We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (517)
Filter reviews
517 results
Traveller rating
428
73
9
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
428
73
9
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pink room summer house the main house apple juice peaceful location late arrival wet room superb breakfast wanted somewhere walk in shower relaxing stay longer stay minute drive canterbury centre friendly welcome comfortable bed each morning
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 517 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2017

5th time at Iffin Farmhouse and again requested to be in The Barn or "Rabbit Room" as we call it in our family! Nothing is too much when preparing your room and we feel it is so peaceful and relaxing. The extra kitchen and lounge space makes such a difference and we feel is better than having two separate rooms. The double bed is one of the best I've ever slept in and that cushion!! Came back with daughter to drop off at Kent University and this is such a convenient stop for us. This time went decided to go to Whitstable for a day out and we feel we've had a proper mini break. Food is delicious with unusual choices (Eggs Benedict is a real favourite of mine as are the Maple pancakes) and also traditional full English.
If you want good value for money at a B&B which offers a special treat rather than just a functional one then Iffin Farmhouse will tick every box. All the animals are a bonus and this time we had our mini Dachshund with us who was not troubled at all by the cows or horses which were clearly much bigger than he was.
We already have 2 more trips planned with family members and look forward to coming back to Canterbury later in the year.

Room tip: All the barn rooms are more spacious for families
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cowlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Owner at Iffin Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Lovely to see you all again, including your little four-legged friend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

A quiet place in lovely surroundings. We would have made use of the gardens if time had permitted.
Beautiful room, very clean and a lovely guest tray was provided.
Excellent breakfast.
Sarah and David so friendly, welcoming and interesting to talk to. Nothing too much trouble for the team who helped them.
Would recommend a stay.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timandjeanhowlett10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Owner at Iffin Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Having lived in the area for many decades we have gained, both some useful and some quirky, information about Canterbury and it's surrounding area which we very much enjoy imparting to interested guests.

Thank you for spending time reviewing Iffin Farmhouse. It is so useful to guests to get an experienced view of what is on offer here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

We stayed here on our way driving back home to Sweden. We chosed the place based on its rural location close to Canterbury, the excellent reviews and not the least being dog friendly. All was beyond expectation. Beautiful location and very friendly atmosphere, excellent food and comfortable rooms.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpersson2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Owner at Iffin Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Thank you for your kind review.

Yes, buildings, animals and occupants all have character! Come and visit again we would be delighted to see you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Tucked away in the countryside, within easy reach of Canterbury, this is an ideal place to stay for a break. Great food and accommodation. Friendly owners and staff. Our stay in the studio apartment was at the top of a small field, still close to the main farmhouse, which added another layer of peace and tranquility. Recommended!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Owner at Iffin Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

The Orchard Pickers Cottage/studio apartment is a lovely hideaway - small but has everything one would need!

Thank you for recommending Iffin Farmhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

So we booked this place as had to travel from Ipswich to a funeral. We struggled to find somewhere that was nearby and would take dogs and that didn't appear to be a complete hole from pics and reviews. Saw this little number and did appropriate research on trip advisor and appeared all in order so gave them a call. Having stayed in complete dive's before because apparently if I own a dog this is acceptable, I always feel the need to explain that I have a dog but still have a clean home and expect a clean room too, I was reassured by the owner of their standards and I apparently was not the first to express this concern. We stayed in "The Barn" which exceeded our expectations; clean, light, airy but also cosy. Comfortable king size bed and nice bathroom. There was a lovely kitchen which we decided we would utilise, or rather I would! Went to Sainsbury's and bought a couple of steaks and a bottle of Malbec and hey presto! I felt gutted we weren't staying longer as it's in a beautiful setting with a couple of random bulls in the field and a mini pony?! This place would be lovely to come and chill out for a couple of days with a good book, the beautiful garden would be lovely to sit in with a G & T! The dog is free to roam the gardens and there was grass by the door so we could let said mutt out before bed.
The owners here were lovely, welcoming and friendly, the breakfast was amazing and there is lots of choice.
So to make this a balanced review I have to mention the only negative which is the walls are like paper so if like us you have a not so considerate family next door that apparently likes to slam every door and drawer or anything available then it doesn't make make for a peaceful evening!
This isn't somewhere that has much within walking distance and it's dark country lanes and fields so best to eat on site which you can do or grab a cab if you want a drink.
I would definitely come back here and would definitely recommend. We paid £151 for accommodation, dog and breakfast.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank P00hBear1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Owner at Iffin Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Sorry for the reason for your visit to us.

As animal lovers ourselves we quite agree that a four legged companion doesn't imply second rate accommodation and it certainly doesn't staying at Iffin Farmhouse. Although, as we appreciate some guests have allergies we do have some animal free rooms (as long as outside doors are kept shut there won't be a danger of a chicken in the bed!).

I am sorry that you found your "neighbours" rather inconsiderate. We have a certain level of expectation that all guests be respectful of others, just as they would when entertaining visitors in their own homes.

Please do return and enjoy a G&T in the garden and if you wish to have a change we offer Local brews from our honesty bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews