We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salt - CLOSED

Salt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$43
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Local/seasonal/affordable
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Five star service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Interesting place, with a unique and changing menu. I tried the scallops, braised beef and side salad. Although I wouldn't get the scallops again, I would definitely order the braised beef. Very tender and flavorful. The atmosphere is charming, and I simply can't give enough stars for how helpful and friendly the staff was.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JDP8787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    102
    20
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“something different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Had looked at "Salt" on trip advisor and we had appointment in Canterbury so decided we would have an early evening meal there. Good job that we booked as by the time we left it was full and people were being turned away, W loved it! the "English Tapas" were just up our street. We had five dishes from the board to share and we were full. it was amazing value as well. the five dishes plus two glasses of wine , two tonic waters and a coffee were about £45! We will be back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pambKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
433 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“A lovely find, quite different and worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Enjoyable little restaurant with emphasis on food ! Limited menu but delicious small plates and varying food sort of tapas style .
We enjoyed everything we ordered from scallops to goats cheese balls, beetroot flat bread and dressed crab. We followed with wild boar meatballs and slow cooked pork, all great just would have liked slightly larger portions as we were sharing between four. The bill slowly tots up but well worth a visit ! :)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kentcritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chocolate Fondant par excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Coming from a country where chocolate is not just a tasty treat, but more of a culture I can say with confidence that their fondant , satisfyingly crusty on the outside with a heart of divine melted chocolate, is phenominal. I thought I'd start this review with the dessert because in my experience, a lot of restaurants can get lazy about that part of the menu which is sad because it often leaves what was otherwise a great meal with a slightly less then satisfying finishing touch...but not Salt, their attention to detail is outstanding. One can tell that each dish, be it a starter, main or dessert has been carefully thought out and crafted into a unique masterpiece by their chefs. The portions are just right and leave you full without letting you overdose on any one particular flavour. It is hard to have a favourite when each dish is so unique, there was nothing that I didn't like and eating there felt like there was a culinary adventure taking place in my mouth that I quite frankly did not expect of British quisine. I highly recommend this place for any situation and for anyone of any age, the ambience is fun and yet comfortable and you definitely get a good bang for your buck.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank varunf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fresh and original kentish delicacies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We were looking for somewhere to eat on a Tuesday evening, expecting most restaurants to be relatively empty when we strolled past Salt. a small candlelit hideaway just off the beaten track from the Cathedral. The restaurant was buzzing are we were very lucky to nab the last available table. The dishes - small plates - are each roughly the size of a starter and sharing a selection transforms a meal out into a shared social experience. Each was made from seasonal, locally sourced ingredients and seasoned subtly and originally. Being vegetarians we were not stuck for choice and decided on some beetroot and cheddar flatbreads, a tomato and winchester salad, some crushed new potatoes, a summer salad and a chocolate fondant with home made honeycomb and kentish blackberries to finish. The staff are gems and we even got a chance to chat to the lovely chef Emma who generously sent us out some truffle mash to try on the house. If you are a lover of food looking for an original, chilled and yet exciting eating experience I couldn't recommend trying this restaurant more.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Billiegeorgec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing