We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay at The Granary”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Granary

The Granary
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Granary
Open Plan Living Room  View 1 Open Plan Living Room  View 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
The Granary
Open Plan Living Room  View 1
Open Plan Living Room  View 2
Open Plan Living Room  View 3
Family Shower Room
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Single Bedroom
Family Bathroom
The Patio
View from The Old Alms House
Looking towards Wingham over open counrtyside
Wingham Church a short walk away
Wingham
Wingham- the local shopping centre
Canterbury Cathedral
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Canterbury, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
KevAnne19...
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay at The Granary”
Reviewed 8 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The Granary is tucked away down a quiet lane in Wingham Well. From our first contact with owner James B, he couldn't have been more helpful. He met us at the property to show us around, then met us again at the end of the stay to return the deposit. The property itself is very nice - rustic from the outside but up to date with all mod cons on the inside. Seeing the rabbits on the lawn each evening we got back became part of the holiday! Everything we needed was provided, and it was a convenient location for Canterbury and much of Kent. We would recommend The Granary to anyone wanting a quiet holiday in Kent.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great base for getting around Kent”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed at the granary for just over 1 week while taking a short holiday in Kent with the children. It is a great peaceful location which being fairly central means you can get to most places in a short amount of time.

The granary is perfectly adequate for the four of us however it is a bit compact so if you want lots of space you may want to consider other properties.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7Hornets
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great”
Reviewed 7 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Lovely area. We had a peaceful holiday. Good value for the money. Good base for visiting the area & road links.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Lovely House”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We spent 17 days at The Cranary, it is cosy house in a quiet area with a big garden. There is just enough space for four adults and two children. It is clean. Canterbury and other towns or beaches (e.g. Dover, Sandwich, Broadstairs, Ramsgate, Ashford) are easy to reach by car.
We enjoyed our stay there and can recommend the accommodation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe S
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little cottage in a secluded position”
Reviewed 6 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This cottage has a very well equipped kitchen and even contained many little extras such as soap, washing up liquids and cleaning products. A clean property.
It is truly a country retreat,when sitting in the garden which captures the sun all day one can listen to the birds.
Only slight problem which James warns us about was if 5 people tried to shower one after the other the hot water wasn't sufficient. There is a boost switch but the real answer was to spread out getting up times.
The owner James was very helpful and welcoming and I would definitely recommend this property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12Travell...
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxation and fun”
Reviewed 25 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed for 4 days and it was an absolute bliss. The property is equipped with everything needed for the kitchen, bathroom and living room. There is TV and excellent wifi if needed. We did not need TV but wifi was useful. The area is very peaceful and it provided excellent exploring opportunities of the local area. Lots of different routes and nature is just stunning. Local people are friendly and the owner is just fantastic - very friendly and helpful. There is lots of parking space and outside area is spacious. I will definitely come back again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position
Liked least: Just a bit draughty
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Nov 2016
Dear Sue, Thank you for your review which I received via Trip Advisor yesterday I am always heartened to receive constructive and positive reviews such as yours.
Thanks for your comments regarding the French doors as I was unaware of any problem regarding draughts as I had not had comments previously.
This morning I checked the doors and all the draught stripping was in place and the doors fitted tightly to the frame apart from the bottom of the leading door which has moved perhaps 1 or 2mm. away from the frame It was exceptionally windy the weekend you stayed (storm Angus) but nevertheless I shall get the carpenter in to check the problem and hopefully solve it. Kind regards, James Bamford.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing