We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great base for exploring Kent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Iffin Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iffin Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 81 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A great base for exploring Kent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We received a warm welcome on arrival, and enjoyed a home cooked meal on the first evening. Everyone was extremely friendly and most helpful. The breakfasts were excellent, with many of the ingredients locally sourced. Our room was well appointed and clean. The farm is located in open countryside, a short drive from Canterbury. We spent a very enjoyable week exploring Kent by car. A great place to relax, we cannot recommend it highly enough.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    59
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
141
200
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deanshanger, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

A friendly introduction, and a lovely breakfast provided in the house by the young staff. Iffin is in a pleasant setting, and less than 10 minutes out from Canterbury (traffic permitting!) and indeed well placed for the rest of Kent due to the proximity of the train station.

We stayed in the converted barn and liked the modern wet room, underfloor heating and comfy bed.

Nevertheless, we felt there could have been more attention to finishing touches. We thought the living room was quite sparse and could do with some homely touches; e.g. pictures on the wall, a lamp by the sofa for more cosy lighting so you don't always have to use the main lights, a foot stool for putting your feet up after a hard days' hiking, a coffee table by the sofa, and a hat/coat stand- we needed somewhere to hang things after a wet day out!

From a maintenance point of view; the toilet roll holder wasn't useable, there were a few gaps in the units in the kitchen which left bare spaces, and a leak under the sink with a washing up bowl to catch the drips! Also it was a shame our wood-burning stove wood was left out in the rain, so we were unable to use it.

On the whole we always love self-catering barns as a base for holidays, and really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SparePebble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Beautifully decorated, spacious rooms. Nothing is too much trouble for Sarah, the owner. She genuinely wants your stay to be as comfortable as possible. Set in a beautiful part of the country, yet it is only 10 min drive into the centre of Canterbury, with its restaurants and night life. Highly recommend this B &B!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerbra001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The kindness of the owners and their warm welcome were wonderful, as were the cleanliness of the room and the quality of the breakfast. We received an email upfront with a detailed description of how to get to the farm and the location is ideally located just a few minutes drive from Canterbury, in a calm and green environment. Delightful. We only stayed one night and wished we had more time to discover the area. We will certainly be back,as our daughter is now a student at University of Kent.

Room Tip: When we booked, the hotel was already almost full and the only room left was the one with the jacuzz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauribee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed at Iffin for two nights at the end of a week-long stay in Kent. The welcome was very friendly and warm. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated and everywhere is spotlessly clean. The garden is huge and very lovely. Breakfast was a leisurely treat. Iffin is in an ideal situation...it feels like the depths of the country, but is actually quite close to Canterbury and the 'Park and Ride' (from Morrisons car park) is excellent. We would not hesitate to recommend this wonderful place.

Room Tip: We were in the pink room. It is a large spacious twin bedded room with two windows overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen-m-haynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We have stayed twice at Iffin Farmhouse both on our way to France through the channel Tunnel. Both times we stayed in the room on the outside of the house which was ideal for us as we have a dog and it allowed us to leave early in the morning to catch the train. They have a great garden for the dog to run around in and this is the reason we booked with them, they are also not far from the channel tunnel. We had a great dinner in Canterbury and really enjoyed our overnight stay. Will be returning next year on our trip to France.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 645RebeccaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were a group of 4 & stayed as an 80th birthday treat for my father. As he has walking difficulties we chose the disabled conversion which was lovely & big with all the special needs for someone wheelchair bound. Easy to get to from the parking area, underfloor heating made it very cosy. Good selection of kitchen appliances & utensils.
My partner & I slept on a sofa bed in the living area which although low to the floor was comfortable. Parents slept in the bedroom & commented that they slept well.
The breakfast was brought to us from the main farmhouse, cooked & kept warm in holdall bags. It was excellent & all the local produce used was appreciated. You must try the bacon.

Room Tip: A definite choice especially if you are wheelchair bound & would like a change of scenery in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.8 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
2.1 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
2.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
2.2 mi away
House of Agnes
House of Agnes
#2 of 81 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iffin Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iffin Farmhouse

Property: Iffin Farmhouse
Address: Iffin Farmhouse Iffin Lane, Canterbury CT4 7BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iffin Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Four star venue with a five star service. Iffin Farmhouse is a family run business offering luxury accommodation in the heart of the Kent countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Iffin Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing