We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If your looking for a B/B in canterbury book this one!”
Review of Canterbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canterbury Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If your looking for a B/B in canterbury book this one!”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

A very enjoyable stay. 15 mins walk into Canterbury. Well maintained B/B with car park. Breakfast was very nice and the young girls that served it were very polite and friendly as were all the staff. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtour-007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    101
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
65
124
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed 2 nights in a twin room in July 2013. Having chosen the hotel more or less at random, I was very pleased with the experience I had. Our room was well designed, and had a bathtub as well as a shower. The beds were very comfy. Breakfast was good, and the pool (though small)was a real luxury as we were in Canterbury in the middle of a heatwave. We swam every morning before breakfast and more or less had the pool to ourselves.

The staff were really friendly and service was good. Sadly I didn't use the bar as we mostly went out in the town centre, but again the bar looked pleasant. There's not much entertainment in the immediate area, except a curry house and a chip shop but the town centre is nearby. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk into Canterbury town centre, and about 5 mins from Canterbury East train station. As two women walking back from town, the way was well lit and felt safe, though late at night we gave the subway/pedestrian underpass under the main road into town a miss and crossed by the road instead.

Just past Canterbury East station, there is a bus stop where you can get a bus (number 4) directly to Herne Bay and Whitstable in around 30-40 minutes, so I found that quite handy. The main bus station is only another 10 minutes away anyway, and I recommend the £6 day ticket that allows you unlimited bus travel all over Kent. The Thanington Hotel was a really good base for exploring the wider county.

I don't bother very often to post reviews on Tripadvisor unless I've had a terrible experience, but having stumbled on the Thanington Hotel by accident, I really recommend a visit if you're in Canterbury. Can't promise a heatwave tho!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linsay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stay in Canterbury on a regular basis visiting relatives. We have always been disappointed with choice hotels in the area which in the past have not been up to scratch.
Finally we have found a hotel to return to.
Staff were good, rooms were very satisfactory and breakfast good.
This hotel does not serve meals other than breakfast but this is not a problem for Canterbury has many restaurants and choices.
The hotel also has on site parking which is a bonus in Canterbury.
We will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MidlandsCritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is a very pleasant hotel with friendly, helpful staff. It's located near Canterbury East station, whilst the fast trains from London only call at Canterbury West, so you'll need to take a cab if arriving by train. Canterbury itself is very compact so ideal to explore on foot.

We stayed one night in a family room with a double and a single bed. The room was a decent size, with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, and the beds were comfortable. The only thing missing was any sort of towel rail - with three people in a room, you really need somewhere to put the towels after showering.

We were told that the chef who cooked our vegetarian breakfast was a trainee; well, that chef did an excellent job because the eggs were perfectly timed and the mushrooms and tomatoes were properly cooked and hot (unlike many hotels which serve them barely warm). Overall, an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flintmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The hotel was just right for our one night stopover; it was only a short walk to the centre of Canterbury. The room was very acceptable and the staff friendly. The breakfast was good with lots of choice. Although there are cheaper options, we would choose to stay here when next we are in the Canterbury area.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CookRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My wife and I spent eight nights in this bed & breakfast hotel while exploring the sights of East Kent. The hotel is 10 to 15 minutes’ walk (or a four-minute bus ride) from the city centre. The hotel’s rooms have been refurbished since it came under new ownership in September 2012, so you can ignore the few “poor” and “terrible” reviews from 2012 and earlier. We found the young staff to be friendly, helpful and efficient. Breakfast was excellent, and my daily vegetarian cooked meal included veggie sausages even though they were not listed on the menu. The car park is secure at night but unfortunately cannot always accommodate every visitor’s car. However, there is free street parking in the road behind the hotel if necessary.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrAndrewHaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Just stayed here with my husband and Mother-in-Law, very nice, clean and comfortable, staff were very friendly and hard working, Bar well stocked and breakfast nice. The pool was lovely and it was a lovely way to spend a Sunday afternoon reading on the loungers after a busy working week.

Room Tip: If you have limited mobility make sure you ask for a ground floor room, the staff were only too happ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starrystella64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.6 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
1,921 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
434 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#9 of 16 in Canterbury
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Hotel

Property: Canterbury Hotel
Address: 140 Wincheap | Kent, Canterbury CT1 3RY, England (Formerly Thanington Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Canterbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canterbury Hotel is a short three minute walk to the City walls, approximately seven minutes to the High Street, Canterbury Cathedral and all the main attractions of this beautiful city. Combining Georgian elegance with excellent service, Canterbury Hotel offers a variety of en-suite rooms, maintained to an exceptionally high standard. Facilities include an indoor heated swimming pool, a comfortable bar offering an extensive range of spirits, beer, malt whiskies and fine wines. The beautiful courtyard garden provides a relaxing oasis. There is free wifi in all rooms and a secure car park. Breakfast is included in the tariff. Canterbury Hotel, as well as being a short walk to city centre and train station is ideally located for the Channel Tunnel and Port of Dover for those leaving or just entering the country. In addition to a lovely private indoor heated swimming pool there is a fully staffed spa offering a range of massages and facial treatments including anti-ageing and Thalgo treatments, manicures and pedicures, waxing and tinting. Canterbury Hotel has some of the very best facilities anywhere in the city of Canterbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Canterbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing