We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pilgrims Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canterbury Hotel(Canterbury)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ABode Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Falstaff in Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Victoria Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cathedral Gate Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$101
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
105
118
49
16
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
118
49
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarlowe theatrehigh streeteggs royalecar parkfour poster bedold buildingper dayfamily roomwould stay here againno liftlots of characterlovely old hotelfull englishbreakfast includedhear everythinglocation is greata couple of minutes walk
Filter
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Travelled to Cantuerbury for a wedding and found this place after a last minute email cancellation by the first B&B i had booked (Clare Ellen's Guest House). Although most of Canterbury had been booked up that weekend due to university graduations i managed to get a room at Pilgrims Hotel. The only room left was the 'Marlowe Room' which cost £99 a night (stayed 2). A good image of the room is seen on the top left corner of their website. Apart from the four poster bed, the room size and facilites were exactly the same as their cheaper rooms, so not recommended. However the room was clean. The bathroom was a bit damp because it's carpeted (which i beleive is unhygenic) but clean. Could do with an update. As it was June it was a hot day. and the radiator in the room was on. When I asked reception to have it turned off they said it was not possible. My guess is probably due to prevent the smell of damp throughout the room. So had to sleep with the window open.

Although they call themselves a hotel, its more of a very well located B&B. The breakfast on both days was good even though they got my order wrong each time. Both continental and cooked breakfasts are offered with a good selection.

Overall the staff were friendly and helpful, I liked the place and would return.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank She_RaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

A good hotel with friendly staff and a decent breakfast. Rooms were a bit cramped but comftable - My sons was very small, Mine was overlooking the kitchen and had the extractor flue close by which was a bit annoying There was also a broken window.The location is excellent .parking is about 3mins away and you buy a permit for £5 per day

There is a serious problem with the Thermostat on the Hot water which is boiling and makes regulating the shower almost impossible.There is no warning that this is a problem.

I reported this to the Manager on our depature - 07th 09th 09. so I would hope its now been fixed.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonBoyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We stayed in Canterbury in June this year for our anniversary and chose the hotel because of it's extremely central location. We stayed for just the one night at £75 with breakfast included. That's quite a fair price tag for Canterbury which can often compete with London rates! When we arrived at 11.30 we thought we would have to leave our bags at the hotel but we were told our room was available and we were given the key straight away. The woman on reception was very nice...although the desk does not seem to be manned...so be prepared to ring the bell! She came through very quickly though and was cheerful. We liked her a lot!! One downfall - we weren't shown to our room and for a moment we did get a bit confused because the rooms are not numbered but instead have traditional Canterbury names.

Our room (in my opinion!) was great. Very very cosy...which is what Pilgrims is all about. Our room was PINK and on the first floor! Very girly and I loved it so much. We had a lovely double bed which was very comfortable. Clean towels were folded on the bed on arrival. The room had a kettle and complimentary tea/coffee/hot chocolate and biscuits. Everything was nice and clean. The rooms are quite sparse but very liveable. Perhaps a bit small for a longer stay. There was a large flat screen TV on the wall.

The bathroom was dated...as other reviews have mentioned...but there was nothing terrible about it. Everything had a homely touch...more like a B&B than a hotel. Our bathroom was spotless and we had hot water constantly. There were complimentary toiletries too.

Breakfast was GREAT!!!! The best part of the experience. The dining room is very welcoming and flooded with sunshine. We were seated and asked if we wanted a cooked breakfast. We did!!! Whilst we waited we helped ourselves to complimentary fresh juice (a few choices available) and cereal. There was also fresh chocolate croissants and rolls, as well as cereal bars and yoghurt. Coffee and tea was on offer and freshly made toast. The cooked breakfast was amazing...BEST VEGETARIAN BREAKFAST I HAVE EVER HAD!!! Veggie quorn sausages and the other usuals. My boyfriend had a meat lovers breakfast...and very much enjoyed it!! We were extremely full up for most of the day. We tend to overdo free meals hehehe.

The hotel is sooo central. Right next to the Marlowe theatre which has many great plays on during the year. Staff are lovely. Turn left out of the hotel and you will find yourself immediately in the highstreet. Zizzi's restaurant is the closest place to eat out. A lovely Italian chain and they usually have 2 for 1 vouchers on myvouchercodes.com!!!! Vouchers can be found on this website for restaurants like Ask, Strada, HA HA Bars etc. All in close walk of the hotel. Marlowes restaurant near to Zizzi's have a bring your own wine policy if you order from the main menu. We love that. If you're going out clubbing etc to the early hours then there are many fast food places on the highstreet a stones throw away...we recommend Westgate Kebabs and pizzas!! Subway is also open till 3am!! One other place I recommend strongly is WHISPERS...a small store on the right as you turn into the highstreet from Pilgrims. It sells lots of lovely soft toys, cards, and little novelties and keep sakes. My favourite shop EVER.

Id recommend the hotel for short stays and people looking for a home from home. Very cosy rather than a modern touch. Would definately stay there again!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeybaby_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Friendly staff on arrival who took our cases up to our room. Room was adequate but alas beds very narrow and were as hard as nails and pillows felt like bricks. Very little wardrobe space so kept most things in our cases. Bathroom facilities were a little antiquated and hot water tap took ages before we got any water. One morning we wanted a shower and the water was barely aired. Great cooked breakfast first morning - piping hot and cooked thoroughly but alas on the second morning it was barely edible - cold and bacon looked as if it had only wafted over the frying/grill pan so we didn't risk it on our final morning. Having said all that it was in a great location, a couple of minutes walk and you were onto the main street so from that point of view it was ideal. Also it was in a quiet location as well so although it was difficult to get comfy with the beds there was very little if any outside noise. Room also tended to be on the hot side at night but there was a fan in the room to cool it down which was a necessity. And finally overall the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdeleYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Stayed 2 nights. Hotel in a very good location for the centre of Canterbury & surrounding area. Room very clean with all facilities. Staff very friendly & made you feel welcome.Dinner & breakfast was good in quality & quantity. The hotel is in a quiet area yet only 100 yards walk from Canterbury town centre. The only downside to this hotel is that there is no 'on site' parking which meabs that you have to walk carrying your cases fo some considerable distance. Would we stay there again, yes we would, we were treated vey well.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivybridger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews