We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Canterbury City Centre”
Review of Greyfriars Lodge

Greyfriars Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greyfriars Lodge
Ranked #66 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“In Canterbury City Centre”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here for the Valentine's weekend, as we know Canterbury really well, and wanted to go out to the Belgium restaurant nearby. Booking was done online through Superbreak, and it all went smoothly. We knew that this lodge would be within walking distance to all the local sights (Cathedral; Roman Pavement; Canterbury Tales experience; The Marlowe theatre; restuarants; shops and city wall) and so it was almost perfect for our needs. The only draw-back was the parking, but ahead of time we were advised that we would have a reduced rate permit to park in a local car park.

We arrived a little early, and sat in the breakfast room. We had a chat to the manager who was local and able to give advice on where to visit etc, if we had needed it. She offered two types of parking permit - we opted for one about £7.50 for 24 hours. There were a few carparks to choose from, one of which we were already parked in (near to The Marlowe) so this worked well for us, and we didn't have any problem with our car being left overnight there.

She explained that this was part of a hostel group, and that there were usually students staying in the lodge. Breakfast was a separate payment, and we were told in advance that there was no cooked option - this gave us the chance to consider if we wanted to go out for breakfast instead. We didn't, so we paid for the continental breakfast offered at The Lodge.

The room was above the gates to the park, and I assume this would have been the coachman's quarters back in the day. There was a pub opposite, but this didn't disturb us, as the windows were closed due to it being winter. The bed was warm and comfy, the furniture tired but adequate, and there was a shower room with wc and basin. The shower room had seen better days, but was ok for us. The toilet was very noisy, due to it being on an inside wall and being a Sanilav type loo. It grinds the 'contents' before flushing them down the pipework a bit like a plane or train loo. This is a bit of a problem if, like me, you are a light sleeper. I could hear other guests 'flushing' their toilets and it was a little noisy.

There were tea making facilities in the room, and toiletries for guest use. In the breakfast room, there was a vending machine selling drinks and chocolate / crisps (as I remember).

We had a key to come and go as we pleased, and did return to our room quite late on the Saturday night.

In the morning, we found a table and chairs easily and were shown the options for breakfast - cereals, toast - with butter and jam etc, croissants, pain au chocolat; fruit salad, yoghurts, and I think there was ham and cheese (but I don't eat these at breakfast, so can't fully remember).

Check out was easy - just handed over the key!

The only think I think would improve this hotel is for the manager to have a stock of items such as toothbrushes and combs etc. I say this as I forgot my hairbrush and have long hair.

Other than that, if you don't expect to be in the lap of luxury, then this hotel is a good place to stay to explore Canterbury.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room at the back away from the potential noise of the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familiarfeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    33
    22
    18
    12
See reviews for
26
40
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile


It is a (very) old building in the centre town (the parking is quite near, but must pay a part).
The garden is lovely!!! The staff is nice, the breakfasts good, the wifi works well.
But: too much noisy (due to the pub in front of) and not enough hot water pressure in the morning, yawn!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ubu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canterbury hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here one night for a visit to Canterbury to see the cathedral and city, and also complete our walk of the pilgrims way. We chose this place to stay as it is so nice to avoid the bland large chains

We were certainly not disappointed. The building is old and charmingly quirky

The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to ensure our visit was a great success

It makes such sense to stay somewhere so central to visit the city

In addition we had the opportunity to visit the lovely greyfriars garden which was full of spring flowers

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter on a Saturday night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clareacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreyfriarsLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Greyfriars Lodge, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Greyfriars Lodge,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and made use of the city centre location and even had time to visit the beautiful Greyfriars Gardens.

We aim to deliver excellent customer service to all our guests, and appreciate all feedback returned.

Thank you again for choosing Greyfriars Lodge for your visit to Canterbury, we hope to see you again in the future.

All the best,

The Staff of Greyfriars Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 4 nights and everything about the place was amazing, best staff, best place to be situated in the heart of the town. Many people have mentioned about the noise in the streets, i only heard people going to the bar before 11.00 pm and after that i never woke up once to any sound.
Staff are always willing to help you in any situation you may have. You can ask for special requirements for breakfast, for leaving luggage after your stay, so that you may go off to walk around the town, come back any time. You can extend your stay in the room NO EXTRA CHARGE if obviously there is not someone else booked in straight away. Your luggage can be taken in if you have a car to go and park. The walking distance from the car park is ONLY 5-10mins tops! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, thanks grey friars.

Room Tip: No problem with any rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lara r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stayed here for a week & would definitely stay here again. The building is old & located in the heart of the city centre making it ideal for tourists who want to explore. My room was very big, very comfortable & very clean. The staff are lovely & make you feel really welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. The continental breakfast is very tasty with a wide range to choose from to keep you going all day. So if you plan on going to Canterbury for business or pleasure stay here & you won't be disappointed!!

Room Tip: Try & get a room at the back if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is an old building right in the city centre with the advantages and disadvantages that come with that. I think the location off set any noise. The staff are excellent, the bed was comfortable with lots of pillows and the continental breakfast very good. The bathroom is an en-suite size. Perfectly adequate and only noisy for a few minutes after flushing the toilet. This was a lot cheaper than hotels I searched and I was concerned that it would be grim. I couldn't have been more wrong and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: The stairs are steep so if that's a problem ask for the ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRB106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Good for a short stay in the heart of Canterbury, So much to see and do with loads of eating places and the Cathedral moments away. Great shopping . The railway station (west) an easy walk away.
B+B in very old building, note no lift, spiral stairs. Interesting plumbing but all worked well and perfectly adequate.
Tea and coffee in rooms, hairdryer, helpful staff, great non cooked breakfast.
I stayed in room 4, front of house, single with large bed (bit big for size of room) noisy delivery vans.
Overall would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreyfriarsLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Greyfriars Lodge, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
We are delighted to hear that you would stay again and would like to thank you for your comprehensive review of your stay at Greyfriars Lodge, we appreciate and recognise all guest feedback both positive and negative and work closely with our customers to ensure a comfortable and personable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pilgrims Hotel
Pilgrims Hotel
#10 of 16 in Canterbury
291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,848 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hawks Lane Lodge
Hawks Lane Lodge
#40 of 75 in Canterbury
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bijou Abode - Chaucer House
Bijou Abode - Chaucer House
#55 of 75 in Canterbury
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greyfriars Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greyfriars Lodge

Property: Greyfriars Lodge
Address: 6 Stour Street, Canterbury CT1 2NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Hotel Class:3 star — Greyfriars Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Greyfriars Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing