We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely new premier inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“lovely new premier inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Lovely new hotel so whole hotel is first class. Rooms and bathrooms are lovely. Bar was also very nice although freezing. Restaurant was also very nicely decorated.Staff were also very nice and helpful. Hotel very centrally located.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smilero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    305
    94
    34
    28
See reviews for
250
317
53
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

stayed here one night prior to eurotunnel crossing. Check in smooth and rooms as expected. Our disappointment was in the restaurant. Evening meal was ok but air con was on too cold so sat there shivering. Breakfast was awful. Probably the worst premier inn breakfast I have experienced. We needed to leave early so wanted to be in as soon as it opened at 6:30am but it seems the staff start work at that time and were not ready to serve at 6:30 !!! Had to ask for coffee machine to be turned in. Took ages to take our breakfast order. Bacon was advertised as grilled crispy bacon and it came out pale limp and anaemic looking. It hadn't in my opinion been any where near a grill. More like a couple of spins in the microwave. Poached eggs over done. Just awful so we left it. Toaster also wasn't on and when I finally got toast there was no butter! Just a disastrous morning experience! Shame as every other premier inn we have been to have been excellent

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawnexe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
104 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Very clean. Excellent breakfast. Close to city centre. Value for money. Good offers to eat in but service needs to be improved. We waited for 50 minutes to get our dinner and when it arrived it was overcooked.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ecmshle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Norfolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Very clean hotel, pleasant twin room although we were surprised as 2 adults that a twin room consisted of a double bed and a sofa bed. Staff very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the fire alarm went off at 7:30am due to another guest in the breakfast room and that woke us up (as 2 mums of young children we were looking forward to a lay in) but staff were great and fully refunded us through the Good Night Sleep guarantee.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW MALDEN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Booked this hotel as it was a good price and near to the venue I was attending for a family wedding. The drop off car park is compact but the main council run car park is very near so not a problem. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Room very clean and functional. Excellent value for money and exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JUSTINE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very nice freindly staff only thing that wasnt so great was the lack of parking spaces very nice place to stay farly quiet and not far from train stations and short drivevfrom lydden hill circite would. Oh and it was easy to find

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jax H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Some of the rooms here have a view of Canterbury Cathedral - and a view is something you don't expect in a Premier Inn (unless it's the car park). This is is also right next door to a Tesco Express and a Waitrose, so there's no excuse for not having access to anything you might want ant most hours of the day or night.

Staff were very friendly, and the beds are brand new and manufactured by Hypnos. Hypnos make brilliant beds - the british Royal family have them, and if they're good enough for the Royals, they're certainly good enough for us. We had a great night's sleep.

This wasn't the cheapest hotel in the City, and it is a few steps from the Centre under an underpass, but the overall experience of actually staying in the hotel was better than we expected for a Premier Inn. So that's it - and not a single mention of Lenny Henry. Oops. Apart from that one, of course.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 339334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.8 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.9 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Address: 1-7 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within walking distance of the historic sights of this stunning cathedral city and Canterbury East train station, our Canterbury hotel features our new generation bedrooms, each with a freshly-updated bathroom with large shower head, and a brand new, slumber-inducing, king-size Hypnos bed. After a great night's sleep, head out and discover the impressive Canterbury Cathedral, St Augustine's Abbey and St Martin's Church (an UNESCO World Heritage Site, no less) or enjoy a little punting on the River Stour. Nearby shopping areas include the King's Mile and Whitefriars Canterbury. Important info: There is no on-site parking available at this hotel. The nearest car park is Longport Car Park (CT1 1TU). Max stay 12 hours, charges apply 7:00-21:00 Mon-Sun. Discounted 24 hour parking tickets are available at £6. Directions: Leave the M2, junction 7. At Brenley Corner roundabout, take 4th exit onto the A2. Branch left, then merge onto A2050. At London Road roundabout, take 2nd exit to continue on A2050. At St Peters roundabout, take 3rd exit onto A290. At Wincheap roundabout, take 2nd exit onto A28. At St Georges roundabout, take 2nd exit onto A257. At traffic lights, turn right and continue on A257. At the next set of traffic lights, turn right onto A2050 and you will see the Premier Inn. The hotel is located 50m away from the nearest car park, the 'Longport', for which vouchers are available on reception at 6GBP for 24 hours. Transport and local information: Canterbury East Railway Station 0.5 miles Westgate Shopping Centre 0.4 miles Northgate Shopping Centre 0.4 miles Howletts Wild Animal Park 2.6 miles Wealden Forest Park (Wildwood) 4.1 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing