We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in graduation week. Typical premier inn. Good location and public car park near by which was good value if you buy a £6 voucher from the hotel. Room was fine but my wife could not sleep the first night so we asked about the no questions no quibble money back guarantee. After a couple of questions we were refunded the price of the first night. So the guarantee is perfectly genuine which is very good indeed.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Andrewgp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

841 - 847 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed for two nights and in terms of placement and interior this is a fine hotel. The room was nice too but then we started to notice a few things that let the side down a little. Things like the soap dispenser was empty, there was only one large towel for the two of us to share. When I told reception they gave us another towel but the following day there was only one again! Then my wife tried to use the hairdryer and smoke started to come out etc etc etc. To be fair they were kind enough to say they will refund a nights stay but I hope they sort the 'service room' issues as this has much potential.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Elvis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and I recently spent two nights at the Canterbury City Centre Premier Inn with friends. We found the hotel easily and parked temporarily at the back of the hotel whilst I went to reception to book in an buy a parking ticket for the car park just down the road at a discounted rate.

The hotel itself is nearly new and the rooms to the usual high standard of Premier Inn. The staff were exceptional, both in reception and in the restaurant. Everything was done with a smile and nothing too much trouble.

The hotel is withing easy walking distance to the City centre.

Will certainly stay again when in the area.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Took. My 84 year old disabled mother to graduation ceremony. Room booked months in advance, with the promise of a reserved disabled car space for the duration. These do not exist, there us no monitoring of abuse of disabled spaces even if a space us found there is a 150 metre walk to entrance. Disabled people should not stay and hotel should make this clear and monitor abuse of the limited parking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Great experience. Location good. Although it is closer to the Canterbury East train station, we walked from the Canterbury West Station and found it a great walk through the center of town (maybe 15 minutes). Staff was helpful and room was modern and clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay if you are visiting Canterbury. Very polite staff and hotel was always clean and tidy. Breakfasts were excellent but do ask for poached eggs as the fried ones were a little rubbery having been kept hot under lights. Will certainly go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerryGranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed in a large family room with a king bed, 2 singles and a cot. The room was spacious and clean with a great view of the cathedral. The bathroom was very nice too.

I agree with a previous reviewer that hotel staff seemed a little thin on the ground, but they were very fiercely and helpful.

The on-site restaurant was surprisingly good for both breakfast and dinner. The 2 course dinner + breakfast desk was good value.

Parking is a bit of a pain as it is at the end of the road but we didn't struggle to find a space. It costs £6/day.

I think it's a bit mean to charge for WiFi when the room was relatively expensive, but £3/24 hours is at least not too expensive.

Overall, we were happy and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gga00rjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.4 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
1,986 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel

Address: 1-7 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £48 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within walking distance of the historic sights of this stunning cathedral city and Canterbury East train station, our Canterbury hotel features our new generation bedrooms, each with a freshly-updated bathroom with large shower head, and a brand new, slumber-inducing, king-size Hypnos bed. After a great night's sleep, head out and discover the impressive Canterbury Cathedral, St Augustine's Abbey and St Martin's Church (an UNESCO World Heritage Site, no less) or enjoy a little punting on the River Stour. Nearby shopping areas include the King's Mile and Whitefriars Canterbury. Important info: There is no on-site parking available at this hotel. The nearest car park is Longport Car Park (CT1 1TU). Max stay 12 hours, charges apply 7:00-21:00 Mon-Sun. Discounted 24 hour parking tickets are available at £6. Directions: Leave the M2, junction 7. At Brenley Corner roundabout, take 4th exit onto the A2. Branch left, then merge onto A2050. At London Road roundabout, take 2nd exit to continue on A2050. At St Peters roundabout, take 3rd exit onto A290. At Wincheap roundabout, take 2nd exit onto A28. At St Georges roundabout, take 2nd exit onto A257. At traffic lights, turn right and continue on A257. At the next set of traffic lights, turn right onto A2050 and you will see the Premier Inn. The hotel is located 50m away from the nearest car park, the 'Longport', for which vouchers are available on reception at 6GBP for 24 hours. Transport and local information: Canterbury East Railway Station 0.5 miles Westgate Shopping Centre 0.4 miles Northgate Shopping Centre 0.4 miles Howletts Wild Animal Park 2.6 miles Wealden Forest Park (Wildwood) 4.1 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing