We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient”
Review of Pilgrims Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pilgrims Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very convenient”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked up at the Pilgrims because we wanted to go to the Marlowe Theatre. We were more than pleased when we realised that they were facing one another. The pre-theatre meal was good value for money and, if you wish, you can even pre-order and pop over for your interval drinks. We had the Carlisle Room with a four-poster and it was overlooking the theatre. There is some noise during the evening, but that's a small price to pay for being 50 yards away from the High Street with its many pubs and restaurants. The staff were all really friendly and helpful, and the full English breakfast was a treat with which to start the day.

Room Tip: Carlisle Room was good size and overlooking Marlowe Theatre. Yes, there is some evening noise - but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claireandkevin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    111
    46
    17
    16
See reviews for
67
115
31
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a charming old hotel, 500 years plus, located just off the Main Street in the heart of Canterbury. The staff was very accommodating when we needed to change rooms (because of the height of the bed). The English breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tramm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Okay hotel but overpriced. Unfortunately our stay was partly ruined by a noisy music festival held just across the road outside the Marlowe Theatre, with groups of drunks hanging around and spilling into the reception area. Although this wasn't the fault of the hotel the staff forgot to mention the festival when we checked in the day before, and more importantly that the road would be closed for traffic and this caused problems bringing my elderly mother back to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

But very noisy. It's good for just a night's sleep, but you won't get to sleep in. At least, not in the room I was in! Quite small rooms too, but you're in a superb location, so you obviously have to compromise on something!
Shower in room 2 was horrible though; icy cold or scalding hot! Nothing in between. Too bad.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mentor, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This location is really convenient for visiting Canterbury. The food was excellent with a good selection. We chose to have breakfast and dinner there each day. The staff was very helpful; we actually extended our stay and they accommodated us without any issues. This is also an excellent location for day trips to Dover, Sandwich, etc. The only issue might be if you have a car as parking is off-site. The closest car park is a couple of blocks walk from the B&B and, If the weather is bad, this can be a bother. You can, however, drive directly to the inn to drop off / collect your luggage so this is an acceptable trade-off for the other advantages.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely welcoming stay. Staff friendly and attentive. Room 5. Beds comfy. Shower wonderful. Toilet made an awful noise when flushed. Food reasonably priced and plenty of it, all freshly cooked.so didn't mind waiting. Unfortunately there was no one at reception when we left, to say goodbye and thank us .
We would definitely stay here again

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Look at the picture of this hotel and where it is on Street View. It's not going to be the Ritz inside.
Narrow stairs and corridors are no surprise but the decor in this area is a bit shabby and depressing. I suspect if the lighting in the corridor was brighter you would detect that the carpet has seen better days. Downstairs restaurant and bar much better. Staff are fine and pleasant.
Bed was really soft and springy and very uncomfortable for my preferences. One of the electrical sockets seemed to have an intermittent fault. Bathroom pretty average. Shower rather weak. Handle and lock on bathroom door not working. Towels not replaced even though we clearly left them in the bath as requested.
The other room upstairs we had doesn't have a shower, just a bath under the slope of the roof. It was a very small room.
I wouldn't chose to stay here again. Wouldn't specifically avoid it either. It's just an average example if a small old hotel in its class.
It is in a good location beside the Marlowe theatre and short walk into the pedestrian zone of the city.
Car parking is a bit of a pain. Don't drive to the Hotel first as you will end up stuck just before the pedestrian zone and have to reverse. Just go straight to the Pound Street car park and then get the voucher from the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,877 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
432 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.4 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
307 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilgrims Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilgrims Hotel

Property: Pilgrims Hotel
Address: 18 The Friars | Kent, Canterbury CT1 2AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pilgrims Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management as of November 2015 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pilgrims Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilgrims Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing