We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights for a break. Very well located at the city centre. Room small but clean and comfortable bed. Not many parking lot available but it's alright for us as we arrived early. Only paid £5 for 24 hours. Good value for money. Staff very friendly, helpful and polite. Stayed at 2nd floor, please that ground floor door to all rooms can only be access with key card for safety. Dragon city Chinese takeaway is only 2 minutes walk. Will definitely stay there again or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean888285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

The bed was exceptionally comfortable as we're the pillows. So much so that we asked for and were given the name of the manufacturer. The staff were really helpful. The room was really clean and neat. All in all really impressed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Jacqui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Good value for money. The room was small but had everything we needed. 1 min walk into town, very helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast was ok but no veggie alternatives in the hot food, cereal, yoghurt, croissants, toast etc was all nice and well stocked.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Saskia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed one night for a family celebration. Hotel is in a really good position v close to the City centre. We had two rooms, one a disabled room. Both were basic but comfortable and clean. The breakfast was good value and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The only two small issues were parking, we were ok because we had a disabled bay, but the fear of loosing this meant we couldn't use our car that night. The car parks were really full. The other issue was that we had a ground floor room at the front and my wife was disturbed by some latecomers knocking on the window to gain access to the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here as we visited Canterbury for our wedding anniversary and had a pleasant stay. Whilst our room was very compact, it spotlessly clean and had a nice comfy bed. The hotel is in a great location and is in a very short walking distance from local attractions, bars and restaurants. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hayley and Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Excellent location and comfortable accommodation . Great value for one's money with a bonus of free parking on site. The staff were friendly and helpful and we will definitely use Travelodges again in the future

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Excellent location minutes from Cathedral City. Friendly staff and good size rooms. Food on site was good although not a wonderful choice. Bar open all night if required. We were disabled parking so okay but if the car park is full then it could be a problem.


  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
737 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk
0.3 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,955 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central

Address: 63 Ivy Lane, Canterbury CT1 1TU, England (Formerly Swallow Chaucer Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £50 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel built around attractive old House & retaining Regency appearance & atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central Hotel Canterbury
Swallow Chaucer Canterbury
Hotel Swallow Chaucer
Chaucer Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing