We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£75
Fully refundable before Thu, 7 Mar
Breakfast included
Expedia.com
£75
Fully refundable before Fri, 8 Mar
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Vio.com
£64
Fully refundable before Fri, 8 Mar
Breakfast included
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveller rating
142
166
59
21
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
142
166
59
21
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marlowe theatre oscar wilde high street car park four poster bed would stay here again single room family room excellent location no lift cooked breakfast sat nav historic building min walk visit canterbury city centre parking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 406 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2022 via mobile

easy walk to historic sites such as the cathedral. Downside to location is some loud voices outside the window from people leaving restaurants. Our Room was nice, very clean, with an updated bathroom and a tv. Bed was very firm. Be sure to mention accessibly issues as some rooms require climbing narrow staircases. No restaurant but does include uncooked breakfast. Many wonderful restaurants and coffee shops are within walking distance including a lovely French cafe. The bar downstairs has a limited selection. Short walk from St Radiguns car park to hotel. Very helpful staff. Would stay there again.

Room tip: Notify them when checking in that you need parking and they will add parking at St Radiguns (CT12AA) Canterbury at a discount price.
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 September 2022

Arrived for a two night stay.the girl who after serving at the bar checked us in she was friendly and helpful.We dropped our cases and went for food it isin middle of town so very convient.Room was clean shower good.We sat in the bar after and had a few drinks everything was nice.Saturday evening we decided to return back to the hotel to sit in the bar it was five to ten and the bar was empty the till was off ,I found thisout of order who closes at 10pm most disapointed we paid alot ofmoney for this stay and no bar for guests.Room was on main street and it was very noisey as weneeded the window open as was hot so didnt get much sleep

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mattybey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 July 2022 via mobile

The room was tiny but very comfortable. The hotel sits conveniently at the city centre's core. The breakfast is good but it could hBe been nice to have a little more options to choose from, but given the the price-quality ratio, it is more than reasonable. Totally recommended!

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Manfredi d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 July 2022

I've visited for short stays several times over recent years . The single rooms are very small and cramped but spotlessly clean and with all the usual facilities, a very comfortable bed and modern - if rather cramped - bathroom facilities. The passageways, too, are narrow and the access to the rooms by the winding stairs is an interesting 'helter-skelter' of a climb unsuited to some people [but the building is ancient so perhaps such features are to be expected]. Breakfast has a fair selection of cold food, excellent toast and coffee but would be very much improved with the addition of some hot, cooked dishes like they once provided. This was my only disappointment. The bar is pricey and the seating a wee bit faded. The hotel's main plus factor must certainly be the friendly, multicultured staff who are always on hand to help out with a smile and some friendly banter. In summary; small, convoluted, ancient, clean, friendly and providing all that one needs for a friendly, quiet, central stay in one of the finest cities in our land.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank oleonepace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 June 2022 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights and had a very enjoyable time at the pilgrim hotel. The staff were all very friendly, the room (we had the Oscar Wilde room) which was at the front of the hotel was spacious enough, and although there was a little bit of noise from people leaving the Marlowe theatre opposite 1 night, it didn't last long. The four poster bed was extremely comfortable, and the room and hotel was clean and whilst maybe not being the best I've ever stayed in, if I was to return to canterbury I certainly would consider coming back. It's location for the city centre was absolutely perfect, and regarding the 2 main issues that could deter people from coming here, no cooked food, i.e no cooked breakfast, now I love a cooked breakfast but knew there wasn't 1 when I booked, and to be honest the continental option was absolutely fine, and secondly, no there is no parking at the hotel but unless you want Canterbury council to knock down 400/500 year old buildings just to build a carpark then maybe coming to canterbury isn't for you, the car park we parked in (st ranganuds) was about a 5 minute walk away and again wasn't really that much of a issue, the only thing my girlfriend didn't like was the shower, it is one of those square fixed ones and she had great difficulty not getting her hair wet whilst showering, maybe shower caps could be provided, but all in all a lovely stay in a nice hotel.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rico L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews