We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and DIY breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Black Horse Inn
Ranked #45 of 74 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Definitely not recommendable.

On the upside:
- rooms fairly clean and recently refurbished
- small garden area (well, with a bumblebee nest in the floor)

On the downside:
- guests have to prepare breakfasts by themselves (no frying pan, almost no cooking equipment) and clean kitchen afterwards
- shower very very very small (i am normal size, 6 ft tall)
- no staff available after check in; even at checkout time no one to return keys to
- window to road couldnt be closed
- overpriced (110 per night for cathedral view room)
- half of the building under refurbishment
- rooms very simple / basic (no TV, no desk lamps, no decoration)

Our advice: Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The_Londoner_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for The Black Horse Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sven I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Elvira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Vicen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank emidudu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Fashiongirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.3 mi away
Pilgrims Hotel
Pilgrims Hotel
#9 of 16 in Canterbury
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,957 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
286 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White House
The White House
#6 of 74 in Canterbury
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hawks Lane Lodge
Hawks Lane Lodge
#38 of 74 in Canterbury
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Address: And 12 11 Orchard Street, Canterbury CT2 8AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range: £66 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caroline welcomes you to the Black Horse Inn Canterbury. We are a small friendly bed and breakfast located in the heart of Canterbury, Kent. We offer quality accommodation with en-suite facilities and serve yourself continental breakfast. We have a total of four rooms, all unique in their own way. All have en-suite power showers and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing