We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Value”
Review of Pilgrims Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pilgrims Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2012

After a frustrating evening driving round Canterbury, I found this place by accident and I am glad I did, right on the edge of the historic city centre with a wide selection of pubs, parking is opposite in a voucher based car park, this was cheap enough and felt secure, this type of parking is probably to be expected in an ancient city like this.
The room, altough not big was nicely decorated with attractive furniture, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was noce and clean and up to date enough. I chose to eat in the bar/restaurant, the place was inviting, smart and the menu, although not massive was interesting enough, I had the Pork Belly, a risky dish but they had cooked it to perfection, the beer was good as well. THe room rates were very reasonable for the location. The staff were smart and professional although they looked a bit serious, never mind I will come back again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_and_Daniel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

On the 4th April a friend and i had lunch in the Restaurant. It was my first visit. Excellent Menue of English Dishes. The Starter Smoked Salmon, Salad & Bread and Butter.My main course was homemade Steak Pie with Chips and Vegetables. We had a very good Chilean Wine. I would and will visit it again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alistair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed over for just one night. The hotel is beside the main new modern theatre. Parking is extra. Breakfast was good.Room for the price are good.Staff great....Small lanes/roads in this part of town (which is part of its charm) so a little funny to find if driving......Overall a YES.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blynky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Three of us stayed here for one night in a family room for £110 plus £5 parking. Driving back from visiting the motor show in Switzerland we decided to stay overnight in Canterbury. We had not pre booked and found the hotel on sat nav. On arrival we were told they had a family room available but were not given the opportunity to view the room. We were asked to pay in advance and were told twice on checking in that if we damaged anything we would charged! The parking as it turned out was several streets away on a council carpark. On the way to the room we noticed the the decor was tired as was the room. There was damp on the bedroom wall, the luggage rack was broken and the tv wouldnt work, The dark wood furniture was old and chipped and carpets were worn but the bathroom was recently refurbished. We reported the tv to reception and they said they would have someone fix it - but nobody turned up.
After an excellent dinner at the nearby Deesons British Restaurant (recommended) we retired to our hotel room. The beds were old but comfortable but were completely ruined by waterproof matress covers under the sheets which were noisy when you moved and made for an uncomfortable hot nights sleep. The worse part was the following morning when we used the bathroom, The bath had a shower above the bath and was fitted with a thermostatic valve. The valve wouldnt adjust the temperture and only let scalding hot water out. Eventually the only way that we could wash was to fill the bath with scalding water and keep pouring cold water from the sink tap using the kettle. To make matters worse my wife hit her head on the sink as it hangs over the end of the bath. - really bad design. On finishing we couldnt empty the bath as the integrated plug wouldnt pop up. When we checked out we asked to see someone in charge to tell them of our experience. The gentleman who we spoke to said he was sorry about the problems and wouldnt charge us for the broken luggage rack! He also said that they knew about the problem with the shower valve and we should have been told the previous night - even though he was the person that checked us in!. At that point he said he would phone his boss and after a few moments he said his boss wasnt happy to have been bothered and had told him to give us £20 out of the till! We hadn't complained to get a discount but wanted to point out the faults before they re-let the room. We didnt feel they were interested in our comments.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graham k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The hotel was clean, tidy and the staff were very helpful and friendly, I would recommend this hotel to family and friends

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinklebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Lovely weekend, great location opposite theatre in city, great staff and food. We had no problems and felt so at home. We hope to go back soon

Room Tip: Try their steak house next door, best steak we have ever eaten, & get tickets to theatre,some gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank battersea1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Myself and my other half were lucky to be upgraded to one of their newly refurblished bathrooms and everything was perfect! The location was amazing and the staff were brilliant. To top it off the new Marlowe Threatre was open, panto was amazing and we got to mingle with the panto stars such as Stephen Mulhern and some of the stars of the Eastenders crew everynight in the hotel bar.

Well done Pilgrims, we will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurblished bathroom rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshleighMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,029 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilgrims Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilgrims Hotel

Address: 18 The Friars | Kent, Canterbury CT1 2AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £62 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pilgrims Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management as of November 2015 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pilgrims Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilgrims Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing