We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”

Willows Secret Kitchen
Ranked #56 of 372 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Hi fellow Tripadvisor people, we thought we would give you a little info about us. We are a casual very small Sandwich & Coffee Bar, serving you great coffee in the hidden back streets of Canterbury. We are not easy to find, but hope you will try. Feel free to call ahead and ask if we have space as we are tiny but very welcoming, we have just launched our Grilled Cheese sandwiches and all are Iron Grilled to order just for you. We hope to see you soon Love Willows
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We popped in for a quick drink after seeing the good reviews! Just had a simple coffee but very good! Saw a couple of girls drinking the vacuum coffee, and it looks like a must try! We will be back to sample that asap! Prices also ridiculously cheap!

The clue is in the name, it is a secret gem but I'm sure it wont be for long.

Staff also very lovely.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyKateWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willowssecretkitchen, Owner at Willows Secret Kitchen, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
I would like to just say Thank You and glad you enjoyed your time @ Willows Secret Kitchen and hope to see you again soon :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    23
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cracking Coffee!”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My partner and I live in Canterbury & have only recently got into the coffee drinking culture and have tried many of the coffee shops in a quest to find 'our favorite' We found out about Willows Secret Kitchen on trip advisor so thought we would pay a visit after our anniversary lunch and we were wowed. It's a small quirky place with a lovely friendly atmosphere from the moment you open the door, the service was friendly and what the owner doesnt know about coffee probably isnt worth knowing. We thought we would treat ourselves to a vacuum coffee and was overwhelmed with the whole experience, we were given an indepth explanation of how the machine works and the different coffee varieties and the taste really was like no other - amazing! This little gem of a place is definitely worth a visit and we are looking forward to going back to work our way through the menu.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JanineTaylor37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willowssecretkitchen, Owner at Willows Secret Kitchen, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
I would like to just say Thank You and glad you enjoyed your time @ Willows Secret Kitchen and hope to see you again soon :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go, now!”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Heard about this place through word of mouth, about how great the coffee is and certainly wasn't disappointed. Good quality and really attentive service.
And although tucked away in Stour St, when inside you feel like you're in a completely different place altogether! Well worth a visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willowssecretkitchen, Owner at Willows Secret Kitchen, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
I would like to just say Thank You and glad you enjoyed your time @ Willows Secret Kitchen and hope to see you again soon :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yummy Coffee!”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Lovely fab place with excellent coffee will definitly be back!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willowssecretkitchen, Owner at Willows Secret Kitchen, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
I would like to just say Thank You and glad you enjoyed your time @ Willows Secret Kitchen and hope to see you again soon :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not going to be a secret for long!”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

After walking up and down the high st for 10 mins trying to decide which was the least expensive cafe to visit. My daughter picked up a flier for Willows. What a brilliant place! The coffee was fantastic, The fillings for the sandwiches, and jacket potatoes were generous and the atmosphere of the place was friendly without being annoying or intrusive. The place itself is pretty small but we were lucky enough to seats each time we went. Oh I forgot to mention the wonderful cakes and the fact that it all ridiculously inexpensive

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willowssecretkitchen, Owner at Willows Secret Kitchen, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
I would like to just say Thank You and glad you enjoyed your time @ Willows Secret Kitchen and hope to see you again soon :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Willows Secret Kitchen also viewed

 
Canterbury, Kent
Canterbury, Kent
 
 

Been to Willows Secret Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing