We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great find, friendly, comfortable and efficient”
Review of Canterbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Canterbury Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great find, friendly, comfortable and efficient”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We only spent one night in this hotel en route back to Luxembourg, but we were very pleased indeed with our choice. Staff were very friendly in all parts of the hotel, the room (albeit a little small) was very well equipped and decorated. Off-street parking was most welcome. And the breakfast was excellent, well cooked and presented with friendly efficient service. We plan to return to Canterbury to have more time to view the Cathedral, and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex R, Public Relations Manager at Canterbury Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear John,

Thank you very much for your kind review, and sincerely hope we do see you again if you’re in the area! We pride ourselves on our customer relations here, so to receive such praise for our staff here is truly pleasing.

Hopefully next time you’ll be able to stay with us for more than one night, as it’s difficult to fully enjoy everything about Canterbury in just one day.

Kind regards,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    100
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
63
119
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, only 5/10 minute walk to the city centre!

Would recommend to family's or couples looking to stay in Canterbury.

Free parking only issue is spaces are limited!

Breakfast was lovely, shame the order had to be placed the night before.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex R, Public Relations Manager at Canterbury Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Jonathan,

Thank you very much for your kind review, we are very glad to receive all feedback from our guests, especially the positive!

Regarding your comment about the breakfast; we make sure to let our guests know that whatever you choose on your menu can be altered in the morning if you would like to do so, but we like to take a rough guide so that our chef doesn’t undercook or overcook and either waste food, or not make enough! Understandably some people don’t like committing to a choice before the meal, which is why it is perfectly okay to change your mind in the morning.

Hopefully we will see you again in the future and thank you again for leaving your positive review.

Kind regards,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The best way to assess a hotel is the attitude of the staff - and you will be stunned if opting for the Canterbury Hotel. In all of my travels both at home and abroad - i have yet to find such an accommodating, friendly and courteous staff.
On the whole, the hotel is comfortable - with spacious rooms, decent toilet facilities and a freshly cooked breakfast to your liking. It is definitely worth the cost, and i am sure you will not regret opting for it!
The only slight drawback is that you need to take a 15 minute walk to the high street - but if walking is something you enjoy, then i dont suppose you'll have any problems:)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex R, Public Relations Manager at Canterbury Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Dr Ali,

Thank you very much for leaving us such a positive review, especially regarding your comments about our staff. We believe that having excellent Customer Service is the staple of any successful hotel, so to hear such praising comments is very pleasing, and the staff will be delighted to hear them.

We sincerely hope to see you again in the future, if the prospect of the 15 minute walk doesn’t keep you away!

Kind regards,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I have stayed in hotels all over the world from budget to extravagant five-star and this hotel is one of the nicest I have stayed in. The rooms are pleasant and comfortable, the Spa treatments are excellent and reasonably priced, and the staff fall over themselves to be helpful. I will definitely be going there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHolyHaddok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex R, Public Relations Manager at Canterbury Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for leaving us such a kind review, we are thrilled that you felt so strongly about our hotel! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your spa treatments too, and hope we do see you again.

Kind regards,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuss
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Wonderfully fitted rooms, very friendly staff and a lovely little indoor pool with sauna to relax after a busy day of sightseeing. Within walking distance to the center of Canterbury. Free parking. Best booking yet!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex R, Public Relations Manager at Canterbury Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Ruth,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very glad that you were able to utilise the pool and sauna to relax after a busy day, and that you were so happy with your stay with us!

We hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Chose this hotel on the basis of previous reviews and was not disappointed. All the facilities are first class and rooms, although compact, are beautifully fitted and appear to have been recently refurbished. With the singular exception of noisy seagulls, we experienced an excellent stay with good breakfast and a swim in the small pool to cool down following hot days in Canterbury.

All in all, to be thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the rear rather than the main building as this faces a busy main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We spent 2 nights at the hotel, and were extremely pleased with every facet! The room had all amenities, but was fairly small. Recently redecorated (throughout the entire hotel) the bathroom was spotless and well stocked with potions and lotions, and abundant fluffy towels. There is a very decent indoor heated pool available, and the cosy bar area meets all needs, particularly if you like a vast selection of malt whiskey! A full-English breakfast is included in the room rate, and looked delicious (we stayed "Continental"). Staff are all young and eager to please and gave excellent advice on restaurants in town. The hotel has a private car park, and maximum of 13 rooms, so book early! It is situated only a 10 minute walk into the heart of Canterbury, yet still relatively calm.
I am a tough person to please, and this hotel comes heartily recommended!

Room Tip: New wing handy for pool and sauna
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RocketmanGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.6 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.3 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Hotel

Property: Canterbury Hotel
Address: 140 Wincheap | Kent, Canterbury CT1 3RY, England (Formerly Thanington Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Canterbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canterbury Hotel is a short three minute walk to the City walls, approximately seven minutes to the High Street, Canterbury Cathedral and all the main attractions of this beautiful city. Combining Georgian elegance with excellent service, Canterbury Hotel offers a variety of en-suite rooms, maintained to an exceptionally high standard. Facilities include an indoor heated swimming pool, a comfortable bar offering an extensive range of spirits, beer, malt whiskies and fine wines. The beautiful courtyard garden provides a relaxing oasis. There is free wifi in all rooms and a secure car park. Breakfast is included in the tariff. Canterbury Hotel, as well as being a short walk to city centre and train station is ideally located for the Channel Tunnel and Port of Dover for those leaving or just entering the country. In addition to a lovely private indoor heated swimming pool there is a fully staffed spa offering a range of massages and facial treatments including anti-ageing and Thalgo treatments, manicures and pedicures, waxing and tinting. Canterbury Hotel has some of the very best facilities anywhere in the city of Canterbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Canterbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing