We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel Ever”
Review of Kipps

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kipps
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 July 2011

This was by far the best hostel I have ever stayed in. Not only was the staff incredible, but the room was clean and comfortable. Upon arrival, there was a chocolate on my pillow along with map of Canterbury and recommended restaurants. The staff was very nice, even carrying my bag up the stairs. There was an adorable garden in the back and a wonderful breakfast in the morning. Wish I could have stayed here longer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piglover217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Kipps
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2011

I spent five nights at Kipps while visiting friends and family in Canterbury. I really enjoyed being there and meeting people from all over the world. You can join in the social activities if you want to, but there is no pressure.

Despite the fact that my single room was not much larger than the bed, there was plenty of shelf and storage space and it was very comfortable. There is an 11 pm noise curfew, which was appreciated, though some of the kids were noisy early in the morning.

The garden was lovely, and the freely available computer in the lounge was a godsend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomorecamping4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

I stayed at KiPPS for a few days due to being in between houses. I had a really nice stay. The facilities were very good and the staff were really nice. If passing through Canterbury I would recommend staying here. Or if moving to Canterbury it is a really good place to stay while you look for permanent accomodation.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilipHadland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

I've stayed in far worse Hotels than this backpackers hostel, and paid a lot more too. Old but not tired, beautifully clean and polished and lots of public space. I stayed in a single room with toilet and shower down the hall. Although small it had everything I needed , including working TV, tea and coffee, soap and a sink with a mirror over. Barbeque in the garden sounded fun but I was shattered after moving daughter into halls at Canterbury Christchurch Uni which was a 15 min walk away - thank you Kipps for the Map ! I'll no doubt be back to Canterbury over the next 3 years and will definately come back to stay here - much better than an impersonal budget hotel. Oh and they had restaurant recommendations in room , went to Cafe Boho in High Street and we were delighted with food and service

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mampty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Spent one night at the Kipps in July. The staff was outstandingly friendly and helpful, the room was clean, and the breakfast was wonderful. Would recommend the hostel to anyone who's going to Canterbury.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IngridMOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Doubtless, so far the Kipps Hostel is the best hostel I've never been to. The rooms are really comfortable and clean. The kitchen is well equipped and clean as well. The "night events" organised by the hostel are usually well-organised and enjoyable. The staff is kind, helpful and ready to deal with any particular request.
I had my laptop with me, so I found it really nice that in all the hostel there's free wi-fi access.
So, if you're going to stay in Canterbury I highly recommend the Kipps Hostel as your accomodation.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nuvola92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We stayed at the Kipps one night in June with our little child. We booked a room with 4 beds no ensuite not to disturb others hosts (the baby sometimes awake during the night). When we arrived, they realised ther were only three of us and gave a complimentary breakfast the morning after. We've been accomodated - since ther where no many hosts that night, in a room with 6 beds ensuite. We have also been able to have our cloths washed and dryed. Very near to the center of Canterbury, outside there are some car spaces along the street. It was Sunday so we didn't pay for the night and until 12a.m. on Monday. To strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreVerona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.6 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,956 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central
0.4 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kipps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kipps

Address: 40 Nunnery Fields, Canterbury CT1 3JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Canterbury
Price Range: £23 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kipps 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kipps Canterbury, a Friendly Backpackers Hostel in Canterbury, Kent We are situated in a quiet residential area around 10 minutes- walk to the famous Canterbury Cathedral, Historic Town and Canterbury’s other main attractions. Set in a beautiful 130 year old town house, we offer a wide range of budget accommodation from dormitory rooms to single and double/twin rooms, - suitable for both groups and individuals. Our Friendly staff will welcome you to our award winning backpackers, including a Rose Award for recognition to services from Visit England Tourist Board and No.1 Rated on Trip Advisor. We offer excellent facilities at Kipps Canterbury, including :- A large fully equipped kitchen Free Fibre Wi-Fi throughout the hostel Large Countryside garden, with Pool Table/BBQs (Summertime) Large lounge with Digital TV/ PC/ Vending Machines/ Xbox and Wii Large Dining area situated in our conservatory with views of the garden. Buffet Continental Breakfast. Fully heated and hot water 24/7 Laundry and drying facilities (Chargeable) Free left luggage facility Dormitories – En-suite/ Free Lockers/ Towels & Bedding Private Rooms – Tea & Coffee Facilities/ Digital TV/ Towels/ Desk and Wash Basin. Kipps Canterbury is within easy walking distance of the City Centre, Canterbury East Train Station and the Main Bus station. Kipps Canterbury is an ideal base to explore the Kent Countryside known as the 'Garden of England'. Seaside resorts of Whitstable and Herne Bay are within easy cycling distance and for the more adventurous by foot.. A Short bus/ train ride will also take you to attractions like Dover Castle, Leeds Castle and to the Kent Coast We look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful backpackers and to our Historic City Please read hostel conditions. Photo ID is required on Check in (inc UK/EUCitizens) OPENING HOURS Check in Time: 2pm-Midnight. Please let us know if you are arriving after 2pm KITCHEN – Our Self Catering Kitchen is open daily from 08:00am-10:00am/ 02:00pm-10:00pm. At other times the kitchen is closed to allow us to carry out general cleaning and maintenance Dormitory Rooms – Rooms are closed daily from 11am-2pm, to allow us to carry out daily housekeeping and maintenance. The Lounge is open for you to relax in during these times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Kipps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing