We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, close to train station and town center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Black Horse Inn
Ranked #45 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“clean, close to train station and town center”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I disagree with the previous comment and would thoroughly recommend staying at The Black Horse Inn Canterbury . It is what it says it is. We found our small double room and the ensuite bathroom very new and clean, and of a perfectly adequate size. The room had a lovely flat screen TV and very hot power shower! If there is any restoration in progress in other parts of the building we were not aware of it. Our breakfast was self service, and full of a variety of fresh foods. Everything we required was supplied, even though as our flight was delayed and we arrived late our warm welcome couldn't have been better, we walked from Canterbury West Station with our suitcases which were stored for us until we left. We were able to walk to the city center within a few minutes but we didn't have to put up with any noise or trouble in Orchard Street.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anonymous694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    27
    18
    10
    11
See reviews for
16
43
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I totally agree with the previous comments. This property can only be described as a cramped hostel whilst it is undergoing renovation. Having to share such a small kitchen is not acceptable for the price paid. Only saving grace is that it is a short walk from the town centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank themillsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Owner at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2015
To the Mills Family,

I'm compelled to say that The Black Horse is in no way a hostel, and I'm sure were you to stay in a real hostel you'd soon notice the difference!

I'm sorry The Black Horse wasn't quite as you'd have liked, however we do try to provide a enjoyable stay for all our guests. Many guests like our self service breakfast, and although we no longer have a kitchen for guests, many guests liked having a kitchen they could use.

Canterbury is a popular destination and is sometimes considered a slightly expensive city to stay in. Our prices in comparison to others in the city with comparable services, are lower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canterbury hotels

Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The bedroom we were given was very very small just enough room to walk around the bed and the bathroom was even smaller, impossible to get ready in comfort for a night out. Very poor value for what was essentially a posh hostel. There was noise from the kitchen next to our room during the evening as other guests prepared meals and the DIY breakfast which was in a dark and uninviting room had "fishy" cooking smells lingering from the night before, we were totally put off preparing our own breakfast and staying a moment longer so we had breakfast in town. All in all a very disappointing and expensive place to stay. We did however have an excellent meal at Abode in the centre of town so I would definitely recommend it there if you go to Canterbury!

Room Tip: Canterbury can be expensive and it pays to shop around for a good hotel or accommodation, we booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Owner at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2015
To Karen

I'm sorry you didn't find your stay at the Black Horse quite as you wanted, if you were to stay at a real hostel you would realise The Black Horse is nothing like a hostel.

If you decide to choose one of the two cheaper small double rooms we have, despite the fact that all requirements in the rooms are provided to make your stay enjoyable, that is what you get - a small double room, the standard size double rooms are much larger, but slightly dearer. The building is very old and is listed and essentially composed of two Georgian town terraced cottages.

Most guests compliment us on our breakfasts so its a shame you didn't stay to find out what our breakfast is like, as I'm sure you would have enjoyed it.

As you went out to a restaurant then any noise other guests may have made earlier in the evening would not have disturbed you nor prevented you from having a good night's sleep, as the bed is are very good and unlike the very centre of the town, which is always very noisey especially on Friday and Saturday nights, we are on the residential edge of the centre, and the street is very quiet, most of our guests are very happy that it is so quiet.

The reception is fully lit throughout the night as are the main dining room and hallway. I don't know what the smell you mention was. I'm surprised that you didn't appreciate the card and the roses and the celebratory bottle I got especially for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

When we arrived outside the Black Horse we were greeted by a charming lady and given a welcome cup of tea in the garden underneath the sunshade after our long journey from Nottingham. We were shown to a lovely big room furnished with attractive antiques and huge bed with lovely lace around it. We watched the baby George on a huge TV with a refreshing cup of freshly ground coffee and biscuits. The bed was very comfortable and the atmosphere quite and peaceful; not the usual drunkards I'm used to where I live in Nottingham.

The next morning we ate homemade muesli, croissants and cooked organic scrambled eggs which the landlady told me were from her own hens. The bathroom was immaculate. We had a lovely weekend break and really enjoyed Canterbury, especially the Cathedral and the Marlowe Theatre, and we are looking forward to a return visit soon. Happy to recommend this B&B, especially at £60 p/n (Monday).

Room Tip: We stayed in the front room, spacious and well furnished, but had a peek up in the Cathedral-view ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JCJM9393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Definitely not recommendable.

On the upside:
- rooms fairly clean and recently refurbished
- small garden area (well, with a bumblebee nest in the floor)

On the downside:
- guests have to prepare breakfasts by themselves (no frying pan, almost no cooking equipment) and clean kitchen afterwards
- shower very very very small (i am normal size, 6 ft tall)
- no staff available after check in; even at checkout time no one to return keys to
- window to road couldnt be closed
- overpriced (110 per night for cathedral view room)
- half of the building under refurbishment
- rooms very simple / basic (no TV, no desk lamps, no decoration)

Our advice: Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Londoner_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.4 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,875 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pilgrims Hotel
Pilgrims Hotel
#9 of 16 in Canterbury
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hawks Lane Lodge
Hawks Lane Lodge
#40 of 75 in Canterbury
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Property: The Black Horse Inn
Address: And 12 11 Orchard Street, Canterbury CT2 8AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caroline welcomes you to the Black Horse Inn Canterbury. We are a small friendly bed and breakfast located in the heart of Canterbury, Kent. We offer quality accommodation with en-suite facilities and serve yourself continental breakfast. We have a total of four rooms, all unique in their own way. All have en-suite power showers and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing