We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
157
54
10
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
54
10
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfantastic hosteldecent towelsvending machine for drinkscommon roomsmall extra chargedorm roomquiet residential streetcity centreshower and toiletbudget accommodationnice loungewell equipped kitchenlovely gardenfilter coffeetoiletries providedbus stationclean rooms
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

I was in Canterbury, for an one day job, but I prefers to stay in and travel back the next day, I DID NOT REGRET it at all, the staff was friendly all the areas were spotless and the room (28) was perfect. If they decide to get private toilets they will have a 4 star hotel easily. Congratulations for the great job

Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
Thank Παναγιώτης Μ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kippscanterbury, Manager at Kipps, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Hi
Thank you for your nice comments and 5 star rating.
Glad you enjoyed your stay

Regards
Kipps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

I have stayed at Kipps several times previously but not for a few years prior to my recent trip. I found it similar to previous visits but that many small changes have been made adding up to a positive improvement. The house remains much the same but my single room was of a high standard and with all facilities except en suite, but remembering this is essentially a backpackers hostel and not a hotel this is only to be expected. The room had a very comfortable bed, tea/coffee making facilities, television, a sink and even a small safe for valuables. Aside from single rooms there are twin and family size rooms, plus shared dormitories available, all at very reasonable prices. There is a kitchen available for the use of guests, I believe also facilities to do one's laundry, though I'm not sure about that, plus there's a lounge with TV and internet. Continental breakfast is available to order if required but tea/coffee is free in any case. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the location of the premises is only a few minutes walk from the train/bus stations and the town centre. I have no hesitation in recommending Kipps Canterbury to all wishing an economical and comfortable place to stay. Kipps also operate another hostel in Brighton and based on my latest experience in the Canterbury one I certainly will be visiting this other hostel later this year, as soon as the weather makes a seaside visit worthwhile.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oriondruid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kippscanterbury, Manager at Kipps, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Hi
Thank you for your great review, and detailed decription

Glad you enjoyed your stay at Kipps Canterbury

Hopefully see you again Soon
Kipps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

I stayed here with my eight year old child and we were very impressed. We were given the room at the top with twin beds and three bunk beds. The room had an en suite and was immaculate. The shower was amazing. The room had bags of quirky character and because it is an old building I found it quite chilly but because they had various heaters in the room it wasn't as cold as it could've been. Take a jumper if you stay in the top room. The facilities were top rate for budget accommodation. Tea and coffee facilities and nice touches like toothbrush and showergel . Downstairs was a well equpped kitchen and a nice lounge with a vending machine for drinks and food. staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough. I definitely would stay again and highly recommend.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Gina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kippscanterbury, Manager at Kipps, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Hi
Thank you for your lovely review and rating.

We look forward to welcoming you back, and dont worry about wearing a jumper in the top room :), we installed new radiators in the room a few days ago, so nice and hot and cosy now. See you again soon

Kipps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

The hostel is an easy walk from town. There was a locker for each bed, but you won't fit a large pack in it. There were kitchen facilities, just beware that they are not open 24/7. It is close to the train station and it is in a quiet area. There aren't many options for staying in Canterbury but Kipps Hostel is still a good choice if you visit.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JeffroNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kippscanterbury, Manager at Kipps, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Thank you for your comments and rating and for choosing Kipps Canterbury

Enjoy your travels
Kipps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

Lovely Hostel, made me feel very at home. Superb facilities, clean rooms and convenient location, very near to the town centre and bus station. I definitely will stay here again when I visit Canterbury again!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FoodReviewerSGUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kippscanterbury, Manager at Kipps, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Thank you so much for rating and your nice comments

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and will stay with us again :)
Happy New Year !

Kipps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews