We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem!”
Review of Canterbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canterbury Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A Gem!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We spent one night here during a 12 day trip to England and France. I wish we had spent all 12 nights here. The staff was outstanding, and the rooms were spacious and clean. The bed was by far the most comfortable on on our trip. The hotel is small and quaint, but the service is par for a Four Seasons. The price for four adults in two rooms was 200 pounds. Very reasonable. Breakfast that was included was also the best we had on our trip. We will return to England someday and spend more time in Canterbury, and definitely stay at the Canterbury Hotel. It's a short walk to the cathedral and other attractions. The Deep Blue Sea restaurant down the street served a very nice fish and chip meal.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kern C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    101
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
65
123
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Arrived early Friday afternoon with a party of 4. Our room was not quite ready so we went off to explore the Old Cathedral in Canterbury and enjoy the many pubs/cafes along the way..Had a bite to eat at the local Fish and Chips conveniently located just down the street. When we finally returned for our check-in much later in the evening we were enthusiastically greeted by Alex, a wonderful young man who could have not been more gracious and welcoming. Only to find out during our conversation that he had been there all day and returned for a double shift after a last minute sick call by a colleague. I am sure he was well worn out but you would never know it by his big smile and friendly disposition. We found the rooms extremely comfortable and immaculate. Breakfast was pleasant surprise with their offering of cooked to order eggs and all the accompaniments(sausage, bacon, toast etc. If there were any down sides it would be not having a swimsuit to enjoy the lovely pool or the bit of a walk into the old town. We were lucky with the beautiful weather so in the end-the walk was manageable. We would definitely stay there again.. Thank You Alex and staff for a lovely weekend!

Room Tip: The rooms were newly decorated in a pleasing palett and were immaculate! Also enjoyed the free onsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaLee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Only upon returning home did we find out that this hotel is rated number one out of the Canterbury hotels listed on Trip Advisor...and we are not surprised! From the moment we cycled up to the front door one evening to enquire if they had a room for the night we knew we would love it as the two members of staff on duty at reception were so happy and helpful and interested in us as guests. Once they had locked the bikes away in a secure building for us we were shown to our room and told about the nearby restaurants they recommended (complete with map) The room was thoughtfully equipped with robes, ample tea and coffee supplies (and hot chocolate for those fussy folk like me who don't drink tea and coffee) a comprehensive and detailed room info pack, and a very comfy superking bed. The bathroom looked like it had been refurbished in recent times and was spotlessly clean and very contemporary with a lovely rainforest shower over the bath. A good selection of toiletries was provided, including a complimentary toothbrush kit. The towels were large and fluffy, just as they should be! Alas we didn't have the opportunity to experience the pool and spa area but walking past it looked as squeaky clean and well looked after as the rest of the hotel. Breakfast was another pleasant experience with a selection of fresh fruits, yogurts, and freshly baked and still warm pastries. We opted for a full English and that is always the key to the final appraisal as they served up "real" sausages (not the ones that look like some undesirable part of a dog's anatomy!) proper bacon (not the watery stuff which is covered in a white yuk!) poached eggs cooked to perfection, and fresh button mushrooms full of flavour. So 10/10 for an excellent breakfast.
The location of the hotel is handy for the train station and for walking into the town centre.
Staying at The Canterbury Hotel was money well spent!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nettynoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed one night, two couples. Tastefully decorated room, comfortable bed, recently renovated. Perfect breakfast, accompanied by an unforgettable singer-songwriter performance from the receptionist. Just great!
Very helpful staff. Simple but adequate pool. Ideal located for visiting Canterbury. Private parking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel twice during a business trip and I am booked in for my next visit. It is spotlessly clean (and I don't say that about many hotels), plenty of tea, coffee, biscuits etc. good strong power shower and the bathrobes are a nice touch. The jewel in the crown of this hotel is the reception staff. They are so incredibly helpful and genuinely want you to have a good stay. They are all very good, but I do have to mention Sam who is an absolute star! Check out the pool and sauna. Only small but perfect after a hard day. Spa facilities which I didn't have time to try looked and smelt lovely! Plenty of choice at breakfast, although you do have to order the night before which takes a bit of getting used to. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Heron11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

What a delightful find. Friendly staff, beautiful clean rooms first class toiletries , Sauna, swimming pool treatments can't ask for more not to mention the sumptous breakfast. I wish it had a restaurant for evening meal . The bar is beautiful and the furnishings very tastefulI keep going back.

Room Tip: All rooms to high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaton Sluice, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Excellent. I use a lot of hotels for work and this is the best I can remember. Breakfast was spot-on. The way eggs are cooked tells you a lot about restaurant quality, they were perfect. Dry cured bacon, properly fried mushrooms, perfect toast. Simple things cooked to perfection.

Paul, Seaton Sluice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank murleypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.6 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,876 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#10 of 16 in Canterbury
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Hotel

Property: Canterbury Hotel
Address: 140 Wincheap | Kent, Canterbury CT1 3RY, England (Formerly Thanington Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Canterbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canterbury Hotel is a short three minute walk to the City walls, approximately seven minutes to the High Street, Canterbury Cathedral and all the main attractions of this beautiful city. Combining Georgian elegance with excellent service, Canterbury Hotel offers a variety of en-suite rooms, maintained to an exceptionally high standard. Facilities include an indoor heated swimming pool, a comfortable bar offering an extensive range of spirits, beer, malt whiskies and fine wines. The beautiful courtyard garden provides a relaxing oasis. There is free wifi in all rooms and a secure car park. Breakfast is included in the tariff. Canterbury Hotel, as well as being a short walk to city centre and train station is ideally located for the Channel Tunnel and Port of Dover for those leaving or just entering the country. In addition to a lovely private indoor heated swimming pool there is a fully staffed spa offering a range of massages and facial treatments including anti-ageing and Thalgo treatments, manicures and pedicures, waxing and tinting. Canterbury Hotel has some of the very best facilities anywhere in the city of Canterbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Canterbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing