We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely place”
Review of Pilgrims Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pilgrims Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2009

We booked the romantic Marlowe room with a four poster bed and had a very pleasant stay. Lovely English breakfast in the morning too! Very close to the cathedral and with a parking place for our car.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genevieve92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2008

Our room and bathroom looked grubby and there was a smell of cooking fat outside in the corridor. The stairs were difficult and our room overlooked a dirty back yard. We quickly found another hotel and were made to pay the full cost of b&b for two even though we did not eat or stay in the Pilgrims.

Disgruntled from Dorset.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank dorsetkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2008

Sorry to say, but we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and it was a quite bad experience!
* Terrible smell.
* Dirty bathroom with hairs hanging on the dirty wash-hand basin from the moment we first came in.
* They don't do vacuum-cleaning (at least not during the days we've been there).
* Terrible noise coming from outside all night long till morning.
* Terrible smell of fried eggs is waking you up at 7 a.m.
* parking is at least 500 meters away from the hotel, in a location where you have all chances to sink together with your car in the mud bath...
But must be something positive as well, right?
That is:
* great location
* kind personnel

For us this was the first and last experience with Pilgrims Hotel in Canterbury. And I relly feel very sorry about that as Canterbury is a fantastic city!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank mireluske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2008

Stayed here for 4 nights with my girlfriend and her parents. My opinion of the hotel differs slightly to my girlfriends' parents.

There are no ground floor rooms and no lift in the hotel, however when I booked I asked for an easy access room and was given a room on the first floor, close to the (fairly steep) stairs which was easy enough for my girlfriend's parents to reach. The bathroom in their room was quite small, but adequate for a holiday and the room did get rather warm at night, despite the not so warm summer we were having. Food in the restaurant was nice, with a fairly good choice on the menu, however the special didn't change during our stay. The staff were very kind and helpful to the parents, especially when one of them injured himself twice (not in the hotel). Overall my girlfriends' parents would rate this 3 out of 5.

I have rated the hotel 4 out of 5 as the location was unbeatable - literally one minute from the front door to the pedestrianised High Street. Despite being so close to the centre of the city, there was no noise outside the hotel at night and as there was restricted access to the High Street there was very little passing traffic. Secure private car parking is available a short walk away for a fee of £3 per day. Our room was a good size and nicely decorated, but did get warm, however opening the window at night sorted this. Breakfast was good - I've had better, but have also had much worse.

Would definitely stay here again - the location is worth alot and there is still so much in Canterbury that I didn't get chance to do.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cobbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2008

This hotel is in the centre of Canterbury, ideal for visiting the Cathedral. On the weekends it is very noisy in the streets outside the hotel, so ask for a room at the back.

The staff are friendly and helpful and the hotel is very clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were adequate. The one meal I had was fine.

The only real problem was that in two of the rooms, 9 & 10, which are on the top floor, the bathroom is badly designed. There is no hand-held shower on the bath and nothing to help you get out either. There is a shower attachment but you have to ask for it !

Stayed: August 2008
Thank Lulev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2007

We are booked again for a 3 day stay in December. This will be our 6th visit to the Pilgrims. Family room is good value and spacious it also has a shower above the bath now. Bed is comfortable but I would advise taking your own pillows as theirs are rather hard!!Our two boys love it here as they have a separate sleeping area. When my partner and I have been on our own and just had a double room we found it a bit cramped. Can be noisy from the street but ask for a quiet room. ( all the hotels we have stayed in that are in the city centre suffer this problem). By far the best value for money hotel in Canterbury (and we have tried a few in the centre, all more expensive). Lovely food and friendly staff. Great having secure parking just a short walk away. Will come back again and again whilst we have family living in Canterbury.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Cerilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2007

Once you find this hotel it turns out to be a lovely old Inn a bit old like me but still going well. A friendly welcome then up the narrow stairs to a nice compact comfortable room and a clean ensuite. Although compact there was enough room to move around and store your luggage. The restaurant was excellent, good menu at reasonable prices and early morning breakfast in the same was well catered . Good value for your money.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meanher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,036 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,207 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilgrims Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilgrims Hotel

Address: 18 The Friars | Kent, Canterbury CT1 2AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £63 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pilgrims Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management as of November 2015 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pilgrims Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilgrims Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing