We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location for Canterbury Sightseeing”
Review of Pilgrims Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pilgrims Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location for Canterbury Sightseeing”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This location is really convenient for visiting Canterbury. The food was excellent with a good selection. We chose to have breakfast and dinner there each day. The staff was very helpful; we actually extended our stay and they accommodated us without any issues. This is also an excellent location for day trips to Dover, Sandwich, etc. The only issue might be if you have a car as parking is off-site. The closest car park is a couple of blocks walk from the B&B and, If the weather is bad, this can be a bother. You can, however, drive directly to the inn to drop off / collect your luggage so this is an acceptable trade-off for the other advantages.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    112
    44
    17
    16
See reviews for
66
115
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely welcoming stay. Staff friendly and attentive. Room 5. Beds comfy. Shower wonderful. Toilet made an awful noise when flushed. Food reasonably priced and plenty of it, all freshly cooked.so didn't mind waiting. Unfortunately there was no one at reception when we left, to say goodbye and thank us .
We would definitely stay here again

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Look at the picture of this hotel and where it is on Street View. It's not going to be the Ritz inside.
Narrow stairs and corridors are no surprise but the decor in this area is a bit shabby and depressing. I suspect if the lighting in the corridor was brighter you would detect that the carpet has seen better days. Downstairs restaurant and bar much better. Staff are fine and pleasant.
Bed was really soft and springy and very uncomfortable for my preferences. One of the electrical sockets seemed to have an intermittent fault. Bathroom pretty average. Shower rather weak. Handle and lock on bathroom door not working. Towels not replaced even though we clearly left them in the bath as requested.
The other room upstairs we had doesn't have a shower, just a bath under the slope of the roof. It was a very small room.
I wouldn't chose to stay here again. Wouldn't specifically avoid it either. It's just an average example if a small old hotel in its class.
It is in a good location beside the Marlowe theatre and short walk into the pedestrian zone of the city.
Car parking is a bit of a pain. Don't drive to the Hotel first as you will end up stuck just before the pedestrian zone and have to reverse. Just go straight to the Pound Street car park and then get the voucher from the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed here with my g/f for 1 Sunday night in March.
Booked it as we were guaranteed a 4 poster bed, was very reasonably priced, and appeared to be in a good location.
We travelled by train and found out it is only about 10 mins walk away from Canterbury West Station and in the heart of Canterbury, just off the main High St.
The reception area was busy with people departing but the young receptionist made time for us and was very polite and checked us in with no problems what so ever, she did ask if I was ok to pay now, or wait to check out?, Paying now and then isnt a problem. Id rather pay and get it out of the way. She showed us to our room, advised us of when breakfast was served and took note that I had advised that my gf had a gluten allergy and that they had some gluten free bread in especially. She said she was new and apologised if she had forgotten to advise us of anything (She hadnt).
Yes the corridors are a little small but really not a problem, Its no big deal. Adds to the charm. The room was opposite the theatre and I didnt hear any outside noise at all. The room was fairly spacious, clean and stayed with the old theme of Canterbury. The bed was high, but again this wasnt a problem I could still get on an off of it and im not the tallest in the world. It was very comfortable, as were the pillows. The TV was situated in a good place, if you ever wanted to watch it. The bathroom has been modernised and looks great. Shower not most powerful, but does the job it needs to. Because of the oldness of the building, yes you do hear a few squeaks here and there, but thats expected. Had dinner in the hotel and received a 10% discount. Unfortunately the dinner, although tasty, we was advised it was Gluten Free. It wasnt and my g/f ended up feeling ill for the remainder of the evening. Breakfast was fantastic and appreciated they supplied gluten free bread.
If you are wanting to stay in Canterbury that has a bit of character, and away from hustle and bustle, yet in the centre, then this is perfect, if you are someone that gets annoyed by small noises and likes a modern approach, probably not for you.

I would stay here again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarge4280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This doesn't claim to be a luxury hotel - it was fine, comfortable, very nice staff. Breakfast was OK. Poor lighting and no shower cap, but for the price it was very good and when we pointed out things that didn't work in the bathroom somebody shot up to deal with it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel for its proximity to the Marlowe Theatre which is virtually next door. From some of the reviews on this site I was expecting it to be terrible but it wasn't; it was perfectly good value for money and comfortable.

The room was compact but adequate with newish carpets and a modern bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. The free and well functioning wifi in the room was a real bonus.

The staff were all very helpful and friendly. We ate in the pub bit downstairs and returned quite late at night and were still able to order coffees/teas. Breakfast was cooked to order so nice and fresh.

The hotel gave us a parking voucher which only cost £6 and could be used in any of the nearby carparks for 24 hours. This is also a real bonus. There is a short cut through to the Pound Lane car park which is probably the closest one.

We will definitely stay here again as it was conveniently situated just off the main high street but nevertheless quiet - we had a room on the first floor at the back. And it was inexpensive.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ehzoyzdcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I have just spent two lovely nights at this hotel. the hotel has comfortable rooms, mine was newly reburbished. It has comfy bedding, toiletries, fluffy towels and plenty of them and was always warm. Breakfasts were lovely and plentiful and i also ate there one evening, where you get 10% discount and the meal was delicious. Staff also very lovely.

Room Tip: I was on the back and had no view but it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vittoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#8 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilgrims Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilgrims Hotel

Property: Pilgrims Hotel
Address: 18 The Friars | Kent, Canterbury CT1 2AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pilgrims Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management as of November 2015 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pilgrims Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilgrims Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing