We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy room, reception staff could have been more welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Comfy room, reception staff could have been more welcoming”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed for one night last Saturday. Upon arriving at 1.55pm we were greeted by a very surly receptionist who barked at us that we were too early too check in - check in was at 2pm (5 minutes to go!). I asked if we could leave our bags - was told grudgingly that we could. Another receptionist then pointed out to the first one that our room was ready, so she let us check in! We were using our Free Night from the Free Night Promotion and she didn't have a clue how to process it - my husband had to explain to her what to do.

However the room was nice and clean and very quiet - room on 4th floor.

We ate in the Thyme restaurant in the evening. Waiting staff were extremely pleasant and cheerful, although the service was quite slow, especially considering the restaurant was only about a quarter full.

We had breakfast in the restaurant and again the staff were extremely pleasant and the food very tasty.

Would we stay here again? It is very handy as our daughter is at uni here, so I might give them another chance - but if I were to get the same reception upon arriving then that would be the last time!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becnhugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    334
    97
    38
    29
See reviews for
267
344
54
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We were lucky enough to qualify for one of Premier Inns 'free nights' and this lovely brand new hotel in Canterbury was our destination. Everything went brilliantly. We came by train which arrived in Canterbury West. Actually, saying that, we arrived at Ashford International and then got a bus to Canterbury due to flooding. But the bus ride went through some delightful scenery and hardly took any time at all. The walk from the station took about 10-12 minutes, through the lovely car free main street. The underpass at the roundabout to get to the hotel is very well lit. We felt very safe walking through at night (11:30pm) after our excellent meal in a Morrocan restaurant (separate review). The hotel receptionist on arrival was really charming and very helpful. The room was as excellent as ever. We took advantage of the 24 hour wifi - always good value. Our room faced the Cathedral, which was great - we could hear no traffic noises whatsoever. We slept brilliantly and woke refreshed and more than ready for our breakfast. My husband had the healthy choice, but I prefer the old fashioned type. Staff in the restaurant were lovely and advised me when the freshly cooked bacon and eggs were coming. Only slight problem, and it is very very slight, is that the red berry compote was so cold that my husband had to leave it to warm up. Naturally this was compenstated by having to have two mini muffins whilst he was waiting. So much for the healthy option! We would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a convenient and very comfortable nights stay in delightful Canterbury. Also, the flooding problems ceased overnight and no bus trip was required on our return to London. The perfect end to a perfect weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phonelessinphuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Nice new hotel but dont stay in room 101, we should have read the omens from the room number but through the 2 nights we stayed there we were disturbed by a banging door.We couldnt work out exactly where it was coming from but it was very annoying. Breakfast was very good and well worth doing the meal deal. Dont park in the nearby council car parks which are expensive there are nearby residential areas along the new dover road which if you dont mind a 5 minute walk you can park for free. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidt595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Staff were really helpful and friendly. The room was spotless. We parked just up the road at the college where it is just £2 for the public for 24hours. 5 minute walk to the city centre. Breakfast was also faultless. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

A friend and I needed to stay in Canterbury for a hen weekend. I regularly stay in Premier Inns around the country but this was one of the best. We checked in early evening and it was all done electronically by me logging onto a screen in reception. There were very helpful members of staff available if you needed them. After checking in we headed to our room to get ready for the evening. The room was very clean and had everything we needed. On returning to our room later that evening we just wanted to go to bed. The bed was extremely comfortable and we managed to oversleep! We went down to breakfast and the food was excellent and we could eat as much as we liked. The staff in the restaurant were friendly and courteous without being over the top and special mention must go to Pete and a male student from Greece, as nothing was too much trouble for them. They are a great asset to the company. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank simpsonclan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Myself and my boyfriend decided to stay here as it was cheap and we wanted more funds to spend actually in Canterbury for Valentines and we were pleasantly surprised! Lush raised king bed, sofa bed, lit mirrors for doing my make up, modern bathroom and it still all smelt new! Worth much more than we paid and the touch screen check in was neat too!

Helpful?
Thank thehippieinme
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed here for three nights. New Premier Inn, very clean, very close to city centre. Only downer was with the parking. Below the Premier Inn are a number of allocated parking spaces for disabled parking. There are also a number of spaces which are apparently reserved for Tesco employees, according to a previous review. However, there is no signage to say these spaces cannot be used by guests. Consequently, we parked there for 3 nights with no problem, rather than spending £12 a day at the car park suggested by reception. It should be suggested as parking 'first come, first served'. Apart from that a very good Premier Inn

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricky_Tree68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.4 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,847 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
699 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Address: 1-7 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within walking distance of the historic sights of this stunning cathedral city and Canterbury East train station, our Canterbury hotel features our new generation bedrooms, each with a freshly-updated bathroom with large shower head, and a brand new, slumber-inducing, king-size Hypnos bed. After a great night's sleep, head out and discover the impressive Canterbury Cathedral, St Augustine's Abbey and St Martin's Church (an UNESCO World Heritage Site, no less) or enjoy a little punting on the River Stour. Nearby shopping areas include the King's Mile and Whitefriars Canterbury. Important info: There is no on-site parking available at this hotel. The nearest car park is Longport Car Park (CT1 1TU). Max stay 12 hours, charges apply 7:00-21:00 Mon-Sun. Discounted 24 hour parking tickets are available at £6. Directions: Leave the M2, junction 7. At Brenley Corner roundabout, take 4th exit onto the A2. Branch left, then merge onto A2050. At London Road roundabout, take 2nd exit to continue on A2050. At St Peters roundabout, take 3rd exit onto A290. At Wincheap roundabout, take 2nd exit onto A28. At St Georges roundabout, take 2nd exit onto A257. At traffic lights, turn right and continue on A257. At the next set of traffic lights, turn right onto A2050 and you will see the Premier Inn. The hotel is located 50m away from the nearest car park, the 'Longport', for which vouchers are available on reception at 6GBP for 24 hours. Transport and local information: Canterbury East Railway Station 0.5 miles Westgate Shopping Centre 0.4 miles Northgate Shopping Centre 0.4 miles Howletts Wild Animal Park 2.6 miles Wealden Forest Park (Wildwood) 4.1 miles ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing