We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel was brilliant from when you walked in the door until you leftx
catherine was lovely through out x bar and restaurant staff were amazing x we did the £25 meal deal and it was great value for money as it cost £50 for two of us and we spent £43 of that at dinner xx very clean and comfy x couldnt recommend this hotel anymore x brilliant relaxed and chilled night before an interview today lovely

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Godfrey1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

954 - 960 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

Everything was excellent food,room, location,staff , bed , bathroom. Cleanliness 100per cent.
Would definitely stay in the premier inn again and would highly recommend it to all my friends who are travelling to canterbury .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is another excellent Premier Inn but we caught it on a poor evening. Had received two phone calls in the space of a few hours warning us of the poor parking. Clearly they do not keep a log of which customers they have phoned. They are clearly sensitive about their naff parking arrangements. As part of their call they could inform customers that the carpark is free overnight and how to avoid exorbitant parking fees.

On arrival it was pouring with rain and there was no clearly marked drop off point and so we drove 400 yards to the recommended Public Car park (Longport). Discovered that as we had arrived after 9pm it was free parking till 7am. So as we were due up early got to the carpark just before 7am to put sufficient parking on to cover till we left (It is £1perhour!)

Carried overnight gear through the torrential rain to the hotel. Reception is on 1st floor but thankfully a lift up to it was available.

Excellent young man greeted us and assisted us with the machine to book in. Decided wanted a soft drink, went to the autobar in reception - it was out of order!!! Had to go to the bar around 10.10pm to find that the barman had locked up all the drinks for the night - but kindly unlocked so that could purchase one.

Room was excellent. breakfast was cooked to order. Good value. Overall it is the car parking that sticks in my memory. However the saving grace is the quality of the staff, friendly, welcoming, and helpful. They are clearly fed up having to deal with customers complaining about the parking!! But overall a great team - hopefully the manager reads these posts and will praise them - they deserve it! They cheered us up after getting soaked from the carpark to the hotel!!!

Room Tip: Avoid being overlooking the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrecianHighworthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights whilst visiting the area and can recommend this hotel. It is walking distance from the city walls (about a quarter of a mile) and although on a busy road has excellent sound-proofing so no traffic noise is heard. My room was large, clean and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There is a restaurant in the hotel which offers a good breakfast and dinner. The menu is pub-like but the food was very good and the prices seemed reasonable. We opted for the £25 meal deal which gives you a breakfast and 3 course dinner as well as a drink with dinner. There was no menu restriction so steak etc was available with this choice.
My only problem was that the room thermometer could not be turned to below 19 degrees and this is too hot at night for me. I did report this so perhaps they will change things.
There is no car park with this hotel but the nearest public one is a short walk away but bear in mind it costs £12 a day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I can't recommend this Premier ~Inn enough. The staff were without exception very welcoming. The rooms are just what you expect from a Premier Inn, comfortable and spacious. There is a car park very near the hotel which costs £12 for 24 hours. Waitrose is just round the corner and the city centre is only less than five minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaynor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed for one night. Hotel was easy to find and in Canterbury city centre so ideally situated for a visit to the city.
Hotel is clearly very recently opened with rooms and public areas in excellent order. Check-in was very easy and we soon had keys to our room. Room was easily big enough for three, clean and well-maintained.
Had a very good night's sleep in a warm, comfortable bed with no noise from outside and minimal noise from other guests.
Breakfast was very good with a decent selection of reasonable to good quality hot and cold food plus the usual juices and a Costa coffee machine.
2 minor issues. Parking not available at the hotel from reading the website but there are around 7 spaces actually available to guests if you ask. These were full so it was the public car park about 2mins walk away behind Waitrose opposite for us at £1/hr. Also, I had a problem with the shower which cycled hot and cold in the morning though this did not happen the previous evening.

Room Tip: We had 417 which faced the rear of the building. Not sure if rooms on the main road have any noise i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bantamspaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This was our first visit to Canterbury and the Premier Inn chosen was perfect. Right in the City Centre (could see the Cathedral from our window).
The room we had was on the 4th floor, very large and light and the bed was huge and comfortable and it was all clean and perfect !
Reception staff was friendly and we would definitely return.
There is no parking on the site (only disabled) but a short walk away is a car park which charges £12 for 24 hours. Beware of that this will fill up quickly at the weekend !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DClan1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.4 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,033 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
756 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel

Address: 1-7 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £45 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within walking distance of the historic sights of this stunning cathedral city and Canterbury East train station, our Canterbury hotel features our new generation bedrooms, each with a freshly-updated bathroom with large shower head, and a brand new, slumber-inducing, king-size Hypnos bed. After a great night's sleep, head out and discover the impressive Canterbury Cathedral, St Augustine's Abbey and St Martin's Church (an UNESCO World Heritage Site, no less) or enjoy a little punting on the River Stour. Nearby shopping areas include the King's Mile and Whitefriars Canterbury. Important info: There is no on-site parking available at this hotel. The nearest car park is Longport Car Park (CT1 1TU). Max stay 12 hours, charges apply 7:00-21:00 Mon-Sun. Discounted 24 hour parking tickets are available at £6. Directions: Leave the M2, junction 7. At Brenley Corner roundabout, take 4th exit onto the A2. Branch left, then merge onto A2050. At London Road roundabout, take 2nd exit to continue on A2050. At St Peters roundabout, take 3rd exit onto A290. At Wincheap roundabout, take 2nd exit onto A28. At St Georges roundabout, take 2nd exit onto A257. At traffic lights, turn right and continue on A257. At the next set of traffic lights, turn right onto A2050 and you will see the Premier Inn. The hotel is located 50m away from the nearest car park, the 'Longport', for which vouchers are available on reception at 6GBP for 24 hours. Transport and local information: Canterbury East Railway Station 0.5 miles Westgate Shopping Centre 0.4 miles Northgate Shopping Centre 0.4 miles Howletts Wild Animal Park 2.6 miles Wealden Forest Park (Wildwood) 4.1 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing