We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value,great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Cheap and clean and a very good location,staff excellent,what more do you need.
A good tip is pay for the car park at reception,its cheaper than phoning the number in the car park and doing it over the phone

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cassie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

This travelodge is absolutely brilliant for the price you pay. Clean, spacious rooms with all essential facilities. Tea and coffee making facilities in room. Very helpful and friendly staff. Only about a 5 minute walk from city centre. Has a car park on site too. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claytonbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel offers cheap but very basic accommodation. My room on the ground floor had no natural daylight, and was dark an uninviting. The bed was comfy, but I got little sleep because of the noise from the seagulls looking for food in the rubbish bins. The breakfast was ok, limited choice and the juice was orange coloured liquid, certainly no fruit in there. One measly bottle of shampoo, and no hairdryer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights during graduation week. This is the 2nd time at this hotel. excellent value for money. Staff are very welcoming and always pleasant. The family room we were in was spotless, as was the bathroom. Had breakfast on one of the mornings. everything was freshly cooked an tasty. Excellent location for the centre of Canterbury.
Only downside was the heat it the room as window only opens a few inches.
For £35 per room per night, its terrific value. Car parking for residents £5 per day which is good for city centre.
we will be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GinaJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Booked a single room for a night as I had to be at the University the following morning. It was an unusually hot and humid night, which can't be helped. However, the window was very small and a tether prevented it from opening more than a crack. There was a fan in the room, but I would have preferred to open the window.

The room itself was clean and tidy, and big enough for one person. Tea and coffee things, a TV, but no safe. The staff were always friendly and helpful.

Unfortunately there was quite a lot of noise from other guests talking in the corridor during the night, as well as from the seagulls nesting on the roof in the early morning.

There's a car park right outside, but I don't think it's exclusive to the hotel. Parking is by pay-and-display (£7.50 overnight) and is quite limited. There's space for maybe 20 cars.

The breakfast was buffet-style, and more than adequate.

Another downside was the price. For a single room with breakfast, I paid nearly £90, which, while marginally cheaper than hotels in the area, isn't exactly budget.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Well positioned just off the centre of the city. We were greeted by Dawn Mills at Reception who was brilliant. She was charming, very smiley and really helpful. Room was clean and adequate. Poor view however straight onto thick bushes. Wifi is an extra payment which, in the 21st century, is daft. How many cafés, shops, libraries etc, charge for wifi? Parking at £5 per 24 hours is also daft, and also inadequate spaces for the number of guests. Good breakfast and all round service was good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Presto2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I booked two rooms for a graduation. The disabled one was large and pleasant but could not open window for fresh air on a very hot day. The second room was nearer the first but very dark and dismal with a very creeped bathroom .i thought I had booked a twin room but it turned out to be a double and was small.
The breakfasts were poor value for money., bacon was obviously microwaved and sausages rubbery. Poor choice. Was marmalade and a couple croissants on the first morning, none on second. This was the first time I had stayed in a travellodge and it will be my last. Other budget hotels seem to do things much better.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank N D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
755 reviews
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk
0.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.3 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,029 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central

Address: 63 Ivy Lane, Canterbury CT1 1TU, England (Formerly Swallow Chaucer Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £51 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel built around attractive old House & retaining Regency appearance & atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central Hotel Canterbury
Swallow Chaucer Canterbury
Hotel Swallow Chaucer
Chaucer Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing