We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, but definitely not great.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
University of Kent - Keynes College
Keele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good value, but definitely not great.”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I booked myself in at Keynes College so as to attend a conference the day after at Keynes College. So geographically, it was super convenient! Although the room had everything that I needed (including an en-suite), it way tiny; think university dorm because that is exactly what it was and nothing else... I seriously would not have wanted to stay there for longer than two nights. I would hate to know how much students have to pay for that room during term time. I am sure it is extortionate. Anyway, the breakfast way pretty good. A bit scant on bread and condiments, but the warm options were excellent. The reception staff was also very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SammyhKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    11
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
15
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
rosario
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My room was small but it was equipped with everything I needed. Excellent use of space - shelves, a desk by a window facing the beautiful campus, a wardrobe, the necessary lights...
Apart from free wifi everywhere, you also have access to computers for free in computer rooms, public telephones in the building, laundry, kitchen, supermarket, everything you need - even a cinema. Very good breakfast in a lovely place. Great location, up the hill overviewing the Cathedral and surrounded by beautiful parks and forests. A bus leaves you right in the city centre in case you don´t feel like walking. Perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 300maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We booked a double room for two nights - Fri and Sat night, about a month before our arrival. Got late to the college had difficulty finding reception. Receptionist was friendly enough but the maps were terrible - wehad difficulty finding the building which had our room. Room was clean with tea/coffee making facilities in room. Not enough pillows (three pillows not four) and coffee packets enough for three servings not four. The shower was clean and good water flow.

Major downside: It was a rainy night and we woke up to a leaking window - flooded the windowsill and items on the desk! We did mention this in the morning when we left.

The restaurant - Dolche Vita on campus where we got out breakfasts was ok. Buffet style with cold and warm. The first morning - Saturday, was quiet and efficient. Sunday morning, the restaurant was crowded and they ran out of coffee, o juice, serviettes etc. Long queues for hot breakfast etc...oh dear...so I kept reminding myself this is a university campus not a hotel...and the prices were reasonable. Nevertheless, I think next time I'll look somewhere else..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Pleasantly surprised by the room, super clean and felt brand new, security great. Lots of parking, good regular bus service to Canterbury and Whitstable so good despite not being in town it's OK. If you want somewhere to lay your head at a reasonable price it’s a really good choice. Downsides, 10am check-out is mean and breakfast was disorganised and I found myself scratching around for food that was erratically put out.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giant56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We found the accommodation good value. The room was clean and spacious & the bed comfortable. It was a nice touch that they left packs of toiletries with the towels. Bathroom small but functional. We will happily stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingteacher175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We were at a conference in Keynes college and elected to stay at the campus accommodation. Not something we usually do but in this case we were pleased we did.
The accommodation was very good. Clean with all the required facilities.
The bathroom seemed to be like a pod that had been placed in the room. It was spacious practical, modern and clean.
Breakfast was in a large canteen style area and was quite substantial.
All the staff were very helpful and pleasant.
Bus 4E takes you up and down into the town and goes past every 15 minutes at the longest and about 5 minutes other times.
The only issue we found was that there was not a secure place to leave bags on check out day but at the price we paid per room there is really no reason to complain.
As a side note, there is nowhere in Canterbury to leave bags...at all, not even the railway station according to the information centre.
We also did the canal tour with the young guys in Canterbury and enjoyed it immensely. The guys tell a good tale and do it very well.
My rating of this hotel as excellent is due to its value for money, this outweighs all other features and is rated within its hotel grading only

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viv f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.3 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.1 mi away
University Of Kent - Turing College
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University of Kent - Keynes College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University of Kent - Keynes College

Property: University of Kent - Keynes College
Address: University Road | University of Kent, Canterbury CT2 7FH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University of Kent - Keynes College 2.5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by 450 acres of parkland with a labyrinth and nature trails, this 4 star guest accommodation offers en-suite single and double rooms with tea and coffee making facilities and free WiFi. Towels and complimentary toiletries are provided at Keynes College, University of Kent. Communal laundry facilities and an iron and ironing board are available. The University campus has a number of cafes, bars and bistros along with a state of the art cinema and theatre. Breakfast is served in the Dolce Vita Restaurant every morning between 07:45 and 09:30. Other leisure facilities include tennis and squash courts, a dance studio and fitness suite. The campus shop is open 7 days a week and sells essential items and Fairtrade products. Canterbury Cathedral, Canterbury Castle and the Roman Museum are 30 minutes' walk from the campus and regular bus services to the coast and city centre run every 10-15 minutes. Canterbury West Train Station is 20 minutes' walk away, with a high-speed service to London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your University of Kent - Keynes College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing