We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an amazing way to get away from it all”
Review of Hambrook Marshes

Hambrook Marshes
Ranked #46 of 110 things to do in Canterbury
Attraction details
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“an amazing way to get away from it all”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

a lovely way to get away from the stresses of life you can walk for miles and miles, and it seems you are in the middle of no where, I love walking here with my music on just watch out for the cyclists!
it seems like a secret get away is really amazing and will definitely be visiting again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An amazing place that virtually comes into the city centre”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

It's amazing to run or cycle by the river and over the boardwalk, you are so close to the city centre but you wouldn't know it. Cross the railway tracks and it links in to miles of fields and footpaths beyond.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nicknepal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“A superb riverside walk”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

A lovely walk along the river from Canterbury out into the countryside. It is also a shared cycle path. There is some railway history too as you can climb the old embankment of the now-dismantled Elham Valley line, below which is a very-well carved picnic bench, and further along under the road bridge were the stars...the highland cattle. They were fenced off so could be viewed safely! Beyond here were some riverside homes on the opposite bank, nice to be a bit nosy admiring their gardens. I went as far as the lakes beyond Thanington which is about halfway to Chartham beyond which there some sheep roaming freely. There is also a nice 'boardwalk' path route over some ponds which I took on the way back; it had rained a lot prior and this part of the path was very wet.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank BayB0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very pleasant walk”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

A very nice walking path along the Stour River, We took our time walking from Caterbury to Chartham, had a lunch in the pub there and took the train back to Canterbury. Very pleasant walk with information boards describing the history and nature. Watched punts carrying visitors part way up the river, cows in the fields, dogs being exercised, marshes and bridges. Got a lot of nice photos. Good way to spend a few hours on a quiet afternoon.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BobCors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It's beautiful”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

I love it here, I go cycling a lot and volunteered on the conservation team. It's a great peaceful area by the river just outside canterbury.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hambrook Marshes also viewed

 

Been to Hambrook Marshes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing