We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience of Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Experience of Excellence”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

From the moment we arrived we received friendliness and professionalism. The reception staff were helpful and went out of their way to make us feel at home. They then told us that our room was not quite ready and invited us to stay in the reception area and we were then given tea and coffee and told to choose a sandwich from the bar menu. Eventually the head room maid came and informed us that the room was ready. We were then offered help with our luggage and because we had a dog were given a ground floor room. Anything we were in need of we were told to just dial 0 or contact reception. We had taken with us a portable cage with the intention of leaving the dog caged during breakfast and or any meals we decided to take in the hotel. But we were given the freedom to have breakfast in the bar and take the dog. The General Manager asked Chef at one point to give us treats for the dog they were duly delivered on a plate. The food was excellent and all menus were varied. Chef was fantastic and it was obvious from the high standard that he took pride in his work. Would I go again to this hotel if I was visiting Canterbury a definite and resounding YES.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are quiet and access is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsy600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, my team and I are delighted all three of you had a wonderful stay at the hotel. I know Gypsy enjoyed her Chicken Jerky as she ate it all, Chef was only too happy to make these for her, along with offering you the very best of the local produce which we serve in our restaurant and you sampled each evening.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you come to visit Canterbury or the surrounding areas in the future.

Best regards

Christine and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    418
    118
    47
    29
See reviews for
168
579
40
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Visé, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Family trip on the way to Bath, with a stop in Canterbury. This hotel offered a family room, which is not so frequent. Not cheap, but good location and good service. This hotel can be recommended without any problem.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased you had a perfect stay, my team and I do like our guests to leave happy and would love to see you all again, should you return to Canterbury.

Best regards

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLOSSOP GLOBETROTTERS
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I have used this hotel for many years now for my business travels to the Kent area as it is always a pleasure to stay here which maybe is an unusual comment to make when you travel frequently on business.
All the staff are really friendly and make your stay personal which is a nice touch. The reception staff always do their best to accommodate me with my room preference and the restaurant staff always have a smile [genuine] no matter how busy they are.
The dinner menu is always a challenge as they offer interesting dishes so a decision is never that easy but i have never yet been disappointed with either the presentation or indeed the flavour.

Room Tip: I always have an executive room but would imagine all the rooms are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLOSSOPGLOBETROTTERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, it is always a pleasure to know that our regular guests experience quality every visit.

My team and I look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Best regards

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Enjoyed a very nice stay here last week, pity it was only one night. Staff were all very friendly & helpful. Plenty of free car parking & only a ten minute walk into Canterbury. Only ate breakfast here but food & choice was good & served very efficiently & courteously. Will definitely return when we next visit this lovely area.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an executive room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSulsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

My team and I are deighted to hear your one night stay was an enjoyable one and wed do hope to see you again, maybe for more than one night.

Kind regards

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, Tyne & Wear, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We recently stayed at Abbots Barton and will definitely be back.
The staff are very friendly and cannot do enough to help you.
Our room was good value for money as clean and spacious with lots of storage space and very welcome air con!
The hotel has free parking and is only a 10 minute stroll into the beautiful city of Canterbury.
Breakfast had lots of choice, the staff were very attentive and really pleasant
Overall, an enjoyable stay, it will always be our hotel of choice when next in Canterbury

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandancer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am so pleased you had a great stay and loved our beautiful city.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Lovely room and bathroom area. Good size bar and not overpriced drinks. Lounge areas. Free wifi that actually worked all over the hotel. Set in spacious grounds to sit out in on a hot day. Breakfast was excellent. Food generally very good. Beds comfortable. Good standard of cleanliness. Free parking on shaded drive. Short walk into the city. Trouser press. Good hanging and storage. No safe in room.

Room Tip: 203 was good opposite the lift. No outlook. But quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owner-lighthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

My team and I are delighted you had a wonderful experince at the hotel and we do look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind regards

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel with a tour. Easy to find, plenty of parking. A 10 minute walk to Canterbury. Staff very friendly and helpful. We had a very large room with a walk in wardrobe and lots of cupboards and draw space. The food was excellent. As a group I did not expect the food to be too good but it was always very hot and presented very nicely. We had 3 choices per course and coffee after the meal. Breakfast was excellent, very large choice and always hot. I will stay here again. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your review, delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with the tour group.

I will pass your comments to my Chef, who takes pride in delivering excellent choice and quality for both breakfast and dinner, along with the rest of the hotel team, who look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
422 reviews
0.7 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,848 reviews
0.9 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.9 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel

Property: Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Address: 36 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Canterbury
Canterbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing