We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO FRILLS BUT GREAT FUN AND HUGELY GOOD VALUE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
University Of Kent - Rutherford College
Reviewed 22 August 2014

You know what you are getting into when booking University Halls of Residence accommodation, i.e. it is a bit Spartan. However, this is great if that is what you are after; I had a happy stay here and will very happily return. The room is basic with shared facilities, but it is all extremely clean, the campus is attractive, the corridors in my experience were quiet and the showers etc always available. Breakfast is certainly plentiful, though expect no gourmet experiences. However, a really fun base from which to explore the Kent coast - a plus is that there are good walking and cycling opportunities right outside the accommodation..... Reception staff are very helpful, there is excellent free Wifi and free parking. As long as you are happy with a basic room and shared facilities, what's not to like??

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank shughes1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7)
There are newer reviews for University Of Kent - Rutherford College
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed here as I had a car, and wanted a place with parking. The dining room looks over the Canterbury Cathedral. The b and b breakfast was nice - however, when I asked about a lift to get my luggage back up to the top level when I was leaving, I was informed by one of the kitchen staff that it wasn't a hotel. No kidding, that had escaped me. Of course I knew that. However, I presume being a college, they might have catered for those in wheelchairs - ie would have a lift. It would be good to ask about how to get your luggage to other floors via lifts. I requested and was given a really quiet room. I didn't seen anyone else on my floor/wing, although I know there were others there. There was a little kitchenette - but you need your own cutlery and plate. The room was spacious and mine had a little hand basin, which was nice. The toilet and shower are separate and very dated. But it is cheap, so be kind. The porters are really helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. Also ask how you get your luggage to your floor without using the stairs.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shell123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The college is only open as an hotel during Easter and Summer recesses, but they offer B&B facilities that are very competitvely priced. I had a single room with shared bathroom, but the rooms do not have handbasins. There is a single toilet and two shower units between about 6 rooms and I was always able to use the facilities when needed.
Very clean place and staff are very helpful at Reception. Towels and soap are provided. Being a university there are always others around to ask if you need help.
Breakfast was great and just what you would expect for a 'Full English' with plenty to eat and well presented. B&B guests are to one side of the main dining hall and have their own servery.
The location is perfect and the grounds are very nice to wander round. On a nice day you can walk down into Canterbury in about 20 mins.
Top Tip! Take your bike if you can. The college is at the top of a hill and the run down into Canterbury is nearly all on purpose built pathways. The ride back is more energitic and I struggled a bit on my small folding bike, but you can always have a shower when you get back.
Would I stay there again? YES!

Room Tip: Any room is okay. I was in E2E-1
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSpeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Liie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.4 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,957 reviews
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk
1.4 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
449 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
738 reviews
0.4 mi away
University of Kent - Keynes College
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Of Kent - Rutherford College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Of Kent - Rutherford College

Address: Rutherford College Darwin Road, Canterbury CT2 7NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Canterbury
Price Range: £53 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — University Of Kent - Rutherford College 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your University Of Kent - Rutherford College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing