you enough. We didn't use the fitness centre or pool & therefore cannot say anything about these facilities.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review, my staff and I were only to pleased your experience was a memorable one and that you will return in the future.

I have passed your comments to Joanne and Lawrence, who were happy to make you feel welcome along with the restuarant staff who work really hard to deliver excellent customer service.

I am afraid our Leisure part of the hotel is not built yet, hopefully it will not be too long so all our guests can enjoy the new facility.

Best regards

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Having just spend 3 very enjoyable nights at this hotel, I'm somewhat puzzled by the low ratings offered by some of the reviewers. Admittedly we had no problems with noise ( despite our room being over the restaurant ) but noise can be a problem in any hotel at any time.
Our room was spacious, clean, warm, comfortable and well appointed, as was the bathroom.
We had the slightest of problems ( which turned out to be no problem at all !! ) regarding the cistern in the bathroom. Lawrence the maintenance man and the duty manager, both came back to the room twice and they couldn't have been more polite and helpful. Indeed, all of the staff we encountered, were friendly, helpful and efficient.
The only thing that stops me giving a 5 star rating for this hotel is that, for a mid range hotel, the price of £12.50 per person for breakfast, is a little steep. Otherwise, I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. My team and I are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and we do try to offer all of our guests a great experience. There is always a member of staff to assist in anyway should any problems arise during your stay.

I have noted your comment on the cost of breakfast, we do feel that we offer a competitive rate as per other hotels in the area, of course we do have a large variety from the menu to choose from, whether it be full english or continental.

We do hope you will come back to see us soon.

Best regards

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Went in February when it was wet and cold - a warm welcome awaited and we were quickly settled in - it did take a while to actually find the room as there were several turning and twisty corridors to negotiate, not very well signed. However, the room was clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were good but you had to time it right as queues did form on one of the mornings. Plenty of choice and lots of tea/coffee refills. It is a walk into town but not too bad - it would be a lot more pleasant in Summer. All in all I would return

Room Tip: There was building work going on at the back and side of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased you had an enjoyable Winter stay, we like to think that our cosy lounge, bar and bedrooms give our guest that fuzzy warm feeling. It is quite different in the warmer months with the gardens and patio to walk around, to be able to sit out and relax in the peace and quiet with your favourite tipple.

We do hope you will come back to sample the Spring or Summer.

The new extension at the rear and side of the hotel will incorporate a large new function room, bar and eventually new bedrooms and a Spa.

We all are really looking forward to when this will be ready.

Best regards

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
419 reviews
0.7 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,846 reviews
0.9 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.9 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel

Property: Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Address: 36 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Canterbury
Canterbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing