We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Abbots Barton Hotel.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbots Barton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbots Barton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Abbots Barton Hotel.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We went to a wedding here. The chairs were covered in a fabric with bows at the back. Four of these chairs collapsed due to old age. One guest was badly injured although first aid was promptly offered by the young staff. I believe this hotel is now a First Weston

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patfranklin60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your review,

It is nice to hear you enjoyed the wedding and indeed it was a lovely day.

We work with a company that dress the function rooms chairs which do make a vast impact on the room, it was very pretty. Unfortunately, a couple of chairs lost their legs during the evening, they are checked every time we have a function and we will be giving all the chairs a thorough overhaul once again to ensure all are in working order.

I sopke to the Bride and Groom, who assure me all was fine and they had a wonderful wedding day.

The hotel is a member of BEST WESTERN, but as they all are, the hotel is privately owned and managed. I do hope you look to stay with the brand in the future.

Best regards

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    383
    111
    44
    29
See reviews for
156
543
34
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I had to spend a night in Canterbury on personal business and found this hotel only 200 yards from where I needed to be.
On arrival I was told that I was being upgraded to a superior room - and it was!
Huge, very comfortable bed, well furnished, jacizzu-style bath tub, windows (which opened properly) overlooking the garden and terrace. Sadly, did not have time to enjoy the room more but that alone was worth it.

Dinner in the hotel restaurant was quite good - with an extensive but keenly priced wine list. The waitress, Aura, was especially attentive and friendly and the chef was well pleased with the glass of wine sent to compliment him on the steak - cooked to perfection.

Sadly, the end of the trip was marred by one of the worst breakfasts I can remember. Sausage tough and tasteless, bacon oozing white slime from the poor curing, overcooked egg.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

My team and I are pleased you enjoyed your room, dinner and that all my staff were attentive.

My apologies with regard to breakfast, this is not our normal standard and I will be looking into the items you have mentioned.

Best regards

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

My room was spotless and comfortable, will all you can expect from a 3-star hotel in it. The bathroom was impeccable. I would also like to compliment the staff who were all extremely pleasant and helpful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I had read a review mentioning an extractor fan so I requested a room far from it. It was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

My staff are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and we do hope to see you again.

Best regards

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The decor is luxurious, the beds are really comfortable, the room well equipped and the odd member of staff seemed friendly enough. But why do hotels never consider the impact that a massive extractor fan outside your window can have on the comfort of your stay? It was on when we arrived, went off at 930 but then came on again at six o'clock in the morning. With it on, sleep was impossible even with ear plugs. Such a shame.

Room Tip: Avoid room 317
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

My staff and I are pleased you had an enjoyable stay overall, I have taken note of your comments with regard to the kitchen extractor fan, I apologise for the disturbance.

We do hope you will return to experience a better nights sleep in the near future.

Kind regards

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.7 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
2.5 mi away
Howfield Manor Hotel
Howfield Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chartham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbots Barton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbots Barton Hotel

Property: Abbots Barton Hotel
Address: 36 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbots Barton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK and Hotels.com so you can book your Abbots Barton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Canterbury
Canterbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing