We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed here for three nights. New Premier Inn, very clean, very close to city centre. Only downer was with the parking. Below the Premier Inn are a number of allocated parking spaces for disabled parking. There are also a number of spaces which are apparently reserved for Tesco employees, according to a previous review. However, there is no signage to say these spaces cannot be used by guests. Consequently, we parked there for 3 nights with no problem, rather than spending £12 a day at the car park suggested by reception. It should be suggested as parking 'first come, first served'. Apart from that a very good Premier Inn

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tricky_Tree68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (990)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

930 - 936 of 992 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

I booked this hotel while I was visiting friends in Canterbury. I usually stay at the Travelodge but the Premier Inn was new and they had rooms available for just £29 so I took advantage of that.

Staff were very friendly and welcoming. The whole place was sparkling - you could tell it was new. The bed was SOOOO comfortable! I loved it and I wish I could've taken it home! Really good facilities, good location and an unbelievable bargain! Great stuff!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twistedg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We were a family of four (daughters ages 9 and 11) on a two night half-term getaway. I have to say we all really enjoyed our stay - and slept very well too! While the room is very 'cozy' for four people, given the cost of the room - we can't complain. The room was clean and the beds set up for four of us - and four sets of towels waiting too. Very functional room - just what you want when the main purpose of the room is sleeping only. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Great restaurant recommendations too. One room suggestion - why not have a plug next to the bed - those of us with laptops don't always want to be at a desk! Only 'complaint' relates to the restaurant - had evening dessert there and two morning breakfasts. Food very good on all occasions. However, for the dessert we were told we would have to wait 20 minutes as they were so backed up, and the next morning at breakfast we happened to arrive when they were switching from hot table service to the hot buffet so there was no hot food for 20 minutes - and then the queues were very long (and the food then disappeared again for another 10 minutes). It seems to me this could be better planned for - it was half term after all. You do have to park across the street - but we were sent a text in advance with all that information, so no issues. All that being said - great location, comfy beds, friendly staff - definitely worth considering.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemaolzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Great location, very good facilities, very comfortable and very clean as well as being very affordable. Dont like paying for wifi in hotels but wifi is very reasonable £3 for 24 hours unlimited access

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Premier Inn , Canterbury. The bed was wonderful, so comfortable but my sleep was ruined by the cheap foam pillows which made my head sweat, by the morning both pillows had been turned over and were damp.
Holiday Inn offer a choice of pillows, including feather/down , why cant Premier ?

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clive J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

recently stayed here for some cultural and retail therapy with my sister . Arrived a bit early so couldn't check into the room but receptionist kindly let us put our cases in the locked store room so we could go for a look around. Was quite hard to explain that we had booked for 1 night then changed our mind and had added an extra night so had 2 separate bookings and we had been told over the phone that we could stay in the same room . Was told that we would have to check out in the morning and then check back in which seemed a bit strange. We did eventually get it sorted out but wasn't easy. Also heard another guest asking where he could locate a doctor as his wife was unwell but receptionist didn't have a clue and said she could get him a taxi , when we went out there was actually a red cross surgery just round the corner. Hotel itself is very well located for visiting Canterburys beautiful Cathedral and other historical buildings .The room was spotlessly clean and the housekeepers were very friendly and helpful. The staff in the restaurant were also brilliant , very friendly and the service was excellent., food was lovely. All in all we had a great visit the only comment I would make is that the reception wasn't open all the time and we found it a bit difficult to explain circumstances to receptionist.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed here recently and we're advised by reception staff that the small car park at rear of building belongs to Tescos and cars have been clamped previously. We checked this with Tescos were we were informed that they have no idea why staff at the Premier Inn keep stating this, the car park does not belong to Tescos, and as the gate is in the Premier Inn colours it is obviously theirs. I can only presume staff want the parking spots for theirselves.

Other than that the hotel was ok, bar staff not the quickest, spent ages organising change whilst I stood waiting to be served, then started chatting with another member of staff, then said sorry to keep you waiting, before wandering off somewhere! Another member of staff came and served me eventually.
Hotel is a good location for getting to City centre and the food looked good, didn't try as many really good restaurants around. I don't like the new automated check in system, especially when there was two receptionists on duty talking us through it, why not just check us in? Would I stay here again? Yes and I would bloody well use the car park as our car was fine left there from Friday night till Monday morning

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarmelJenkins64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.4 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,957 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel

Address: 1-7 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £48 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within walking distance of the historic sights of this stunning cathedral city and Canterbury East train station, our Canterbury hotel features our new generation bedrooms, each with a freshly-updated bathroom with large shower head, and a brand new, slumber-inducing, king-size Hypnos bed. After a great night's sleep, head out and discover the impressive Canterbury Cathedral, St Augustine's Abbey and St Martin's Church (an UNESCO World Heritage Site, no less) or enjoy a little punting on the River Stour. Nearby shopping areas include the King's Mile and Whitefriars Canterbury. Important info: There is no on-site parking available at this hotel. The nearest car park is Longport Car Park (CT1 1TU). Max stay 12 hours, charges apply 7:00-21:00 Mon-Sun. Discounted 24 hour parking tickets are available at £6. Directions: Leave the M2, junction 7. At Brenley Corner roundabout, take 4th exit onto the A2. Branch left, then merge onto A2050. At London Road roundabout, take 2nd exit to continue on A2050. At St Peters roundabout, take 3rd exit onto A290. At Wincheap roundabout, take 2nd exit onto A28. At St Georges roundabout, take 2nd exit onto A257. At traffic lights, turn right and continue on A257. At the next set of traffic lights, turn right onto A2050 and you will see the Premier Inn. The hotel is located 50m away from the nearest car park, the 'Longport', for which vouchers are available on reception at 6GBP for 24 hours. Transport and local information: Canterbury East Railway Station 0.5 miles Westgate Shopping Centre 0.4 miles Northgate Shopping Centre 0.4 miles Howletts Wild Animal Park 2.6 miles Wealden Forest Park (Wildwood) 4.1 miles ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing