We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A safe bet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed for a Saturday night. The location is ideal, a short walk from the town centre but far enough away to not suffer from any late night partying noise, at least our room at the rear was quiet. The room was spotless, all very new with a nice comfortable bed, then we pulled back the curtains ... The "view" was of what looked like the air con plant, about 3 feet from the window. On the plus side the weather was awful and we couldn't see it! Room 114. Could have done with more towels, only a hand towel and small bath towel for 2 people. The tap water had a tainted taste, which could have been the new kettle or just needed the tap running for a while. Apart from these minor gripes the hotel is a good deal considering it's location but you do need to add the cost of breakfast and parking. I would stay again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 2canoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

576 - 582 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed at this Travelodge in Canterbury last week whilst attending our daughters graduation.
The location is ideal for the city, minutes from the cathedral and shopping areas.
I have not always been a big fan of Travelodge BUT on this occasion I could not fault the reception staff who were very friendly and helpful. The morning of our stay we missed breakfast by 20 minutes but the chef couldn’t have been more helpful and provided breakfast for the 3 of us. My only quibble was that you pay £7.65 regardless of what you eat hence as I only wanted 2 slices of toast and marmalade it was expensive.
The room was warm, very clean, if a bit on the small side, but we were only there for a night. WC and shower were fine as were the tea making facilities and TV etc. The bed, sometimes a let down in the past, was very comfortable.
My only other issue is charging £7.50 to park, charging anything at all grinds with me hence this amount is excessive.
Overall fine and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank croydeorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed here when i was over at a graduation ceremony at the local cathedral. It really is lovely hotel,Its old but done up to lovely standards.

Staff where all lovely and everything that was asked was not a hassle for them. I had two rooms booked(Double beds),I got a room on the back of the hotel which was lovely and quite, My parents got a room at the front which was slightly noisier with the traffic/sirens and people coming home late at night and shouting. Beds where extremely comfortable. You would not wanna get out of them. Credit goes to the cleaners as well as they leave the room looking like new when they clean them. Is in a excellent location for walking up the main street.

We opted to have the breakfast each morning where cereal,Orange and tea,Toast,Sausages/Bacon/Eggs where all available and everything was filling to set you on your way for the day.

The days i was there,The wifi didn't work,As i have an international phone this would have been handy to have but only started working until the last day(Was there 3 days). The free wifi in the bar/restaurant is nice to have. My advice is pay for the wi-fi when you arrive and not prepay as it might not work.

The bar here is not very good tho. It hasn't to much to offer and if your looking for a good selection than this bar isn't for you.

Overall,Had a lovely stay and would stay again if i was over.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter,if you rent a car a permit will be giving to you at reception for use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Of-my-chest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed one night for my nephew's graduation and this is a first class Travelodge. 100 yards to the shops and nightlight. 300 yards to the Uni and a little bit more to the Cathedral. This hotel could not be in a better position.

Immaculately clean room, in a quiet area of the hotel (Room 9) with new comfy mattress and pillows on the bed.

Special thanks to Jamie on reception for quickly rectifying a small booking in issue with aplomb and politeness. Great stay

Room Tip: Not Room 7 which my sister had which is very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling4Toffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

24-hour bar, comfortable bed, 4 pillows, spacious, perfectly clean, desk. Mind you, no lift. Just 2 or 3 stories, anyway. Cross the street and you're in the city centre. Local map, friendly staff. Just great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Energy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is the 2nd time I have stayed at this hotel, great location but VERY noisy on both occasions. Comfortable room which had recently been re-decorated and excellent comfortable bed (although no twin rooms available).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in early December 2013. First impressions from the publicity photo had me expecting something grim, but once I arrived my views changed. Well lit reception area with very helpful staff. Room was large, well equipped and a nice sized bathroom/shower room. I was in the older part of the building with a wonderful view of Canterbury Cathedral. Stair way was a bit steep and winding in this part, but I'm assuming anyone with mobility difficulties will ask before booking. The hotel itself is just South east of the town centre over the ring road, but no problems with traffic noise, and only a few minutes walk into the centre.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
764 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
469 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
2,073 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central

Address: 63 Ivy Lane, Canterbury CT1 1TU, England (Formerly Swallow Chaucer Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £50 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel built around attractive old House & retaining Regency appearance & atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central Hotel Canterbury
Swallow Chaucer Canterbury
Hotel Swallow Chaucer
Chaucer Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing