We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT POSITION”
Review of Pilgrims Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pilgrims Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
West Chiltington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT POSITION”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This very old inn is situated opposite the theatre and only a short walk from the cathedral. naturally a building of this age has narrow stairs and creaking floors. Our double room was tiny but the bathroom had been upgraded and was adequate. Food good value for money and breakfast good. Staff were very good indeed and when we asked to change rooms did their to best to acommodate. Car park a short walk away and £6 for 24 hours excellent value.

Room Tip: Rooms to small ask for as large as possible, remember very narrow stairs to rooms so no good if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    111
    45
    17
    16
See reviews for
66
115
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed there Sept 6 for our 17th anniversary, and it was a big dissapointment. As you walk in you are met with a grubby stair carpet. The room was small with a small double bed which was a four poster, but I could have done with a step to get up on it and the matress was rock hard. We couldn't get wifi in our room and the telly reception wasn't very good. The bathroom was modern but the water was actually boiling and hard to regulate. Unfortunatly the floor boards and bed creaked, as did all the bedrooms around us! The breakfast was very good

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MauraEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed in the family room, which consisted of two bedrooms which could be completely separated, ideal if you want to put young children to bed before you. the twin bedroom adjoined the bathroom, so the kids ended up sleeping on the double bed in the other room, but at least they were able to have their own quiet space. Easily accommodates two adults, two children and a travel cot for baby.

Bathroom very clean and modern, the room had lots of character but was clean and fresh. Breakfast included was excellent, cooked to order and lots of choice. Could not fault our stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kt987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We arrived at the hotel on the 10th July and were immediately charged for the proposed three night stay. I thought at the time that this was a little odd but did not argue. When I saw the room I knew why we had been charged straight away. The room was very small. A single with a double bed. The carpet was filthy, as it was throughout the hotel. Some effort had been made to improve the en-suite but the rest of the hotel was badly in need of some TLC. I complained that the room was not as advertised and I asked for my money back but I was charged for one night stay( in accordance with their cancellation policy). I would advise anyone who is thinking of staying in this hotel to check their room before parting with any money. Needless to say I will never be returning to this establishment. I am surprised that with so many tourists visiting this city that the local Tourist Board have not had more to say about this place. In my opinion it is not a very good advertisement for a city of culture.

Room Tip: Look before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PHIJAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
228 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel, the location to the Main Street in gorgeous Canterbury is unbelievably fantastic, it is just so close, so when you are totally exhausted form site seeing all day you can literally just fall back into this welcoming hotel and relax! The only negatives are the room was very warm and stuffy, they had a portable fan which did help but you have to run this all night or you would get way overheated, mind you probably in the winter you would appreciate this? The biggest negative is the bed was a double size so quite small but extremely uncomfortable it desperately needs replacing, it falls in the middle if two people sleep on it and bounces like a trampoline so you nearly bounce out of bed if your partner flips over! There is parking at £6.00 per day around the back in Pound street for your car which is good. Breakfast was excellent you can order eggs any way you like and nice brown grain toast, Jason the manager is very very nice and very funny, we would definitely come back to stay if they replaced the mattress and especially because of the friendly staff and easy location!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Stour Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We went to see a show at the Marlowe Theatre and you could not get closer than this - perfect.

The room was fine, not large but not too small. There was a well-presented and modern bathroom, only let down by a feeble shower - very low water pressure.

Breakfast was good, but the decor is a bit tired and we were disappointed by chipped china cups, damaged place mats and odd cutlery.

Service was friendly, but a bit disorganised. Wrong orders and mix ups. Polite and apologetic, but it wouldn't take much to make this a really good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMorgs71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
129 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The lodge is conveniently situated in town center. The room was big and clean, and so was the bathroom. It has no private car, but they gave us a voucher for a near pay and display (thanks to the voucher we paid only 6£ for a 24h stay). Breakafst was good and the room had free wireless. The only thing I have to complain about, is that there's no lift and there are a lot of stairs.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlimpiaPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,846 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
419 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,129 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.4 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilgrims Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilgrims Hotel

Property: Pilgrims Hotel
Address: 18 The Friars | Kent, Canterbury CT1 2AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pilgrims Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management as of November 2015 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pilgrims Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilgrims Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing