We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor booking service”
Review of Pilgrims Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pilgrims Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor booking service”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We originally booked to stay at the Pilgrims Hotel well in advance due to its proximity to a special event at the Marlowe Theatre. However, as late as 9.30pm on the night before, we were telephoned by the management to hear that our romantic four poster bedroom was no longer available and that we would have to stay at the sister hotel (the Victoria) which was another 20 minutes walk further out of the city. By this time, we did not have time to book another hotel nearer to the theatre. The Victoria hotel was more of a ‘Travelodge’ type place with none of the character of the Pilgrim. It was very tired in decor, and there were some rough looking people in the bar. The hotel kindly compensated us by giving us a family room and paying for our taxi to get to the Marlowe, but this did not compensate for the disappointment we felt . If you are booking with the Pilgrim, do check well in advance that your booking is still available, however, we won't be booking with the Pilgrims Hotel again.

Room Tip: We didn't stay at the Pilgrim but at the sister hotel, the Victoria, so cannot comment on the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonItalylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    111
    46
    17
    16
See reviews for
68
115
31
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

2 months ago I booked a night at this hotel because we are at the Marlowe Theatre tomorrow evening and wanted somewhere close to stay. Today I have just received a phone call telling me that they are overbooked and we will have to stay at the sister hotel, 10 minutes away. To say I am furious is an understatement. As I booked 2 months ago it isn't as if they didn't have any notice. I did it through an agency (booking.com) so they will be hearing from me as well. The hotel have said they are sorry, but this just isn't good enough. No compensation was offered. My pleasant evening, just having to stroll from my hotel to the theatre and back, has now been changed completely, all because of their inefficiency. They have offered to pay for taxis to and from the theatre, but the whole tenor of the evening has changed from something pleasant and easy to something involving hassle. Needless to say, I shall not be attempting to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TunbridgegWellsJillP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay with my daughter ' she is returning next week for another 3 nights with my husband . As this was a work trip and paid by the television co I can not comment on value fir money , however what a delight to stay in a lovely period hotel run by people who make you feel welcome , really lovely woman on the front desk always happy to chat , we had a lovely room facing the theatre and the graveyard !!! Which my 9 yr old liked comfy beds great breakfast and fab location I would not hesitate to stay here again .

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendywisby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed for 2 nights our first trip to Canterbury with my parents for there 50th wedding anniversary, The Hotel location was perfect just off the main street within easy walking distance of the centre right opposite the Marlow Theatre. The rooms were clean and the beds were excellent. Breakfasts were great and the staff were wonderful. This is a little gem and I would recommend this hotel to friends and family. Thanks to all the staff you made our first but not last trip to Canterbury a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hantsman187054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We live only 12 miles from Canterbury but had tickets for the Marlowe and wanted to make a weekend of it. A great hotel and beautiful room overlooking the theatre forecourt. Previously we had only eaten at the Pilgrims but found our room extremely comfortable with the decor exactly right for an old Canterbury building with dark wood furniture and a four poster bed! However, we also had a large screen TV and beautiful modern bathroom with bath and shower. Lots of choice next morning for breakfast with full English as well as continental. Definitely one to stay at again next time we have tickets for the Marlowe.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the front and Marlowe theatre are fun and not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susie2145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
488 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed for 12 days while I was in Canterbury. We found the staff to be superb & our room was great. It was as some state a bit small, but it is an old English building & all rooms of that age are that size. You cannot expect more from an old building. The shower/bathroom was superb & the breakfasts could not be faulted.
Cannot fault it really.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 433 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed at the double en-suite room of Pilgrims Hotel on a bed & breakfast basis for the period 8-12/7/2012. Just as we arrived at the hotel, we were told that we had to pay the full amount of our stay in advance! We explained that it is our understanding that first we get the service and then we pay, but the landlady would not accept it, as in her experience there were customers who left without paying their bill, or did not have enough money to settle their bill; hence, it was the hotel’s policy, she explained, to get the money in advance. However, at no place on the hotel’s website or in the e-mails we exchanged with the hotel personnel prior to our arrival, did it say that this was the policy of the hotel! We felt insulted; we informed her that we have been travelling all over Europe every summer since 1999 and no hotel ever asked us to pay in advance! We proposed to pay each day’s bill at the end of the day in order to allay her fears but she would have none of it; it was either payment in advance or we had no accommodation! Faced with this situation we paid in advance.

Unfortunately, our troubles did not end there. The sound insulation of our room was not effective; we could hear the TV of the room below. What is more, almost every other day the room cleaner would forget to either replenish the Nescafe sachets, or the shampoo or the soap in the bathroom; to the credit of the reception, when we asked for replenishments, their response was immediate. Also, we found no anti-slip bath tub mat even though on the website it stated that we were entitled to one; again, the reception was quick in rectifying the situation after we asked for one. Moreover, the plug of the sink and the bathtub would not open sufficiently, hence, water was accumulating in them; at our request the former was fixed but there was nothing they could do about the latter.

The rooms were clean and adequately heated but in urgent need of an upgrade of some of their equipment: the cord of the bedcover of the double bed was worn making for bad aesthetics; also, one of the armchairs in this room had torn upholstery on its cushion.

Breakfast was good, however, we had to interrupt it twice during its course as the toasts were not served in time – we had to wait for them to arrive before we could continue and we had to wait again before the second dose of them would arrive. On the plus side, the waiter was always courteous.

Location-wise the hotel is strategically placed in the centre of the town, close to the restaurants and shops of the main street and close to where the action is.

All-in-all, not a happy stay; we will not call again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Laurent J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
1,920 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
434 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.9 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.4 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#9 of 16 in Canterbury
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilgrims Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilgrims Hotel

Property: Pilgrims Hotel
Address: 18 The Friars | Kent, Canterbury CT1 2AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pilgrims Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management as of November 2015 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pilgrims Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilgrims Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing