We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place, clean, great value, would definitely come again!”
Review of Canterbury Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canterbury Lodge
Ranked #24 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place, clean, great value, would definitely come again!”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My mom and I came out to Canterbury for a weekend away from London. It was conveniently located near the station (about 10 mins walking), was close enough to the center of Canterbury to walk there as well, but far enough away to avoid most of the tourists. The room itself was immaculately clean, beds were super comfy, and everything was modern (bathroom, TV etc)
The manager Lisa was friendly and made us feel at home, and the breakfasts were delicious and plentiful.
We had a fantastic time, and would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great value and high quality experience. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We peeked in all the rooms, they all looked lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TattooLaedy818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    21
    10
    4
    12
See reviews for
20
59
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turre, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Due to an emergency my friend had to travel to Canterbury at very short notice. Whilst she was on the train from Tonbridge to Canterbury, I tried to find somewhere for her to stay for one night. I explained that the traveler would be there in around 30 minutes. As it turned out, the traveller had been directed on to the wrong train and had unfortunately ended up in Dover. Out of courtesy I called Ann's house to advise that the traveller would be a little later than planned. The women was really rude and said it was all a bit odd and slammed the phone down. Talk about Fawlty Towers. This woman needs some serious training on looking after potential customers.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Having just got back from a weekend at ann's house i have to recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in canterbury. the rooms are gorgeous with lovely bathrooms too. the breakfast was really delicious and the management lovely and friendly. none of us could believe how little the rooms cost considering the amazingly high quality of every aspect of our stay. It really is the best value place I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilsnow87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sainte Gemme, France
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We were transferred to Ann's House after The Coach House had misplaced our booking and was now full! We were a little nervous but pleasantly surpised and would now choose Ann's next time. It was not as central as hoped but only a short walk from the restaurants, had off road parking, were very friendly, thoughtful and helpful at any time, with lovely new warm rooms and bathrooms, and made a delicious breakfast (even with a place layed for our child).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaapr25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Myself and my wife have just returned from a weekend in Canterbury where we had the pleasure of staying at Ann's House. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with a friendly smile and a happy mood.
The room we stayed in was exactly what the Dr ordered after a day out sightseeing. Warm and cosy with tea and coffee making facilities.
Breakfast is from 7:30-8:30, which some may find early, but what is the point in coming away for a weekend and spending it in bed? An early breakfast, and a hearty one at that, is just what you need to set you on your way.
We were even surprised by a box of chocolates on our return to our room on the second day.
So if you are thinking of a weekend in Canterbury you wouldn't go far wrong by getting your head down at Ann's

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1Steve_bach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Stayed 2 nights. 10 Minutes walk from the high street (Westgate). I love Canterbury but because its attractive its very expensive to stay in the center, so Ann's House is a good compromise. The parking is excellent and off road. We had a 4 poster bed in a spacious and clean room with a big TV. Breakfast is a little restrictive between 7:30 and 8:30am but it was good. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

On arrival we were met by the extremely friendly manager who gave us a choice of rooms - we opted for the smaller room (with a four-poster) at the back as the main road might have been noisy. As a result, and thanks to the very effective curtains, we had two very good nights sleep during our short visit. The breakfast was very good and plenty of it, though our need to be down in the spacious breakfast room by 8.30 at the latest was perhaps a shade earlier than we would have missed. The walk into town only took us 15 minutes past some very attractive old buildings and the complimentary box of chocolates in our room when we got back in the evening was a nice touch. The 6 foot teddy bear in the lounge was fun too!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LawrenceHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.8 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
House of Agnes
House of Agnes
#2 of 75 in Canterbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harriet House B&B
Harriet House B&B
#3 of 75 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oakside Lodge
Oakside Lodge
#1 of 2 in Upper Harbledown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Lodge

Property: Canterbury Lodge
Address: 63 London Road, Canterbury CT2 8JZ, England (Formerly Ann's House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Canterbury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ann`s House Hotel Canterbury
Anns Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing