We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Hotel,Great Location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“New Hotel,Great Location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

New, Clean and fresh with very helpful staff and a great restaurant, with a very good selection on the menu. In a good central location that gives you easy access to all the attraction in the town. I would use it again.


  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnboyleam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    305
    94
    34
    28
See reviews for
250
317
53
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Superb room for the money, but had plugs in because it was fronting the main road and I have rabbit ears. Ridiculously spacious, superbly sprung bed, luxurious duvet and pillows....... Was it really Premier Inn?
Breakfast was superb, but I think they tried too hard....... Cooking eggs to order is a great idea, but not at 8am in the morning when the whole hotel descends on the dining room. The two waitresses worked like Trojans and just stayed in front of the melee.
It might be 300 miles from home, but I will return for a pleasure break and take in the sights of
Canterbury.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoscowMaleEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights visiting family at Uni. The rooms were immaculately clean, bed was comfortable and large, and there was excellent sealed double glazing so there was no traffic noise (we looked onto the main road).
Didn't check the Wi-Fi or TV.
No minibar/fridge, but it wasn't advertised as having one, so no problem.
We had booked through a website, and none of the websites showed any rooms other than family rooms available so we booked that, and thought perhaps another family member may come- still much cheaper than anywhere else we have stayed. When we checked in to the room, there was a double and 2 singles in, so we couldn't move around the bed, so asked if one of the singles could be stowed; rather to my surprise they reported having many vacancies and moved us to a double.
I liked that they had emailed to remind us there is no parking on-site, and followed it up with a phone call, less impressed that the phone call hadn't translated to a change to a double when I explained we didn't need a family room anymore so they could change us if needed (hoping they would).
I was impressed when we checked out that they did do a no quibble refund for the second night , (with sincere apologies) as one of the guests had been making a disturbance which kept me awake in the middle of the night and he had needed escorting from the building. Only realised then that there was no phone in the room to call reception, and you have to call (chargeable) from your mobile.
Plan to stay again on one of our frequent visits.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Only booked for one night but wished we had been able to stay longer , it was absolutely lovely, all you need is a clean comfy room and this ticked all the boxes . For the price it was far nicer than we expected .

Room Tip: we had a room adapted for a wheelchair user and it was more than adequate for the needs required
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patsy602014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed at this premier inn for two nights at the weekend. The hotel has only been opened for two months and is of an excellent quality. The rooms are spacious and we had a view of Canterbury cathedral from our window. The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. We ate in the restaurant and the food was tasty and plentiful. The only downside was no on site parking, the car park being approx 100 metres away and charged £12 a day. But saying that we would still definitely return to this hotel. Ben who served behind the bar and waited at the tables was a credit to the hotel along with the rest of the staff who were top of the class at customer service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martinpenny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We spent one night in the Premier Inn Canterbury. The staff are friendly and the hotel is well positioned to walk into the city centre. Breakfast and dinner were very good and well priced at £50 for a three course meal, wine, and full English breakfast for two people.



  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

must check parking facilities before booking, was told to park on public car park £1 a hour upto 21.00 hrs, if on business trip make sure you take copy of your e-mail booking as mine was wrong as I was entitled to £25 a night and a premier breakfast and they had it as a meal deal so hence take a copy of the e-mail, it went from bad to worse as I went for tea garlic mushrooms were just luke warm my lasange was frozen in the middle was up must of the night vomitting. in the morning they gave me a £25 meal deal if I was staying that night but hey ho I was moving on to another one that night... All in all staff were very nice, helpful,room spotless.. ive been staying at premier inn's for a few weeks now and this is the first review I have ever done every other one I have stayed at the food has been fantastic

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.8 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Address: 1-7 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within walking distance of the historic sights of this stunning cathedral city and Canterbury East train station, our Canterbury hotel features our new generation bedrooms, each with a freshly-updated bathroom with large shower head, and a brand new, slumber-inducing, king-size Hypnos bed. After a great night's sleep, head out and discover the impressive Canterbury Cathedral, St Augustine's Abbey and St Martin's Church (an UNESCO World Heritage Site, no less) or enjoy a little punting on the River Stour. Nearby shopping areas include the King's Mile and Whitefriars Canterbury. Important info: There is no on-site parking available at this hotel. The nearest car park is Longport Car Park (CT1 1TU). Max stay 12 hours, charges apply 7:00-21:00 Mon-Sun. Discounted 24 hour parking tickets are available at £6. Directions: Leave the M2, junction 7. At Brenley Corner roundabout, take 4th exit onto the A2. Branch left, then merge onto A2050. At London Road roundabout, take 2nd exit to continue on A2050. At St Peters roundabout, take 3rd exit onto A290. At Wincheap roundabout, take 2nd exit onto A28. At St Georges roundabout, take 2nd exit onto A257. At traffic lights, turn right and continue on A257. At the next set of traffic lights, turn right onto A2050 and you will see the Premier Inn. The hotel is located 50m away from the nearest car park, the 'Longport', for which vouchers are available on reception at 6GBP for 24 hours. Transport and local information: Canterbury East Railway Station 0.5 miles Westgate Shopping Centre 0.4 miles Northgate Shopping Centre 0.4 miles Howletts Wild Animal Park 2.6 miles Wealden Forest Park (Wildwood) 4.1 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing