We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Harriet House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harriet House B&B
Ranked #3 of 74 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I was travelling on my own for work, and couldn't have been made more welcome or felt safer than at Harriet House. Parking on site was a great bonus. Fabulous home made marmalade and strawberry jam - I tried them both!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 528Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

We provide one parking space for each room which is a bonus in Canterbury. Most guests park here then walk the short distance into the centre along the pretty riverside walk. Thank you for your comments. If you are working in town again please book at our website where we always offer our best rates guaranteed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
There are newer reviews for Harriet House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed at Harriet House for my husbands 60th birthday as we were visiting Canterbury, from the moment we arrived we were made very welcome, nothing was too much trouble... Brilliant people, beautiful rooms, very friendly

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Many thanks for your lovely comments. Many people come to Canterbury for a birthday treat, there is so much to do here. We are glad that you had a memorable stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

If you want to visit Canterbury and to stay at a B&B, go for Harriet House! It's a nice place, I had room 1, which was comfortable. The landlord is friendly and helpful. You can park your car on-site, even before check in. Walking time to the Cathedral ca. 15 minutes. They cooked a great breakfast in the morning. Nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Toon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

The centre of Canterbury is a short walk along the river. It is nice to hear that you had a lovely stay with us. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Clean and friendly B&B good location walking distance into centre. Excellent breakfast plenty of it Free car parking at the rear .we would definitely stay here again on our next visit to Canterbury.WIFI kept dropping out was the only problem

Room Tip: We stayed on the front some road noise
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chaddy0wl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thanks for staying with us. We are glad that you have an enjoyable time in Canterbury. In response to the WIFI we have now replaced the equipment which emits a stronger signal and has better reliability.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed at Harriet House a week ago for one night. We picked it because it appeared fairly central, had parking (not easy in Canterbury) and the rooms looked contemporary fuss free and value for money.
The weather was not good so we decided to take our car and park in Canterbury anyway, as were not able to leave it at B&B for the whole day. Good friendly service.
Breakfast - try the pancakes!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Merrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We try to offer a couple of extra hours parking after check out but during busy periods we require the spaces for the days arrivals. We feel it is important that arrivals have a car space after a long journey. There is on street parking nearby, some with no time restrictions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I couldn't fault Harriet House - it was far enough away from town to avoid noise yet close enough to walk to the centre in about 7-10 mins depending how long your legs are - I am five feet tall! I was welcomed by Chris who couldn't have been nicer and served breakfast by Terry who was friendly and efficient. Don't hesitate to use Harriet House.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dolores C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thanks for your lovely comments. We would love to see you again someday in Canterbury.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

lovely house tastefully decorated, with a relaxing atmosphere, spotlessly clean, good location, and the breakfast was excellent. we had just been to my father in laws funeral, and found it a relaxing and calming place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank elladora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Harriet House. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.6 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
1,954 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,171 reviews
1.2 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
285 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 74 in Canterbury
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harriet House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harriet House B&B

Address: Market Way, Canterbury CT2 7JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range: £77 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harriet House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 10-minute walk along the River Stour from the very heart of beautiful, historic Canterbury, this well-established 4-star Silver award winning bed and breakfast offers comfortable en suite rooms and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Harriet House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing