We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Restful”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is the best Premier Inn we have stayed in. The food in the restaurant was very good for Dinner and the staff were very helpful and attentive without being overbearing. They were helpful with luggage storage after we left until our train was due, which meant not carrying it on sightseeing trips. Very good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2014RevJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    351
    99
    38
    32
See reviews for
285
360
57
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed for one night whilst in the area. Ideal location as it is only a short walk from city centre. Car park was fairly near but onsite parking would be ideal. Very new and clean building, room was immaculate. Staff were friendly and helpful. Two vending machines located on first floor, one for drinks other for snacks, however the drinks machine was broken which was a slight pain as it was the only one in the building. We had an evening meal and breakfast in the hotel restaurant and both were excellent. The beds and pillows were really comfortable and with no noise and black-out curtains I slept very well. Only downside was that in the morning (around 9:00) they failed to warn us about a practice fire alarm causing many people, including us, to evacuate their rooms. However, overall it was very good and I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Hotel is only a few months old. Very clean and modern. Staff were very friendly and the rooms were very comfortable. Located within 5 minutes of the city centre. Would suggest you take a taxi from the railway station as it was a 20 minute walk, not ideal with case wheels on cobbled streets! We used this hotel as a base to tour Kent using the train. Would visit the hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 996Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinner
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Everything good except for customer service from hotel manager. You cannot park at this hotel and I received a message to say this but when i arrived other customers were getting £6 vouchers but when I asked about this I basically got dismissed by the Manager on duty and told they were very limited. Subsequently every time I was anywhere near reception they were being given out so they didnt seem to that limited! Basically not good to be told something that is not true and have questions dismissed by a manager and not feel welcomed at all! However Canterbury was lovely and all other staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TMHPinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I spent (unfortunately only) one night at this premier inn and once more it didn't let me down. The building is new and it includes the Thyme restaurant, wit ha bar open until midnight. I like it when premier inns have the restaurant/bar in the building rather than needing to walk to the near pub.
The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the bus station and because you can leave your bags prior to check in and after the check out, it is the perfect solution to enjoy the most of your time in Canterbury without carrying the luggage with you.
Canterbury is small and this hotel is very close to the medieval walls (nice walk by the way!), the cathedral and the St Augustine's abbey.
Like every premier inn I've visited, beds are super comfy, pillows are super comfy, the bathroom was clean (only the room needed to be hoovered better...), breakfast is just great!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

New Hotel, stayed for 2 nights, room and public areas kepr very clean. Bar very comfortable also restaurant. We booked BB but was explained that they were doing meal deal which was breakfast and evening meal plus drink for £25, very reasonable so we went for it., well worth it.
Good spot for getting around City and beyond.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeV493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I came down from London to visit some old university friends and stayed at the Canterbury City Centre premier inn, it was amazing! The room was perfect, sadly we didn't eat there but the menu looked very tasty! It is a brand new hotel so very clean and tidy and long awaited for canterbury!!! It was an amazing night and to top it all of my regards to Tristan and Aaron, two amazing staff members who were a pleasure to meet amd helped me look for the famous hypnos mattress! I will definitely be staying here when I am next down.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam_jones1598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.4 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
1,918 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Address: 1-7 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within walking distance of the historic sights of this stunning cathedral city and Canterbury East train station, our Canterbury hotel features our new generation bedrooms, each with a freshly-updated bathroom with large shower head, and a brand new, slumber-inducing, king-size Hypnos bed. After a great night's sleep, head out and discover the impressive Canterbury Cathedral, St Augustine's Abbey and St Martin's Church (an UNESCO World Heritage Site, no less) or enjoy a little punting on the River Stour. Nearby shopping areas include the King's Mile and Whitefriars Canterbury. Important info: There is no on-site parking available at this hotel. The nearest car park is Longport Car Park (CT1 1TU). Max stay 12 hours, charges apply 7:00-21:00 Mon-Sun. Discounted 24 hour parking tickets are available at £6. Directions: Leave the M2, junction 7. At Brenley Corner roundabout, take 4th exit onto the A2. Branch left, then merge onto A2050. At London Road roundabout, take 2nd exit to continue on A2050. At St Peters roundabout, take 3rd exit onto A290. At Wincheap roundabout, take 2nd exit onto A28. At St Georges roundabout, take 2nd exit onto A257. At traffic lights, turn right and continue on A257. At the next set of traffic lights, turn right onto A2050 and you will see the Premier Inn. The hotel is located 50m away from the nearest car park, the 'Longport', for which vouchers are available on reception at 6GBP for 24 hours. Transport and local information: Canterbury East Railway Station 0.5 miles Westgate Shopping Centre 0.4 miles Northgate Shopping Centre 0.4 miles Howletts Wild Animal Park 2.6 miles Wealden Forest Park (Wildwood) 4.1 miles ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing