We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, pleasant, good value”
Review of Canterbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canterbury Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Good: very helpful staff; quality room furniture and fittings; helpful staff,excellent pool; great value. Less good: our room was uncomfortably hot, maybe because we were directly over the pool and we could only tackle this by opening the window to a noisy road; significant walk to the city centre; strange, awkward and unnecessarily complex arrangements for "booking" breakfast and getting in and out after hours.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyMcS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
There are newer reviews for Canterbury Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

I booked into the Canterbury Hotel for 1 night as was in the area on business. The room was perfect, very spacious and met all the requirements i.e comfy bed, WIFI etc. I managed to get booked into the spa for a hot stone massage after a busy day out which was VERY relaxing and used the indoor pool and sauna. The breakfast was delicious - full English. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Overall a very pleasant experience and I would recommend!

Room Tip: I had room number 14 which had a 4 poster bed and a super roll top bath!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stayed here for one night on 11th March. I picked the hotel based on the reviews on this site and I was not disappointed.
My room was a standard room and it was lovely with plenty of space and a proper bathroom - with great little extras - a dental kit; proper bath robes; an ironing board and iron; a room safe. My coat hangers were all wooden and there were plenty of them!

The staff were all very polite and really helpful.


It is only a 15 minute walk in to the heart of Canterbury where there is a huge choice of restaurants.

The only note of caution I would advise is that although there is parking at the hotel, it is not a huge car park so you need to be confident of your parking ability and it really isn't suitable for vans.

However I would happily stay here again and would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrightonCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

A group of mummies booked a spa evening the service was fantastic the treatments were brilliant. The staff were so friendly and welcoming. We were all very relaxed and can't wait to book again. The range of treatments and the value for money is great. Really recommended for relaxing session of me time

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is a perfectly pleasant hotel a short walking distance from Canterbury City Centre. Our room was clean and well presented with a comfortable bed. Overall a fairly decent 3 star hotel, with a few minor details to improve, such as a dead flower arrangement on reception, and coat hangers which fell apart. However, the full English breakfast has to be the worst I have ever tasted, which was a shame. Spotlessly clean throughout with friendly and attentive staff.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda D, Owner at Canterbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you Tony for your review. I'm very glad that in the main, you both enjoyed your stay at Canterbury Hotel. I really don't understand what happened with your breakfast, as we are constantly praised for the quality of our food, and strive to keep the standard high at all times. I can only apologise that, on that day, it was not to your liking. Although if you had told a member of staff that you were unhappy during your breakfast, they would have brought you a replacement immediately.

It was also unfortunate that you happened to be checking out just as I was swapping the older flowers for the new arrangement!

I do hope that in spite of this, you both liked the beautiful roses in your room, which I personally chose for you from our local florist, which I was a bit sad to see that you had not mentioned here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We booked at the last minute via an efficient evening receptionist and stayed here for two nights in February. We thought the hotel was very good value - room was large enough for two on a short stay and included two comfortable armchairs and all amenities such as a bottle of water (many expensive hotels are mean with that) and biscuits and drinks. Breakfast was varied, generous and well-cooked. The staff were efficient and friendly. The hotel is 10 - 15 minutes walk from the cathedral but as the centre of town is pedestrianised, we didn't find this to be a problem. Would definitely stay here again and delighted to recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

After a dreadful stay at a previous hotel the night before (the fallstaff which we booked out early) we found this one on the internet and called them to see if they had a room available. The young man who answered the phone was very helpful and found us a room which was the four poster room. We were not disappointed this is a lovely room with a big bathroom very comfortable bed and nice size room, very clean and nice decor. I also had a facial at the spa which was lovely and very reasonably priced. All the staff are very friendly and attentive. The breakfast was good and again the staff very friendly and efficient. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glennzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.6 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,955 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Hotel

Address: 140 Wincheap | Kent, Canterbury CT1 3RY, England (Formerly Thanington Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £89 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canterbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canterbury Hotel is a short three minute walk to the City walls, approximately seven minutes to the High Street, Canterbury Cathedral and all the main attractions of this beautiful city. Combining Georgian elegance with excellent service, Canterbury Hotel offers a variety of en-suite rooms, maintained to an exceptionally high standard. Facilities include an indoor heated swimming pool, a comfortable bar offering an extensive range of spirits, beer, malt whiskies and fine wines. The beautiful courtyard garden provides a relaxing oasis. There is free wifi in all rooms and a secure car park. Breakfast is included in the tariff. Canterbury Hotel, as well as being a short walk to city centre and train station is ideally located for the Channel Tunnel and Port of Dover for those leaving or just entering the country. In addition to a lovely private indoor heated swimming pool there is a fully staffed spa offering a range of massages and facial treatments including anti-ageing and Thalgo treatments, manicures and pedicures, waxing and tinting. Canterbury Hotel has some of the very best facilities anywhere in the city of Canterbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Canterbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing