We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great accidental find...!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canterbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Canterbury Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
york
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a great accidental find...!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Only upon returning home did we find out that this hotel is rated number one out of the Canterbury hotels listed on Trip Advisor...and we are not surprised! From the moment we cycled up to the front door one evening to enquire if they had a room for the night we knew we would love it as the two members of staff on duty at reception were so happy and helpful and interested in us as guests. Once they had locked the bikes away in a secure building for us we were shown to our room and told about the nearby restaurants they recommended (complete with map) The room was thoughtfully equipped with robes, ample tea and coffee supplies (and hot chocolate for those fussy folk like me who don't drink tea and coffee) a comprehensive and detailed room info pack, and a very comfy superking bed. The bathroom looked like it had been refurbished in recent times and was spotlessly clean and very contemporary with a lovely rainforest shower over the bath. A good selection of toiletries was provided, including a complimentary toothbrush kit. The towels were large and fluffy, just as they should be! Alas we didn't have the opportunity to experience the pool and spa area but walking past it looked as squeaky clean and well looked after as the rest of the hotel. Breakfast was another pleasant experience with a selection of fresh fruits, yogurts, and freshly baked and still warm pastries. We opted for a full English and that is always the key to the final appraisal as they served up "real" sausages (not the ones that look like some undesirable part of a dog's anatomy!) proper bacon (not the watery stuff which is covered in a white yuk!) poached eggs cooked to perfection, and fresh button mushrooms full of flavour. So 10/10 for an excellent breakfast.
The location of the hotel is handy for the train station and for walking into the town centre.
Staying at The Canterbury Hotel was money well spent!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nettynoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    98
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
62
117
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed one night, two couples. Tastefully decorated room, comfortable bed, recently renovated. Perfect breakfast, accompanied by an unforgettable singer-songwriter performance from the receptionist. Just great!
Very helpful staff. Simple but adequate pool. Ideal located for visiting Canterbury. Private parking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel twice during a business trip and I am booked in for my next visit. It is spotlessly clean (and I don't say that about many hotels), plenty of tea, coffee, biscuits etc. good strong power shower and the bathrobes are a nice touch. The jewel in the crown of this hotel is the reception staff. They are so incredibly helpful and genuinely want you to have a good stay. They are all very good, but I do have to mention Sam who is an absolute star! Check out the pool and sauna. Only small but perfect after a hard day. Spa facilities which I didn't have time to try looked and smelt lovely! Plenty of choice at breakfast, although you do have to order the night before which takes a bit of getting used to. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Heron11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

What a delightful find. Friendly staff, beautiful clean rooms first class toiletries , Sauna, swimming pool treatments can't ask for more not to mention the sumptous breakfast. I wish it had a restaurant for evening meal . The bar is beautiful and the furnishings very tastefulI keep going back.

Room Tip: All rooms to high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaton Sluice, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Excellent. I use a lot of hotels for work and this is the best I can remember. Breakfast was spot-on. The way eggs are cooked tells you a lot about restaurant quality, they were perfect. Dry cured bacon, properly fried mushrooms, perfect toast. Simple things cooked to perfection.

Paul, Seaton Sluice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank murleypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

What a delightful refit. They have gone the extra mile with robes and beautiful spa toileteries. The young lady on reception was extremely helpful and breakfast was beaufifully cooked. The swimming pool which has also been refurbished and I had to myself. Wonderful. I decided to try the Spa and had a very professional facial. The whole stay was very reasonable and I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Canterbury Hotel over Easter and had a fantastic stay. Our family room was large and spacious and with free wifi, our teenage daughter was more than happy! Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly and attentive staff. Canterbury centre is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel, and the addition of a car parking space , was a pleasant bonus to our stay. We will definitely return and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.6 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Hotel

Property: Canterbury Hotel
Address: 140 Wincheap | Kent, Canterbury CT1 3RY, England (Formerly Thanington Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Canterbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining Georgian elegance with excellent service, Canterbury Hotel offers a variety of 15 en-suite rooms. Facilities include an indoor heated swimming pool, bar offering extensive range of malt whiskies. Beautiful courtyard garden providing an oasis to relax in. Free wifi in all rooms and a secure car park. Breakfast and VAT is included in the tariff. Short walk to city centre and train station; ideally located for the Channel Tunnel and Port of Dover. Fantastic spa which will be available from November 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Canterbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing