We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,370)
Filter reviews
1,370 results
Traveller rating
622
504
157
52
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
622
504
157
52
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive roomcity centrebridal suitebar menulovely hotelbuilding workbuilding siteten minute walkthird floorrestaurant staffjacuzzi bathquiet locationreception staffbuffet breakfastplenty of parkingvisiting canterburybiscuits
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 1,370 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2017

I really enjoyed staying in this charming hotel close to the centre of Canterbury. It is located just outside the city walls, about a 10 minute walk to the Cathedral. The staff were very friendly and quick to help. The decor is charming and traditional, and the room was very comfortable. It was quiet and we slept very well in the excellent bed. I also really liked the bar area, which was a quiet and cosy place to hang out in.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Zoe111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you for your review.

Delighted to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found us to be charming.

Our decor is traditional in style which gives us our character and I'm pleased it was to your liking.

We hope to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

We have been before for a two night mid week stay. Mainly to look round Canterbury. The markets and Cathedral. We always ask for room 104, it's the biggest in the old part of the hotel. Tuns of space and a great view out of the front of the hotel. Staff are always helpful and the breakfast is good value.

Room Tip: We have only used 104. it's big and airy.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you for your review.

Pleased to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that everything was to your liking.

Im pleased to hear my team were helpful and your enjoyed our breakfast offerings.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

We came to Canterbury to attend a ball and stayed for two nights. From the greeting by the receptionist team when we arrived to the time we departed the staff could not have been better. They were genuinely happy to help and give you the attention you needed. We ate in the bar on Friday evening and the food was delicious. The room was very clean, well laid out and pleasantly decorated. Car parking on site was another bonus. It is clearly a well run hotel with happy staff that I would recommend it and stay there again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed your recent stay and your room was to your liking.

We are a friendly team here, and like to take care of all our guests as best we can and I'm pleased that this came across during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

Clean, friendly, quaint and historical hotel. Modern and spacious rooms on the inside. Its the little touches for me like a lovely dressing on the side salad with our lunchtime sandwiches. We would certainly return here for a weekend visit to Canterbury as it is only a ten minute walk into the centre.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you for your review.

Pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your liking.

I'm glad you enjoyed the dressing on the side salad with your sandwiches.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

Somewhat old fashioned hotel. Room dated with a shower curtain over the bath: how dated is that especially when it sticks to your bum!
No sign of any of the improvements going on. No builders or scaffolding etc.
Handy for the town centre especially as driving and parking there is a nightmare but you can walk from the hotel in 10 minutes

Breakfast very good and worth a try
The only real negative was the really cheap and uncomfortable pillows and although we like a firm mattress the one here was unbelievably hard.
Easy and free to park your car.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank dignidut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you for your review.

I'm pleased to read our location was good for your needs and you enjoyed our breakfast offerings.

All works currently being carried out are at the rear of the hotel in our new extension, this area is closed off to guests, so that it does not impact on their stay. We hope to have our new bedrooms online by early next year, after which the existing bedroom stock is scheduled to be refurbished.

We do have mattress toppers available to help soften mattresses if they are to firm.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews