We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay for a funeral”
Review of Pilgrims Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pilgrims Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Went to Canterbury for the first time for a sad day for a funeral for a long time friend. Got this hotel off the website. It was a nice stay the bed was comfortable and the food which I had for breakfast and dinner was really nice and had a nice selection for breakfast and you could choose what you wanted for the cooked breakfast as there are certain foods my dad is not allowed to have. We had a twin room the was nice and clean the only thing was there wasn't much of gap between the bed and the shelf which the tea factilies were on. The staff were friendly and very helpful as we had to get a taxi to the wake and the staff phoned the taxi firm for us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
There are newer reviews for Pilgrims Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed here for 3 days in early December and found the room and bathroom certainly adequate for our needs. The radiators heated up very quickly and served the room very well. Bed was comfy also. Its a lovely old hotel in certain parts and a modern hotel in other parts like the bar and restaurant. Does a decent pint also. Breaky was certainly very good but I do wish hotels would serve butter and marmalade in dishes and not these horrible plastic containers you have to undo. I would stay here again so obviously would fecommend it. Jason was on duty when we arrived and was very helpful and professional in receiving us. Value for money yes!

Room Tip: the four poster is lovely but on a small road so a bit noisey but the room makes up for it.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSGY2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Booked a room on the hotel website, asking for top floor. Reservation confirmed as "single ensuite". The room (#9) was tiny, but not a problem. The bathroom, however, was awful: toilet seat so close to the wall you couldn't comfortably do the necessary, and the shower consisted of rubber tubing affixed to the taps with a showerhead on the end. The real issue was that the bath was under the sloping roof, making it impossible to stand. Only Gollum could have showered here. Remonstrations with the generally pleasant staff elicited either a 10% discount or offer of a room at another hotel 15 mins away (no use because I needed to be in the centre of Canterbury). "But you asked for a room on a top floor". Well, yes, but not one with inadequate bathroom facilities.These offers were made after phone calls to "the owner". A 50% discount would have been more appropriate. Wi-fi did not work in the room (I took my phone into the corridor to check and it worked fine there; signal disappeared in the room). Cooked breakfast OK, but the buffet was minimal. For "ensuite", the default is that there is a stand-up shower, so I conclude that to describe this room as such is tantamount to sharp practice, misleading if not strictly illegal. Full payment was taken at check-in, so if you have to stay here, insist on seeing the room first. Frankly, I'd avoid it if you can. Some other reviews here reflect similar experience.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KeithUK1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

After reading the reviews we where hesitant about staying ! We had a brilliant time , food was brilliant and the rooms where clean and a good size, would recommend this hotel . Thanks for a good weekend break !!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at the hotel. We had come down to Canterbury to help out with some baby-sitting at my daughter's place nearby. The position was excellent: a few yards to the busy main street and a short walk to my daughter's house. Our room was comfortable; all the usual mod cons together with an imposing four-poster bed. The staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was excellent - the best full English breakfast I've tasted for a long time. The waitress Claire made us feel very welcome. We had several meals in the restaurant and we found them to be of good quality at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Positives:
Excellent location just off the pedestrianized High Street & the staff were helpful & obliging. The cooked breakfasts were very good apart from the toast served to us on the first morning, (see below for a full explanation).
Negatives:
Reception area very dark, small & scruffy.
Asked to pay in full upon arrival (which is unusual), after seeing our room I now know why.
No lift to the upper floors & the stairs were narrow & winding & very difficult to negotiate when carrying suitcases, no assistance was offered.
We found the decor throughout the hotel to be dark & dingy, probably due to the use differing shades of brown everywhere.
The twin room (number 5) was too small, tiny beds (later found to be very uncomfortable), nowhere to sit except on the bed.
Had to ask for extra hangers twice before getting any.
Our room (room 5) was situated at the front of the building, on Friday & Saturday night we were disturbed constantly by late night revelers until the early hours, finally went quite about 3am on both nights.
Bathroom had been refurbished, but was very narrow & small. Shower situated over the bath, but no handles fitted to the walls to assist with getting in & out of the bath, making the whole procedure very precarious as the base of the bath was very slippery when wet.
The temperature of the shower fluctuated wildly while in use.
During the first nights sleep I was awoken by a guest snoring in an adjoining room, I then realized I could smell something very unpleasant. I traced the smell to my top pillow, upon further investigation I found that the pillow protectors underneath the pillow cases were in a disgusting state covered in horrible looking orange stains. Complained to a chambermaid the next morning who apologized & changed them all immediately.
Free Wi-Fi & TV in the room, the reception on both was intermittent or non existent most of the time.
At breakfast on the first morning we struggled to find any crockery that was not badly chipped or cracked, We were also initially served with toast that had been made from mouldy bread.
The damaged crockery remained a feature every breakfast time during our stay.
Needless to say, we would never stay at this hotel again or recommend it to anyone.
Advice:
Avoid room 5, or better still the whole hotel.
Do not pay until you have seen your room.

Room Tip: Avoid room 5. Do not pay until you have inspected your room
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r0jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This very old inn is situated opposite the theatre and only a short walk from the cathedral. naturally a building of this age has narrow stairs and creaking floors. Our double room was tiny but the bathroom had been upgraded and was adequate. Food good value for money and breakfast good. Staff were very good indeed and when we asked to change rooms did their to best to acommodate. Car park a short walk away and £6 for 24 hours excellent value.

Room Tip: Rooms to small ask for as large as possible, remember very narrow stairs to rooms so no good if you...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
1,954 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
449 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
320 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilgrims Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilgrims Hotel

Address: 18 The Friars | Kent, Canterbury CT1 2AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £65 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pilgrims Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management as of November 2015 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pilgrims Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilgrims Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing